We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civilised relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lac

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel du Lac
Save
You added Hotel du Lac to your Saves list
Via Colletta 21, 25084 Gargnano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Civilised relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A week in the middle of September at the Hotel du Lac was just wonderful. This is a small, old-fasioned hotel with good old fashioned values. That said, there is A/C, excellent bathrooms with good showers, and complementary wifi, plus a computer in the lounge for guests.The description of the rooms and facilities are comprehensively and accurately covered on the hotel website so you get exactly what it says there and everything is spotlessly clean. We had a room leading on to the terrace built right onto the lake and we really enjoyed the whole experience. Lunch on the terrace was a delight and the dinners that we had in the hotel were excellent and reasonably priced. Of the other restaurants in the area, the food at Vicovetere was just exceptional.

Valerio, the owner of Hotel du Lac, is courteous, knowledgeable, helpful and speaks excellent english. His small staff follow his example and the service cannot be faulted.

Most, but not all, of the other guests were of the same mature vintage as us and the whole atmosphere was quietly civilised in a friendly way. If you are a young family with boisterous children or are under 30 and looking for a lively night-life, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for quiet relaxation, stunning scenery,wonderful walks and good restaurants (the closest is good and within 100m), this must be difficult to beat at the price. We stayed at the much more expensive Villa Giulia a few years ago, and enjoyed the HdL experience more.

Thank you, Valerio, for providing a key component of a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms are more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
103
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed a week at Hotel Du Lac and it was excellent. The owner, Valerio was very friendly and helpful with tips on where to go, driving distances, maps, guides, etc.
The entire staff was super friendly, it was a pleasure after a couple of days getting our "usual" coffees at breakfast without even asking..
If you want peace and quiet, Gargnano is the place. But if you want some more action (as much as it can get on Lake Garda :-), then go to a bigger town on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Wonderful location. Quiet but within easy walking distance of the village with a good selection of restaurants and bars and also the harbour for boat trips and the ferry. Our room had a balcony with wonderful views over the terrace and the lake. The hotel is right on the lake shore so is a great place to sit and relax and enjoy the bar service. You can even have your breakfast outside in the sunshine and feed the fish and the ducks if so inclined. We had a lovely evening meal on the terrace of the hotel. We found the owner very friendly and helpful, as were the staff. The rooms were very clean and well serviced. We would definitely recommend this hotel to people who wanted a quiet place to relax and enjoy themselves.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove East Sussex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clean but VERY basic.
Must have a car if staying here. Hotel dulac gardone riviera a million times better location and value.
No pizzeria or restaurants within walking distance.
Owner lovely but offered no flexibility on booking. Would not visit again. Try dulac on gardone riviera.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

"This precious stone set in a silver-blue lake" - so might Shakespeare have described The Hotel du Lac Gargnano. We stayed here for three nights and were so enchanted that we vowed to visit again next year. The charming Arosio family, and the staff, were all very friendly and helpful and the general ambience, plus the antique piano, were a shere delight. The hotel is small but exquisite, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were fortunate to have a balcony room overlooking the lake and the terrace. The little village is a leisurely 10 minute stroll from the hotel and is wonderfully crowd-free and peaceful but offers some very good restaurants and bars to suit all tastes. The area so captivated D H Lawrence and appears to have changed very little since his time in Gargnano in 1912.
Not to be missed - The Lemon Walk - a short tour of a nearby lemon gree garden (amazingly free of charge) which was highly interesting and entertaining.
DO NOT MISS THIS LITTLE GEM OF A HOTEL.

Room Tip: Top floor balcony room - wonderful views. (I have clicked to rate fitness centre but don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are thrilled to have discovered this place. The hotel is beautifully run, and you have the facilities of Hotel Gardenia, 100 yds away - run by the same, charming family. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff are all delightful.
Gargnano is a great place to stay, too, if you want something off the tourist track and away from the busy road.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the lane, ie away from the Lake, but it was quiet and cool, and a great d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The price, the location, the town, the breakfast, the staff, the sundeck, the lakeside location... These are just some of the amazing features of Hotel du Lac. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend.

It took us a long time to settle on a hotel for Lake Garda. I took us an even longer time to decide which town to stay in, and for some time we weren't even sure we'd be visiting this Italian lake on our trip. WELL, WE ARE SO GLAD WE WENT TO LAKE GARDA. It was our favourite stop on our trip, and we liked it WAY more than Lake Como.

First, the hotel. We loved that the hotel was not on the main road, but on a lower street that lounges the lake (in other Lake Garda towns, most of the hotels are directly on the main road that goes around the lake, which can be a bit crazy with the summer traffic). The breakfast buffet was more than adequate for our needs (yogourt, cheese, bread, cereals, fruits, cold cuts, juices, coffee, tea), and we loved eating it on the terrasse at the lakes edge. You were literally dangling over the water. What a beautiful place. Our room decor was nothing exceptional, but it was clean, comfortable, the A/C worked well and everything we needed.

Although, I have to correct a previous poster. NOT all the rooms have a balcony facing the lake. Ours did not. There are two types of rooms, and one type faces the street (which is cute and barely receives any traffic, so no complaints).

The sun deck was absolutely incredible. There was at most one other couple there whenever we visited, and they were always friendly (thank you German couple who lent us their inflatable raft!). The sun deck is filled with plants (dangling kiwis, anyone!??) and offers a great view over the mountains and the azure water. We would regularly get up and walk downstairs, go through the hotel's side entrance, and step into the lake. You had to be careful getting into the lake because of the somewhat slippery steps, but then you were rewarded by having an amazing private swimming area right outside your hotel. The water in northern Lake Garda is so clean, one of the most disappointing aspects of our trip to Lake Como. One night we ordered a bottle of wine and enjoyed it at the sun deck overlooking the lake for several hours with some complimentary tarallis. The staff (brothers?) were very helpful in helping us understand bus schedules and with our early check out.

Second, Gargnano is perfect. We have travelled extensively throughout Italy and both were in awe at the beauty of the northern part of Lake Garda. The mountains, the colour of the water, how the water is CRYSTAL CLEAR, refreshing without being too cold, just perfect. We took a day trip to Malcesine (lovely, great beach for swimming north of castle - but very touristy!!), and were so glad to return to our little haven of Gargnano. The waterfront promenade in town is just absolutely lovely, and there are so many great restaurants. It has a lively local vibe at night as well. The hotel is a leisurely 5-10 mins walk to the heart of Gargnano where you catch the ferry, but there are a number of lovely restaurants/lake access points along the way.

Loved Hotel du Lac. Loved Gargnano and Lake Garda even more!!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. Although it would have been nice to have our own private little bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via Colletta 21, 25084 Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Du Lac is a small hotel, almost a private house, full of atmosphere, peace and comfort, and it is the ideal spot for an absolutely relaxing stay, steeped in the gentle atmosphere of the lake, and cradled in our magical old-world charm. The bedrooms are charmingly appointed with original period furniture. The hotel also has a restaurant where traditional local and national dishes are served accompanied by genuine wines from various Italian regions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.