We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garni Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Garni Riviera
Via Roma, 1, 25084 Gargnano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Gargnano
sta barbara
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We have been to lake Garda several times and discovered this lovely hotel our last trip. Unspoiled Gargnano is the pearl of the lake and there are several good hotels but this has fantastic views and is right downtown in a quiet tranquil pedestrian zone. Ask for a lakeside room.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraOK, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
we discovered late that we coud reply to the reviews. We reply now because it's never too late to say thank you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
31
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

"Browsing on the Net, we stumbled across this Perfect Location: Hotel Garni Riviera in Gargnano proved to be an IDEAL CHOICE! It's situated in a small village, right on the edge of the Lake. A setting for an opera (Mascagni?) The hotel was exactly what we were looking for: from our room we had a panoramic view of the Lake; peace (almost no traffic on the beautiful cobblestones); and everything within 100 yards: bank, chemist, grocer (for wine and salami), 6 restaurants under the orange trees, and the ferry - which takes you almost anywhere you would need to go around the Lake. We were there in mid-May 2007: brilliant days of sun from our balcony, and a wonderful couple (the owners, Gianfranco & his wife Elisa) who attended to all our needs and gave us lots of local information. They both speak excellent English, Italian, Spanish and German. We'll certainly be revisiting them again next year."

  • Liked — Location, friendly owners, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No faults
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraOK, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
we discovered late that we coud reply to the reviews. We reply now because it's never too late to say thank you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

This is a 2 star hotel but I think the ratings are different in Italy because this Hotel would be a 3 or 4 star in England.

This is a well run hotel with excellent service. Due to a Bus strike we arrived really late at the Hotel and like all the hotels, there were closed. However, they provided a key-coded security box where we could obtain the keys so we were not locked out (which we were just not in the mood for a that time!)

However, for some reason two keys for 2 different rooms were provided for us. The next morning we explained to the owner that we only wanted 1 room and he was very polite and told us not to worry about it.

The owner is called Yanis (most probably spelt wrong!) who really polite and helpful and also seems to speak excellent German, English and Spanish.

Excellent large en suite, which I believe may have been renovated recently. I liked the touch of having a stool in there, so you can throw your clothes on there. Small touch but makes a difference.

There's a wi-fi spot and Internet for use. (5 euros per hour)
Double Room - 55 euros per day.

Unique Qualities: Breakfast is included and you do not want to miss it. Not because it is included in the price but because you can have a full view of the lake whilst you eat, which really just makes you want to relax and eat more!! It is nice and it also not situated too close so that you may get a cold breeze.

  • Liked — Owner
  • Disliked — Bar Closed Early
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't forget to have the breakfast with lake view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraOK, Owner at Hotel Garni Riviera, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
we discovered late that we coud reply to the reviews. We reply now because it's never too late to say thank you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Riviera

Address: Via Roma, 1, 25084 Gargnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#4 Family Hotel in Gargnano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garni Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Riviera Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.