We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda

Save Saved
You added Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Feltrinelli 118, 25084 Gargnano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€310 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Gargnano
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

"Amazing" is the only word I need to describe this hotel. We had five nights here and whilst I consider it to be very expensive, you really do get what you pay for. The hotel is definately off the lake road and going out for food is a bit of an excursion but its well worth the small inconvience for the truly spectacular views you get and the peace. If you want a special trip away then put this hotel very high on your short list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    679
    97
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
68
569
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a remarkable resort hotel which combines being adult friendly and child friendly with neither party having to make much of a compromise. Set on the west side of Lake Garda high above Gargnano it affords the most spectacular views and is designed to take full advantage of them. You approach via a winding climb on a road that seems to be the climbing test track for all the cyclists in Northern Italy. Travelling down to Gargnano on a Sunday morning is an appointment with the nearest thing to a full scale Giro d'Italia peleton climbing towards you so be careful on the bends.

As you drive up you may begin to wonder if you have missed the entrance but you will know when you reach it so persevere.

On arrival the service at reception was very personal and welcoming and this set the tone for a memorable 6 days there. It is true to say that everything was perfect from the moment we arrived until check out and the thoughtfulness of the concierge putting two bottles of water in the car for our onward journey. I am not an easy guest but in 6 days I could find nothing that was not perfect.

Pool area and pool bar were impeccable with the best infinity effect pool I have been in and ultra friendly and attentive staff.
Spa and Gym were perfect. Not cheap but then dont expect this hotel to be cheap. The level of service here does not come cheap. Restaurant and bar were excellent and dining on the terrace a joy on either a sunny morning for breakfast or dinner in the late evening warmth.

Every single member of staff we encountered was a perfect ambassador for the hotel and made us feel that we were their only concern in what was a well occupied resort in mid July.

Sadly all our plans for sightseeing were dashed by the sheer pleasure of indulging ourselves so we only left the resort once(!) for a few hours to visit Salo which is 15kms away and worth it for the up close and personal view of the lake and a wander through the streets of a proper lakeside resort with some real history.

We will go back with the ambition to do some sightseeing and the anticipation that we may just not bother!

Room Tip: Lake view room is a MUST. We think you should try for one on the level below the Spa level which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A lot is said of the location of this hotel, some of it focused on the winding road up from town or the distance to touring locations. Both of these factors bothered us a little bit, but in the end we felt the inconvenience was greatly rewarded with a very memorable stay.

As soon as you arrive, you are transported to a stunning and relaxing environment. The modern style of the hotel and unique layout, set within a hillside, create a special place for you to enjoy. The main level of the hotel has a large open lobby/lounge area along with a bar, library, and one of the two main restaurants. Just below this level is the spa, and on the bottom level is the gym and access to the main pool. Off the main building are several corridors that lead to the rooms which are located in several different directions. Everywhere you look, the view of the lake and mountains is there to be enjoyed.

We stayed in a standard room which is labeled a junior suite. The room was large and comfortable with a clean white décor, hardwood floor, and a terrace with two chairs and a table. We especially liked that there was a walk-in closet so that all your personal items could be kept out of view. The bathroom was also large and had a separate shower and soaking tub. The water closet was in its own separate location. We were concerned about how well the air conditioning would run at this eco-friendly resort since it was warm during our stay, but it was fine. Our only complaint about the room was that the overall look was a little on the bland side. We stayed in a room in the 100-200 section which we thought was a very good and private location within the hotel. These rooms look south toward the widest part of the lake and also did not have lawn space in front of them that allowed other guests to walk by. Other rooms face east toward a narrowing portion of the lake. These other rooms have grassy areas in front of them with lounge chairs that other guests use and where they can walk by. Either view is stunning, but we thought the southern view was better. We should also note that some views appear to be blocked a little by trees or plantings, so make sure you are happy with your view when you check in.

The place to be at this hotel is the pool areas which are two pools near each other, but on different levels of the hotel grounds. Sitting by these pools and enjoying the stunning views is the way to spend a day here. The setting is truly one of the best we have ever come across in our extensive world travels. A pool bar/restaurant is part of this area.

The spa area is a maze full of very interesting treatments and could be a nice place to visit each day during your stay. The gym is also a step above the average hotel gym, and is located in a room with a wall of glass out to the pool area and the views beyond.

During our stay we had breakfast each morning in La Grande Limonaia, the more formal restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. A big buffet is offered, and overall it was pretty good but more suited for European tastes than American. We also had a nice lunch at Trattoria La Vigna which was good. We had light room service meals two nights on our terrace. These meals by moonlight with the view were enjoyable and solved having to drive into town for dinner. We did go into town one night and had a great meal at a restaurant on a dock on the lake. The town of Gargano is very charming but small.

We also liked that the hotel does not nickel and dime you. Of course this hotel is not cheap, but a lot is included in your stay. There are two complimentary computers to use in an attractive room just off the lobby. Parking is also included and is located in a nice looking and convenient garage. Access to the spa water areas is no extra charge, and the big buffet breakfast was included during our stay.

Since this hotel is truly a destination hotel and a little timely to get to, it requires a little extra thought to your planning if you are also doing some touring. If you do it right, you will be rewarded with great memories from a special stay at a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100-300 block have good views and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Co Down
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband booked a 3 night break as a surprise for our anniversary. We arrived late after having dinner on the way and were given a guided tour of the resort and spa en-route to our room. We arrived to champagne in our room and also a lovely welcome letter & a card wishing us a happy anniversary.
Our room was luxurious, with the biggest, most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. The controls for the lights, curtains, in-room sound system etc took a little getting used to. They have a lovely system whereby you put your room key in a slot while you are in the room and remove it when you leave so that the staff know you are there and can arrange making up the room while you are out and you are not being disturbed by housekeeping knocking on the door.
Our spa treatments were scheduled by the spa staff before our arrival, we re-scheduled one but booked another 2 treatments while we were there, I would recommend keeping an eye on the Last Minute tree in the spa reception for cut-price treatments. There is also a lovely area in the spa where you can make yourself herbal teas, pour a glass of water or have a piece of fruit whenever you want.
The pool areas are beautiful, the pools are all heated and the gardens are beautifully landscaped whilst maximising the great views of Lake Garda.
We ate breakfast at the buffet each morning, there was a wide selection of food, drinks and also champagne, coffee and tea could be ordered from your table, neither the quality or quantity of food could be faulted and the staff were very attentive. We ate lunch and dinner on our final day as it had been included in our package, the lunch menu was quite extensive and the quality was very good. We decided to return to the same restaurant for dinner and found the menu extensive however we are not fans of red meat or fish, this was not a problem however as they were happy to omit items from the food and modify dishes to our taste. The only issue we encountered at the restaurant was that we were left for quite a while waiting for someone to discuss the menu and take our order and had to ask for ice to be brought for our water but this wasn't a big problem.
Even though we expected that it was a couples only resort we did not mind at all that there were some children staying, any that we saw were impeccably behaved. The only thing that would have been nice, given the remote location, is if they had a shop area (apart from the spa shop) where guests could perhaps buy a magazine or a snack as you do need to leave the resort to do this.
I would definitely return again for some R&R, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the reception staff were lovely and even gave us some chilled bottles of water to take with us on our journey home. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 121 which is an end room on the lower ground floor, this is probably the most priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Lefay Resort & Spa with our 11 month old daughter and really enjoyed this hotel. We would definitely return.

Other reviewers have already covered most of the general points I would make about this hotel so I thought I'd focus on our experience staying with a baby.

Overall this is a very family friendly hotel. The rooms are very large. We had a cot in the room and there was plenty of space remaining. Every room has a deep soaking tub in addition to a walk in shower. Reaching into the tub to wash your child can be slightly back breaking depending how small/wriggly your little one is. Those who co-sleep with their children will find there is plenty of room in the bed for all.

The technology in the rooms is a bit too sophisticated - we never quite worked out the lights and on several occasions accidentally turned on every single light while our daughter was sleeping. The wc light comes on automatically when you walk near it, and it is so bright and blinding in the middle of the light.

The restaurants had high chairs and my daughter was doted on by all the wait staff. I noticed they were also happy to heat up bottles etc for other families who had requested this. At breakfast there was a good selection of foods that were suitable for our baby - yogurts, fruits, breads, cheeses, cereals etc. Lunches and dinners were a bit more tricky depending how far along baby has come with weaning. We were told the restaurants would happily whip up a puree if you requested this. We didn't ask as we assumed this would be an expensive way to feed our daughter so we fed her some pouches of baby food we had brought with us (but we didn't check price either so this was a pure assumption).

In the evenings, the Limonera restaurant is very quiet and we preferred this for our dinners so that baby could sleep while we enjoyed our meal without being disturbed. The other restaurant was louder and breezier - fine if we had been dining on our own.

There are two swimming pools at the resort: a cooler saltwater infinity pool which is probably a bit too cold for very young babies (although our little one happily swam there once), and an indoor/outdoor heated freshwater pool. Babies are welcome to use either pool. There were enough sun beds with large umbrellas for shade. The hotel staff are very generous with towels and allowed us to take as many as needed.

The hotel offers a kids club but our little one was too young to participate - I think they need to be 2 or 3 years old. You can also arrange for babysitting (at an extra cost) but we didn't use the service either.

The only minor irritation was the location of the room we were given. We had requested a ground floor room as we use a buggy , but were given a room two floors below ground level (as the hotel is on a cliff these rooms are still quite bright and airy although the lake views are completely obstructed). I completely understand that the hotel cannot always accommodate every request, but this particular floor required you to take 2 separate lifts to make it to the pool or restaurant. Every other floors was connected by only 1 lift therefore any other floor would have been satisfactory. We didn't request a change as by the time we had realised this, our bags were unpacked and the cot was already in the room.

The hotel arranged a car transfer for us to and from Verona airport which included a baby seat for a hefty 195 Euros each way. It was a nice comfortable journey though.

As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is 6km up a cliff... therefore it's not easy to get out and about to try local restaurants etc. (The hotel's own restaurants are very good but also very expensive... we spent on average 60 and 100 Euros per lunch and dinner respectively.) The hotel offers a shuttle service into town during the day and you can reserve it for a specific time, however there are no child seats and this option doesn't work for dinner time.

So overall we had a nice relaxing break. It's an expensive hotel and it would be very hard to keep costs down due to its location, but it's great for parents who still would like to have a civilised and luxurious holiday with little ones in tow.

Room Tip: Rooms two floors below ground level (-2) are still bright and airy, but lake views are obstructed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The architecture of the hotel is really well designed with amazing views of the guarda lake. The spa is absolutely fantastic and the pools perfect (I don't like cold water and was very pleased with the temperature of the water). The hotel is however very expensive and the service quite slow. We ended up having our meals in restaurants by the lake to avoid to wait for 45 min for the food with our 3 children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with direct access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wonderful view from the resort of Lake Garda. Not so value for money but if you are opt for something special then Lefay is the place to go. Staff was great, Facilites and Spa wonderful with lots of treatments for Ladies.Valet Parking very convenient. Room Service very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda

Address: Via Feltrinelli 118, 25084 Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gargnano
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
#2 Family Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda is located in Gargnano, one of the most picturesque villages on the lake. The Resort, the first to be awarded the prestigious 5-star superior rating on Lake Garda, is situated inside an 11 hectares natural park in the heart of the spectacular and renowned "Riviera dei Limoni", surrounded by gentle hills and natural terraces rich in olive trees and woods overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefay Resort And Spa Lago Di Garda Hotel Gargnano
Lefay Hotel Gargnano
Lefay Resort & Spa Lago Di Garda Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.