We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian hospitality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campagna

Hotel Campagna
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Campagna to your Saves list
Hotel Campagna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nazionale, 25, 28822 Cannobio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cannobio
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Italian hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we have recently stayed at this hotel as part of Leger picture book Italy tour.The hotel is a fair walk from centre of town about a 15 minute walk.our room was at side of hotel so no balcony but it was clean, beds comfy, ensuite shower room very nice with complimentary toiletries and hair dryer.our room was quiet but rooms at front which have a balcony and lovely lake view can be noisy as a main road round lake passes in front of hotel.The dining room we used was very nice, food was fine, Im a vegetarian and with help from Leger host my dietary needs were met. drinks in hotel a little pricey but if you turn right out of hotel there is a little bar 2 mins up the road where they were very cheap and one afternoon we were given free brushetta topped with tomato very nice Italian hospitality. The hotel staff were fine,3 stars in Italy not always the same as uk, just go and enjoy the glorious scenery and Italian experience its magical. If you stay on Lake maggorie be sure to visit the Borromean island of Isabella its beautiful and stresa is a nice place to visit also.

Room Tip: askfor a room not at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    4
    9
    2
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

When we arrived we wanted to check in, wasn't a friendly welcome to start with. Nothing was explained about the facility or internet. We walked up to the room. That was filthy, didn't look like it had been cleaned at all.( Carpet stains, dust and dirt all over the carpet, rash under the bed) So my friend and I decided to tell them on our way out and give them a chance to change that, they would have about 3 hours time.
So when we came back we didn't even get a parking spot because a huge bus parked over 4 or 5 parking spots, they made us park in front of the main entrance....
We walk up and nothing was done....so we go back to the front desk and explain them (in italian) that nothing has been changed, we pay a really high rate and we at least ask for a clean room, also a working and clean remote for the tv (5 programs).She gets up, gets the owner, a elderly lady and explains her the situation. The girl from the front desk was asked to show us 2 more rooms....those were worse, even smelled bad and hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner in a while....we decided to stay in our room and she will send somebody to vacuum at least. They did, which did not change much.
The room as the rest of the hotel has seen better days, really old, nothing was done in years....the room didn't have any lamp screens, the phone was falling apart, also the remote we had before, the new one didn't work either, wall paper came off and the carpet had stains all over the place, the shower leaked.......
When we bend over the balcony we could see a little of the lake....great view!
We will never ever go back to this hotel, and hope everybody who reads this will choose a different hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would class this as a motel not a hotel rooms had balconies and a lot had beautiful views but that is all that was good the bath room so tiny you could not turn around in it bedroom very basic
dinning room looked nice like it had been done for a wedding and the covers had been left on the chairs and tables but the serving staff ie Mario and two young ladies were very good and very efficient evening meals not to bad not very much but nice what you had but breakfast very sparse
It is situated right on the main road just before you go into Switzerland and seems a long way from any other place

Room Tip: on the front of the hotel you get a brill view of mountains and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Although the hotel looks not very romantic from the outside and is located outside of the town we were fully satisfied. The hotel offers a nice private beach and a gorgeous lake view. Be aware however, that there is a busy street between the hotel and the lake. To get to town it takes about 15 minutes walking or 5 minutes by bike (bikes are available free of charge). Rooms are ok and clean and also breakfast is alright (especially taken Italian standards into consideration).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Small older type hotel, (which looks a bit jaded) and is on a busy road. Some rooms at the front very near road and can be noisy but do have a partial view of the lake. Small room with small bathroom, both in need of some refurbishment, however it was clean, but with inefficient airconditioning. The sink plug was missing from the bathroom and after two days it still was not replaced. ( Improvised by cutting the neck and stopper from a coke bottle and used that) .The food was not good but as we were travelling in a large tour group maybe that was usual. About a ten minutes walk into a pleasant lakeside town, small well stocked supermarket on the way.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR & Tel Aviv
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We booked this hotel online because it was high season in the area and wanted to make sure that we had somewhere to stay.
It is outside of the center of town (a couple kilometers from the ferry dock) on a noisy street. The room was very spare: brick walls, tile floor, no air conditioning, two twins beds. It was so hot in the room that we had to leave the door to the balcony open all night. It was fine, but I didn't feel completely safe at first because the balcony could easily be accessed by other guests.
The next day we moved to another hotel and found several other hotels much better locations with much nicer rooms were available for 20 euro less than Hotel Campagna.

  • Liked — Online booking was available
  • Disliked — Location, comfort, value
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2005

There were 2 other rooms booked out other than us (the receptionist told us) which spoke volumes! The hotel is located on a V.BUSY main road (photo on website a little misleading shall we say) so we had no sleep for two nights due to the fact there was no air conditioning (or fans available) so had to have the patio door open and had to be subjected to the noise of the road. The traffic (and lorries) didn't stop all night! Rooms basic but clean. Breakfast was terrible! Stale bread and tomato juice. We checked out after two nights (we were booked in for 5) and they treated us as if we had a problem! Their attitude was unnessary & unprofessional. Anyway - drove to next town and checked into a 4* hotel for virtually same price! Hotel Campagne is very very over priced for the accommodation it offers. Would never go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campagna

Address: Nazionale, 25, 28822 Cannobio, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannobio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cannobio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campagna 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Campagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campagna Cannobio, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campagna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.