We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic get-away!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Margherita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Margherita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Polli, 11, 28824 Oggebbio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oggebbio
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Romantic get-away!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night in May in a double room for 215 Euro, breakfast cost extra 12 Euro per person. The view from the room over the lake was great. In general, a lovely family-owned villa with 18 guest-rooms located in a very quiet and small village. There is a private parking in the hotel, however there are far too many steps up to the villa, so it is better to unload the luggage in front of the reception. Despite full renovation there is no elevator in the hotel, so heavy luggage might be a problem anyway. The room was very clean of a fair size with huge bathroom. What was definitely missing was some decorative touch to personalize the room. As it was the room appeared somewhat cold. By the way, there is no central heating system, so it was really very very cold in the room. Under the windowsill some portable AC was installed, but it is not clear whether it only cools the air or also heats. I failed to find it out, because the reception was closed during the night. In fact, if anything happens or something is needed, then there is no one to get in touch with on the premises. The breakfast was good enough for the price paid. The service at the reception and at breakfast was extremely welcoming and touching. If only they had a 24-hour reception, the price would be right. As it is 215 EUR was just too much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We turned up an hour early and were sent away. Unable to leave luggage. We returned to find our lake view room had been given to someone else. Ended up in a tiny room with no view, only had the smell from the kitchen. The air conditioning had been turned off as they had had two cooler nights in a row and they thought the heat had gone for the year. It was 32 degrees!!! Had to sleep with all windows open which left us exposed (in our bed) to other guests using the stairs. The breakfast in the garden was shared with hundreds of wasps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We lashed out and booked what we thought was a lake view room for 185€ per night. Turned out it was a 'partial' lake view. Partial was right! We could see a tiny bit of the lake in the far distance if we stood on one leg and leaned out the window. Our actual view was the side wall of a Grotty run down villa. Very disappointing. We wouldn't stay here again.
Also the trip with luggage up though the garden was strenuous to say the least, then there's the stairs of the villa itself.

Room Tip: If you want to pay for a lake view check that you will actually get one. A partial lake view is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Not a place to go for a wedding, better for a honeymoon: choose it to stop with your girlfriend/wife and enjoy the spectacular view and cosy place, Nice rooms, good food,clean gardens and swimming pool. It is a family runned place so service is limited to essential, but enough. Around 200 euros for a room is not overrated at Villa Margherita. Only 20 rooms in total.
If you come from abroad and wish to discover the authenticity of lake Maggiore you probably do not need a superbig hotel with lots of rooms and a team of valets.Good location to visit the west coast of Lake Maggiore from Pallanza up to Switzerland.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must, park in the church square, better to go in sunny days, all lakes are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Lovely villa on a steep slope. Great view, restaurant, room and exceptional service. Highly recommended. Tip: when you arrive park on the municipal square located a bit further up the hill than the villa's own parking. It saves you a drag with the luggage. The steep road is no problem at all, with any car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had chosen Hotel Villa Margherita for summer 2012 as our wedding venue, due to problems the management of the Hotel Villa Margherita has, it has been canceled and will not take place. And it looks like that our wedding is not the only one which will not take place.

Besides the problems we had with the management, we have loved the location of the Villa, which is perfectly situated in the pictoresque little village Oggebbio. Especially the terrace garden with it's great view over Lago Maggiore, the flowers, the pool and the wedding pavillon.

The dream of exchanging the vows in Oggebbio is over, but we are sure to find another great venue for 2013.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My partner and I were due to get married at Villa Margherita this year, luckily we detected there was something very suspicious going on when it came to costs & we took our business elsewhere. We were recommended Villa Margherita by our wedding planner (see separate review for our unhappy experience). Our deposit money had not been forwarded to Villa Margherita by our wedding planner so we had to deal with Villa Margherita directly. First problem we discovered is that Villa Margherita is not fully licensed to marry, they can only perform blessings, you have to go to the unattractive town hall to get married first.

Second problem - three weeks' to go before our wedding we received an unsubstantiated demand from the villa for a €5,000 "deposit". Part payment was understandable given they'd not received the original funds from the planner but we were suspicious about this request since we'd not received an invoice breaking down the full costs of the wedding. We questioned this demand and repeatedly requested a full breakdown of the total costs for the wedding so we could understand what the total costs were going to be and % our €5,000 would cover. No breakdown, estimate or invoice was ever forthcoming. We repeatedly asked for this information but they refused to send it. In reply to our offer to pay a 20% deposit on what we estimated to be the full cost, we were simply faced with multiple, aggressive demands for the €5,000 and threats to cancel the wedding unless the money was sent immediately. In addition, despite our numerous attempts to correct this, one of our guests was booked (erroneously?) into the most expensive room.

No one in their right mind would simply send €5,000 without knowing what was behind the request or what the total costs would be. At this same time we consulted Trip Advisor and having read previous reviews it became clear that there was a great risk of incurring many hidden charges which the hotel were not prepared to reveal in advance - hence their reluctance to send a detailed cost breakdown in advance.

Whilst reviewing Trip Advisor we also thought it telling, given this venue's claim to host a wedding nearly every weekend throughout the season, there's not one positive review from newly weds (or their guests) who held their nuptials at Villa Margherita...

After all this we decided to consult other hotels and we were pleased to discover three better hotels, offering discounts, who were willing to take our business. On this point, for the location, Villa is certainly very overpriced. There are much better value hotels in much better locations elsewhere on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oggebbio
5.0 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#2 of 4 in Cannero Riviera
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic
Grand Hotel Majestic
#5 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Belvedere
4.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#10 of 16 in Verbania
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Simplon
Hotel Simplon
#2 of 14 in Baveno
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Margherita

Address: Via G. Polli, 11, 28824 Oggebbio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Oggebbio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oggebbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Italy
Hotel Villa Margherita Lake Maggiore, Italy - Oggebbio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.