We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View - Both Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellavista to your Saves list
Hotel Bellavista
, Vira (Gambarogno) 6574, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Room With A View - Both Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at Hotel Bellavista for 5 days and we can't praise it highly enough. From the moment we arrived in town we were collected by the hotels minibus and whisked up the mountainside to a spotlessly clean room with a spectacular view. Lake Maggiore is of outstanding natural beauty and the hotel was ideally situated to experience the surrounding area to the max. Breakfast was a continental buffet and we enjoyed all the various delicacies on offer. The croissants were particularly tasty.

We would not hesitate to return here given half a chance.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This lovely hotel belongs to the Swiss Touring club, the leading drivers association. It is very renowned and certainly deserves its reputation. The view on the Lago Maggiore is stupendous from the rooms and the restaurant. The staff is very friendly, the food delicious and the gardens amazing, almost like a botanical garden with many flowers all year round.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came back the 4th time. Family (2 kids 8 and 9 years old) and friends. It's just perfect. Nice rooms - bungalow style - always 3 rooms together. Looks like a park on the mountain. From nearly every room a nice view over the lake on Locarno/Ascona. The staff is lovely, nice and attentive. Nice terrace to sit outside for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pool, ping-pong table and lots of books. The only thing we didn't like are the beds (mattress was too soft).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel Bellavista is a 3 star hotel slightly above Lago Magiore. In my opinion you need a car as the bus down to the town and lake (which stops just opposite the hotel) runs only every 2 hours but the times connect with the boats to various lovely places like Locarno or Ascona. Also the last bus arrives at 18.30. you can of course ring up the hotel and they will taxi you back home. The rooms all have a beautiful view of the lake and are spotlessly clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals and of course a glass of wine or cocktail in the tropical garden. The prices are very reasonable and the director and his wife are absolutely charming and make you feel you are a special guest. We found it highly recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Hotel Bellavista is a 3* hotel close to Lago Magiore. It is located on the left side of the lake in a small vilage called Vira. It is on the oposite side of Locarno. With a car is quite fast to get from Ascona or Locarno to the hotel. I would say that this is the only inconvenient, specily for those who want to stay later in Locarno or Ascona. I guess that all the rooms have a view towards the lake, which in the morning is spectacular (we had room #73). The room was very clean and nice. The personnek was helpful. In the evening it is beautiful to sit by the pool and enjoy the view and drink a glass of wine. We only stayed one night so we coul try onky the breakfast - the bread was great and also a lot of options to chose from. It is a nice hotel and most probably we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeCHLausanne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

The Bellavista Hotel is a 4 star Hotel near Lago Maggiore in Ticino. It is located on a hill (walking distance to the lake 10 min.)
Most rooms (ours were 22 I believe) have a beautiful lake view.
The personnel is very helpful and cheerful.
We stayed 4 days and i can't think of one thing that went wrong.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vira (Gambarogno)
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Campagnola
Hotel La Campagnola
#1 of 1 in Vairano
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Vignascia
Casa Vignascia
#1 of 1 in Vira (Gambarogno)
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello Del Sole
Castello Del Sole
#1 of 33 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 33 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Hotel Pironi
Hotel Pironi
#2 of 10 in Cannobio
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellavista

Address: , Vira (Gambarogno) 6574, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Vira (Gambarogno)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Vira (Gambarogno)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.