We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for celiacs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gallo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gallo to your Saves list
Hotel Gallo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 30, 25080 Tignale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tignale
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place for celiacs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

this hotel is very Celiac friendly! send them an e-mail and they will take a very good care of you. they prepare a separate table for the Gluten free food at breakfast, the staff is super nice and friendly! highly recommended for anyone with Celiac who want to travel with no worries.

Room Tip: the rooms are quit simple but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Hotel Gallo as a lone female. This was the first time I had ever been on holiday alone and the hotel owner and her fabulous team really looked after me. They found things for me to do, made sure I had a meal when I arrived there late and even gave me creams for bites and prickly heat as the pharmacy was closed.

The food was lovely, though there was an awful lot of it! The swimming pool area is nice but small (which I prefer). Unfortunately, I didn't manage to book in a massage, but I heard positive feedback.

The only negative things I can say actually have nothing to do with the hotel itself. It is a little out of the way from the lake itself, so a car is desirable. The bus service doesn't run that late into the evening.

I had such a great experience that my housemate and I plan to visit in April. Highly recommended, great people, great food and beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Friendly place that has a deserving reputation. Only things it needs to consider is wifi access. Only available in the lobby and chargeable is not inline with other hotels. Also only one power point available in a small bathroom, so only other alternative was unplugging the small tv. But don't let that hold you back from booking.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A great relaxed family run hotel. Superb breakfast, a huge buffet with pretty much everything you could want in terms of variety, and evening meals, four course waiter service on a balcony restaurant with superb views across the Lake. Food always good and something exceptional in each daily menu. Very children friendly. The pool was great, again superb views from here. Tignale is relatively quiet compared to the lakeside being 500m up the mountain. To illustrate the quality of service of the hotel a short story. Hired mountain bikes from the next village, went to collect them by car. They gave me a puncture repair kit, but no pump to blow the inner tube up with; they only had one pump at the bike hire place and the pump was huge. So as my son and I cycled back to the Tignale before heading off into the mountains, I thought that I would just ask at reception to see if they had a pump. Well they didn't have one at the hotel, but a member of the family was dispatched back to their home and a few minutes later I was lent the family bike pump for the day. The staff cannot do enough for you and the service is prompt. The ride was great by the way. If you are driving avoid a single track gorge a few miles up the coast road with almost no opportunities to pass or reverse. We had a room that looked out towards the mountains, the view was great. However, the room was noisy in the morning because of traffic, and noisy in the evenings because we were above the bar. With the shutters closed there was almostno noise, but it was then very hot and stuffy in the room. The hotel provided ear plugs to help with this and we were never kept up because we were so tired and well fed each day. Some nights we stayed up late playing cards in the bar, so we have no right to complain, but if you want a really quiet room you'll need a lake view.

Room Tip: Watch out on lake ferries, 36E return for 15 minutes across the lake for a family of four no car. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

One would think that Italy with its amazing pizzas and pasta would be out of bounds for someone needing to follow a gluten free diet - not so! Hotel Gallo is a haven for coeliacs (and others) up in the mountain on the western side of Lake Garda. The gluten free provision is extensive with a brilliant choice for breakfast which even included gluten free croissants and pains au chocolat which were very good. If you fancy a pizza the restaurant just outside the hotel makes a very good gluten free option. All of the staff were very friendly and eager to ensure we enjoyed our stay in their family run hotel. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast and dinner we had breathtaking views of Lake Garda below us and the mountains across the lake.
Well worth a day out is taking the cable car at Malcesine up to the top of Monte Baldo (1760m) where there are several walks or you can just sit in the alpine meadow and watch paragliders launch themselves from the mountain. It is also worth taking a boat trip to Simione in the south, stopping at Garda on the way back.

Room Tip: We had a Tulipano room which opened out onto a terrace with a private area and our own sun loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Our 2nd stay following our excellent stay last year, and despite what the weather threw at us - a wonderful short holiday at the Hotel Gallo again!

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, no small detail was overlooked - so when there had been an issue with the room booking - this was immediately rectified to our satisfaction.

The views from the restaurant and pool terraces cannot be beaten anywhere on Lake Garda, and for those lucky enough to have a private lake view balcony, finding a reason to leave the room in a morning can be tough!

The walks around the hotel and village are reasonable well mapped - the views out of this world - and the hotel packed lunch would keep a family of 4 going on a 3 day expedition!

On one of our excursions we picked up a parking ticket - yet this was all resolved by our hosts with a smile and a call to the local police station They even completed all the paper work and took our payment to the local post office for us - 5 star service in anyones language.

Hotel Gallo is the sort of place that you would feel cheated if you hadn't been back at least once a year to take in the views, the clear air and to sample the family hospitality.

It really still is a "little gem"

Room Tip: If you can get a Lake view room - its worth the additional cost (See Photos)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed for 4 days in August this year and had a superb holiday. The views from the hotel are stunning and the area around the hotel is spotless. There are several nice bars in the main square, (which has a very alpine feel to it), no more then 200 yards from the front door of the hotel. However its just as nice staying late in the hotel restaurant, looking south over the lake with a beer or 2!. The staff cannot do enough for you and everyone is very friendly.
There are some strenuous but stunning walks in and around the hotel, either higher up into the mountains or down by the lake. Either way you will be rewarded with some fabulous views.
This is a hidden gem of a hotel in a terrific location along the less commercialised west side of Lake Garda - I will most certainly return

Room Tip: Get a lake view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gallo

Address: Via Roma, 30, 25080 Tignale, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Tignale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tignale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gallo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, health centre with small gym, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium shower UVA. The rooms in this fully refurbished hotel all have full facilities including bathroom with shower and hairdryer, color TV with satellite link, telephone, safer deposit box. Many of the rooms have a balcony or terrace and wonderful view of the lake. Guests also have availability of a private car park, a house bar and a wonderful panoramic terrace, where breakfast and dinner are served during the summer months, weather permitting. Our breakfast buffet is served until 10,30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallo Hotel Tignale
Hotel Gallo Tignale, Italy - Lake Garda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gallo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.