We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, could do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Verbano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Verbano to your Saves list
Antico Verbano
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   SS Sempione, 60/62, 28046 Meina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Grenoble, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, could do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just spent one week in this residence conveniently located right on the shore of Lake Maggiore between Arona and Stresa. The location is great, the overall quality of the building is excellent and the personnel is welcoming and ready to solve any problem. Still, a few details could be better: Neither on the web page nor during the booking process it was pointed out to us that all one- and two-bedroom flats are on two floors, with a steep staircase connecting the living and sleeping room. If you happen to have a couple of little kids prone to tumble down stairwells, your holidays will be considerably complicated. Also, on arrival (and in spite of the hefty price) the cleanliness of the flat was somewhat superficial. Finally, those who furnished the flat had no eye for details: There is no point in having an outdoor table on the balcony if it interferes with the facile opening and closing of the shutters; the bathroom on the first floor was unfinished; we had plenty of towels for the bathroom but very few hooks to hang them on; there were no extra blankets in the bedroom (just in case the weather turns crazy and night temperatures are much lower than the season average…as it was the case for us).

Room Tip: Beware that all one- and two-bedroom flats are on two floors, with a steep staircase connecting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful appartments, very well equiped. We actually stayed twice, it was so good we returned! The first time we had one of the appartments on the second floor, this was a better layout for 2 people with kitchen bathroom and living with balcony on one floor then stairs up to a large bedroom with terrace on both ends. Be aware that if 4 people were staying (the living room has a sofa bed) the balcony is for 2 people only!

Some have complained that reception is not always open, I don't see the problem, we popped in to the attached restaurant, there are always staff there who are happy to help you. The staff were delightful, so pleased to see us back for the second visit! The village is a real and non-touristy place with a baker and gocery store, friendly little cafe on the waterfront, the ferry calls once a day in each direction and there are 4 or 5 trains a day from the local station. What more do you want? Not cheap but we found it value for money for the location and standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Antico Verbano is set right on Lake Maggiore and is a fairly new apartment complex with a restaurant and, most importantly, a swimming pool overlooking the lake. The apartment was extremely spacious, modern and very well equipped. We had a small balcony with a view of the lake. Meina is a good base for exploring the Piemonte countryside and we visited Biella from there. We dined at the restaurant on our last evening and were rather miffed that the table we had booked at the front was not available and we seemed to have been "fitted in" right at the back. However, the food was very good - nouvelle cuisine though, which was fine for me. Special mention for Valentina at reception who was most helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We had the most beautiful spot of the residence wherein the lake is almost within reach. We really liked the kitchenette complete with all the cuttleries and plates and not to mention the modern electric stove and the mini fridge. Our room was very spacious and bed was really comfortable, our son even had his own bed without added fee. Very close to Stresa and Arona where we enjoyed strolling around. We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay in this residence. To think that we just saw this promo with an extremely convenient price for 3 nights and i was more than contented to have availed of their offer...highly recommended for families like us! Pity that the pool wasn't working yet as the weather was still a bit cold. Insignificant detail though.

Room Tip: ask for the room that's at the end of the building, facing the lake...stunning view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our family of two adults and two children (ages 3 and 11). We were given a two-floor room with two bedrooms (one with queen size bed and the other with two twin beds). Since the hotel was very recently renovated, our room still did not have bathrooms upstairs :-( Otherwise, the room was lovely, with wood floor and built-in kitchen with a large dining table for six persons. We were positively surprised at how quiet the hotel was. There is no breakfast included and finding decent breakfast in Italy is really difficult. The pool was wonderful with rocks in the bottom although the water didn't appear very clean. A small swing set kept our little one busy for a while. The town of Meina is very small and doesn't offer much, so if you want shopping in the evenings or just more action than a dead town, then stay at Stresa for example. We were really disappointed when on Saturday morning, a guy cleaned the streets outside the hotel with a VERY LOUD leaf blower. I wish they would still use the good old brooms to sweep the streets. Otherwise, for honeymooners that just want to enjoy the Dolce Vita, this hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the lake, it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed at this property for three nights - checked in on the 13th May, 2011 and checked out on the 16th May, 2011. The location calls for just a word - WOW !!!!! No other location of any other property could match this. The rooms were beautifully located facing the lake and were very comfortable. Simply loved it.......

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments are the best ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Verbano

Address: SS Sempione, 60/62, 28046 Meina, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Meina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Meina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Verbano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antico Verbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Verbano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.