We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect decompression after Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Sostaga, 19, 25084 Gargnano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Gargnano
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect decompression after Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Amazing location, winding up the mountain was quite an adventure but totally worth it. We had come from florence prior and the quiet serenity and beautiful scenery was exactly what was needed after the hustle and bustle city adventure. The rates were reasonable for the breathtaking views and friendly staff, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Proprietario at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Thank you for writing this beautiful review about our boutique hotel Villa Sostaga. We look forward to your next visit . Best Regards Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
221
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

A lovely, charming hotel which felt more like being in a private home. Staff was friendly, food was very great, rooms very clean and offered an excellent view of Lake Garda. Every minimal detail has been thought out and executed in the Villa. The Villa is located quite high up on a mountain top so a vehicle is a must...the drive to and from the Lake takes about 20 minutes per way. Overall we had a lovely Christmas weekend and met an extraordinary family!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Proprietario at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga. We look forward to walcoming you back among our valued guests soon. With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Located 400m above the level of the lake and with a wonderful view , the hotel is a fully restored mansion that gave us the feeling of being old time guests from decades ago. Excellent accommodation and friendly staff. The owner personally gave us recomendations about the excellent meals, always accompanied by very good Italian wines from their huge wine cellar . It was a delightful experience in every way, and we recommend to anyone who wants to have magic moments in a small Italian paradise.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony have a fantastic view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Proprietario at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This gorgeous hotel overlooks Lake Garda. It has spacious, well-appointed rooms and a fabulous restaurant. The setting is peaceful and invigorating. Sadly we missed the special offer for discounted rooms that is now available through Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Proprietario at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for you kind review of our Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga.
It’s so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would love to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards
Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Among OTHER hotels with too much touristic activity is the MUCH PREFERABLE Villa Sostaga which brought peace to a couple from Manhattan. Every level of employee showed courtesy and guidance, and the restaurant had plenty of fine items on the menu to go with the great choices on the wine list, perfect with an exquisite view of the lake.

Room Tip: Top choice room provided top experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear guest,

we thank you for your positive review. Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for your stay at Lake Garda. We are looking forward to welcoming you again and to arrange another wonderful stay for you! With kind regards, Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

The place is very nice and excellent service
It has the greatest view of Lake Garda
It is ideal to relax because it is in an isolated place

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay. We hope to see you again.
Kindest Regards
Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Everything you've read about this hotel is true! You will not find a better place to stay in the area, period! I love using Trip Advisor to help me choose where I'm going to stay.

This was a quick trip for us after I ran the Venice Italy Marathon, and I wanted a place to get away from it all and that's exactly what I found.

Although I was there during the fall so I couldn't enjoy the great outside amenities of the hotel it was still a beautiful place to be.

My great experience started with email communication with both Judith and Sonia about transportation questions from the train station in Desenzano. I decided not to rent a car so they were able to arrange a comfortable taxi van for 100 euros each way. This may sound like a lot of money, but it's almost an hour drive from the train station. Because of some travel issues I had to delay my arrival into the train station until 11pm. I was able to communicate with the front desk staff via email and they changed my taxi service. Upon arriving at the hotel at midnight, the owner was waiting with a warm smile on his face and got us situated in our room, not worrying about any paperwork till the morning. All the pictures you've seen on TripAdvisor and the hotel website are very accurate. Our room was a parkview junior sweet and it was very comfortable and a nice size. The bathroom had a towel warmer which I loved!
Very modern amenities with a nice flat screen TV in the main room and an additional one in the sitting room. The building my room was in was outfitted for conservation at its best with motion sensors that turned the lights off in the hallways when nobody was in them. Very smart!

In the morning we enjoyed an amazing buffet breakfast and sat in the sun room with a view of Lake Garda, absolutely breath taking! Since we didn't have a car we decided to hike into town. Again Sonia was able to provide us with a map and printed instructions. From the hotel you follow several paths that will get your right to the lake. BE AWARE, the path is VERY STEEP at times so make sure you have your walking/hiking shoes, and BE PREPARED for quite a workout on the way back up! When walking around down by the lake in the various towns we did find out that many places are closed on Mondays. We able to find this cute restaurant in the town of Villa that felt like we were eating in someones home. Amazing food too, although I'm sorry I didn't capture the name of the restaurant.

We decided to eat dinner at the hotel restaurant! WOW, that was by far the BEST meal I've ever had in Italy! Great food! Make sure and have the Caprese, it's to die for! A very romantic place for dinner with a view of the lake at night. You won't go wrong with whatever you order on the menu.

Don't be surprised if you meet the hotel dog who's very friendly and happy to have people around.

The owner was nice enough to let us extend our checkout until 1pm and was there to send us off as we left.

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. You won't be sorry with your decision if you choose to stay here! I wish I could have spent a long time at this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms look to be very beautiful, depending on your price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsostaga, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel.We hope the next time you return back to Gargnano, you can spend more days to enjoy our hotel.
Best regards
Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga

Address: Sostaga, 19, 25084 Gargnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gargnano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Villa Sostaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.