We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Lake Maggiore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cannero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cannero Riviera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cannero
Save
You added Hotel Cannero to your Saves list
Lungo Lago 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Idyllic Lake Maggiore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our third visit to Hotel Cannero in the lovely little village of Cannero Riviera on Lake Maggiore. If you have never visited Lake Maggiore then you must! Like all the Italian lakes it is very beautiful with the added attraction of the various islands that can be visited by the boat service. Once again we were enchanted by our stay here. The hotel continues to be excellent in its location and amenities and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. It is a family run hotel and the service is all you would expect from such a concern. The Maggiore boat company has a stop outside the hotel, so it makes traveling around then lake so easy. The hotel is right on the lake unlike many hotels which have a road between them and the lake. If you like to get away from the crowds then Cannero is the place to go. If you do not want to eat in the hotel in the evening, there are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance to choose from.

The food in the hotel is excellent, whether it is the very comprehensive buffet style breakfast, the snacks available at any time or the evening dinner. We chose the fixed daily menu rather than the a la carte and it was uniformly excellent with interesting variations from day to day.

The common rooms in the hotel are very good and the swimming pool is first class.

I suppose our only criticism is in the quality of the room. We had a lovely lake view room with a balcony but whilst the location is excellent, this room at least is getting a little tired. Our room had a bath with a shower attachment (but no curtain) that was difficult to use and drenched the floor in water. The fitted wardrobe/drawer unit is ancient and needs upgrading. I can't comment on other rooms in the hotel, so we may have just been unlucky - our friends had an adjacent room which had a good walk in shower. I guess we should have asked for a walk in shower when we booked. Having said all that, the prices make this a very good value hotel.

It was lovely to back at this great spot.

Room Tip: Ask for walk in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
206
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

One of the best hotels I know. Have stayed here four times and hope to visit again. Perfect position on the lake, everything immaculate inside and out. Beautiful terraces and a lovely swimming pool. This family owned and run hotel is full of charm and character in the best sense. I really cannot recommend it highly enough, it is THE place to stay on Lake Maggiore. Extremely good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

They gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and the lakeside view from our room
lived up to our expectations. There was no point in eating out because the food was excellent.
With a water bus right outside it was also a good starting point for sightseeing.
One thing worth bearing in mind is the frequent bus service from the main road (tickets from the supermarket), handy when when the water bus is not available and makes travelling around
a lot more flexible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a family run hotel and it shows in the care they take. The buildings have been updated and maintained to keep and enhance them. The care taken by the family and their architect to get the detail right makes this a very different hotel.
The staff were all cheerful and happy to help, making the stay very pleasant.
The lake Maggiore boat station is right in front of the hotel which adds interest.
Our visit was booked through Citalia and before we booked we asked if a room with a walk in shower was available. The hotel responded saying yes and giving the precise detail of the step height into the shower, that's what call good attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The hotel is very elegant and the staff quite accommodating. It felt as if we were sent back in time to a by gone era yet we had all of the modern creature comforts at our disposal. I really enjoyed the view from the balcony.
Also, the town is so quiet and quaint. It surely beats out Stresa-ful Stresa and Bavena!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is situated on Lago Maggiore, and quite beautifully so! You'll be hard pressed to find a better location. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a vintage Italian style. It oozes character and you simply feel that the people who have created this hotel have done so with love.
There’s a nice pool area, the rooms are very good and some offer the most beautiful view of the lake. Make sure you get one of those!
And don’t forget the food! Breakfast is very nice, dinner a delight!
Most important though; the staff will make you feel exceptionally welcome. They clearly love nothing more than to give you a perfect holiday experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, or at the very least a (side) view of the lake... you won't regre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angouleme
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The best hotel of our trip to Como and Maggiore for 2 weeks...
We were upgraded to a suite and can only compliment the director .....the room,the location,quiet, beautiful...excellent breakfast etc etc

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cannero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannero

Address: Lungo Lago 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannero Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lakeside resort is composed of three historical buildings: among them one was a former monastery and another a house of the “Baron di Sant’Agabio.” Suites are decorated in the Lombardy style with breathtaking views. Lake-facing bedrooms are found on four floors—all are charming. Additional guestrooms look out to the swimming pool, as do ten self-catering apartments that can accommodate from two to four persons. Ferries leave from the dock in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cannero Hotel Riviera
Hotel Cannero Cannero Riviera, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cannero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.