We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cannero

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cannero Riviera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cannero
Save
You added Hotel Cannero to your Saves list
Lungo Lago 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It has to be for me the most picturesque place I've ever stayed. On Lake Maggiore in Northern Italy, we ate our breakfast on the outdoor patio literally on the lake front. The rooms are large and spacious w/Air conditioning, and the buffet American style was amazing with fresh fruit, pastries, hard salami, cheeses, eggs, juices and much more. The staff of people working were amazing and friendly. We will definitely be back and for a lot more than just a few days.

Room Tip: Reserve early and you might be able to get a lake front balcony room!!!! I mean 6 months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
206
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Largely for reasons of economy, we chose an apartment in this hotel which accommodated the 4 of us. I was unable to find out much about these apartments on tripadvisor before we went, hence this review to help others in future. The apartments were fine (no lake views) and choices were between pool view and an alley view. Initially I asked for a pool view but on arrival it turned out that our room was right next to other guests sunbathing outside so we opted for the alley which was fine. There was a tiny balcony where it was (just) possible for 2 people to sit in the open air. The best apartments were full (being the ones overlooking the pool as these had both views + balconies !)
The apartments were comfortably furnished with old wooden tables, chairs, wardrobe etc. Our children slept on a sofabed which was reasonable but suited only to younger (non-heavy) kids. The kitchen facilities were really quite basic - fridge was of a decent size but only 2 electric rings available for cooking and very limited crockery etc. No corkscrew initially though hotel supplied one happily enough on request. The apartment was air-conditioned which was very welcome in the August heat and overall I would say we were very comfortable as long as we were content with picnic-style meals.
Breakfast was included in the price and it was delicious - great fresh fruit, natural yoghurt in a big bowl, pastries, croissants, full cheese + salami platter etc etc The other major plus for the stay was the hotel's position right on the water front. We were in the thick of it, though that's not to imply that Cannobio itself was anything other than a charming, quiet, tiny town !
The hotel staff, as has been said in other reviews, were mainly very personable and while our request to change rooms initially met with a negative response, it then magically happened.
Overall, a good value option for a family looking for somewhere 'nice' but without the price tag !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is amazing. My girlfriend and I got a room with a view that had a small balcony. The view was amazing of the lake. The people there were friendly and very approachable. The front desk was easy to talk to and were willing to work out any accommodations we had. The room was clean, bathroom very clean, good size bed also very comfortable, spacious room, and very charming. The location was perfect. It was nestled in a tiny area with no traffic around, small shops and small, locally owned restaurants. You are right near a port to get you to any parts of the attractions near by but just know that it leaves around 1040am and doesn't operate on Wednesdays. So plan properly or you will have to drive to another port and pay for parking. We ate at the hotel only for breakfast and it was good. Good service, very prompt and attentive. The same area outside is also used late at night for people to enjoy some cocktails or an after dinner drink facing the lake. This was beautiful and very romantic. Peaceful and amazing. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and highly recommend everybody to go here also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were travelling in Austria and Slovenia and decided to move on to Italy. We noticed this hotel in a newspaper article we had been reading online and contacted to see if they had accommodation. The superior rooms were all booked but they offered an apartment so we took it on the basis of the excellent review. The setting for the hotel is gorgeous, right beside Lake Maggiore. The hotel consists of two main buildings one a former monastery and the other the historic baronial house of the Di Sant'Agabio family painted in pretty colours and with flowers spilling over balconies and terraces. The reception area and dining room were also very pretty and delightfully fragrant with fresh flowers. Our one bedroom apartment was simply furnished, and spacious. The large sitting room had a sofa bed that could presumably accommodate more people. The balcony off this room looked over the narrow cobbled street at the side of the hotel, the Juliet balcony from the bedroom looked over the central courtyard and across to the swimming pool on a raised terrace. The dining table and kitchen were within the sitting room. We were not planning to self cater but if you were, the kitchen was only minimally equipped. We had planned to explore various places around the lake during our 4 day stay. Instead we were lured to the comfortable poolside and found ourselves relaxing into a lovely lazy lolling and reading. The pool was a decent size and I managed some good long swimming sessions in between the busy splashing episodes when children were making the most of it. The restaurant and the bar have tables across the cobbled pedestrian road right by the lake. The evening we arrived we sat there gazing at the lovely view as Maestro Santini played the piano in the bar. It was quite dreamy. Practical points worth mentioning are that wifi was free in and around all the hotel and parking at their sister hotel nearby was also free. Sadly our experience of eating in the restaurant in the evening was disappointing. The food was rather ordinary in quality and expensive in price. In relation to the restaurant and bar in terms of service and quality, we had the sense of complacency with a captive clientele. It isn’t possible to review the restaurant separately and for this reason the rating is 4 rather than 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel surpassed all my expectations. It lies right next to the lake and a small embarcation for the boats. The restaurant offers good food at sensible prices. The swimming pool and surrounding areas are very well maintained. The room (we had superior) have a small balcony overlooking the lake. Breakfast is definitely worth getting up for.

All in all this represents value for money considering where it is and is a must-do for all romantics!

Room Tip: superior room have their own small balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We totally agree with all the previous reviews. This beautiful hotel is in an amazing position right on the lakeside in a lovely little unspoiled village with friendly helpful staff. The food both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent. My abiding memory will be the smell of fresh flowers arranged all over the public areas and the cleanliness ( we even spotted a lovely lady vacuuming the outside wall of a balcony!!)
Our only criticism is our 4th floor room which was on the top floor of the hotel which had obviously been added recently. It was clean and functional but with little character and no real view of the lake as the rooms are set so far back in the roof space. This was not too much of a problem as the weather was beautiful and we were out all day but it was not a room you would want to sit in in bad weather.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 4th floor even though they claim to have a lake view. It would have been better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location is exceptional & the weather was perfect for our recent 5 night stay. This was our fourth visit in eight years and the high standard of accommodation, food & staff has been maintained on each visit. As is always the case, the staff make or break a hotel, & Hotel Cannero are fortunate to have an outstanding team working for them - thank you.

Room Tip: We have always been fortunate to book a room with a lake view. The newly refurbished 3rd floor was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cannero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cannero

Address: Lungo Lago 2, 28821 Cannero Riviera, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Cannero Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cannero Riviera
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming lakeside resort is composed of three historical buildings: among them one was a former monastery and another a house of the “Baron di Sant’Agabio.” Suites are decorated in the Lombardy style with breathtaking views. Lake-facing bedrooms are found on four floors—all are charming. Additional guestrooms look out to the swimming pool, as do ten self-catering apartments that can accommodate from two to four persons. Ferries leave from the dock in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cannero Hotel Riviera
Hotel Cannero Cannero Riviera, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cannero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.