We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy,relaxed with beautiful food!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cuan to your Saves list
The Cuan
Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy,relaxed with beautiful food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back today from a 2day break.What a great wee place.The staff are so welcoming and down to earth.I have to mention Colman the night porter,he was such a charming gentleman.He told me and my husband some great stories.The food was delicious,i dont know what i enjoed more,the dinner or breakfast,it was so tasty.We certainly didnt go away hungry.The rooms are very basic but spacious and very very clean. I will definately be back again and will let my family and friends know about this fabulous wee place in Strangford.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kerrie D
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Colman is keeping a tally on the number of mentions he is getting! Colman has celebrity status in The Cuan. A god breakfast sits very close to my heart and i believe our is special because everything is cooked fresh to order. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming your friends and family in due course.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    42
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
59
127
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The title of this review may seem a little strange...but that's only because it was heartbreaking to have to leave! I must admit that this beautiful inn is very well deserving of the highest praise already stated by many previous reviewers. The McErleans are wonderful hosts and Mr Rooney is a real asset. We must however also give a special mention to the young chap who delivered copious amount of tea & coffee to our room with a big smile. In fact, all the staff are very welcoming, courteous and efficient.
As for the food, it's hard to know where to begin, but I really must disagree with one reviewer who felt that the delicious crab risotto wasn't up to scratch. In fact it was so good I could easily have eaten another bowlful and my husband was very impressed with the breaded cod, so much so that he declared it to be the best he had... even when compared with the seafood at Fisherman's wharf! As for the seafood platter, our only problem was that we were unable to finish it. (I would advise splitting it between three people, so you can have a little desert)
Finally, I must say something about Strangford itself. It is an extremely pretty wee town and without exception, the locals who passed us all said hello...something of a rarity these days.
On the whole, we had a wonderful time and are very much looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Stay longer than you planned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Ebbeddee
It was an absolute treat to read your review. Our heart and soul go into our business, it is essential that our guests go away having had a very special experience and feeling motivated to share it with others. I was particularly delighted to read your 'Room Tip': "Stay longer than you planned"
We look forward to your next visit Ebbeddee.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter, Colman (Mr Rooney) & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent a night on our way south to Dublin last weekend and it was so good that we booked a night for our trip on the way to the ferry at Larne. One of the best Inn/Hotels we have stayed at. The owners Caroline and Peter could not do enough for us and their staff were all so helpful. The food was superb. This might not be on your way but it is well worthwhile taking a trip to Strangford as it is a lovely place just across the water from Portsferry. We would definitely recommend the Cuan unreservedly. Full marks for this gem!!

Sandra and John, Kippen, Scotland

Room Tip: We had room 6 and it was lovely and large with a super bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear keera001
My smile just got wider and wider as I read your rewiew, many thanks for such comprehensive feedback on your initial visit that lead to a repeat visit. Now that you have discovered us we look forward to being a regular when you visit Ireland.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In your back garden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very impressed with the friendliness of the management and staff at The Cuan during our recent stay - it really did stand out. Perhaps they could start a sideline in hospitality training during the quieter months! It was really refreshing to meet people who seemed to really enjoy their jobs, meeting people and making your stay a pleasant one. Notably this applied to all the staff, not just the owners / managers (perhaps it is no coincidence that Peter and Caroline seem to have a very hands-on role and are very much involved).

We were probably not the easiest guests as we had our baby with us. The idea to put her to bed and enjoy a nice meal with one ear cocked to the monitor did not go according to plan and we had to take her down to the dining room and the keep nipping out between courses to walk her and try to get her off to sleep. Despite this, the staff were brilliant and did their best to ensure we stil lenjoyed our meal as much as possible. Babysitting had even been offered but we had not managed to get her to sleep.

Dinner was good with generous portions that will not displease those who do not care for nouvelle cuisine, but at the same time the menu was interesting and went well beyond tired pub staples.

Breakfast was also excellent (and we met yet another member of staff who was a real asset to the place - didn't catch hs name but suspect he is the same as mentioned a few reviews lower down) and in terms of the total bill for our stay I think we got great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Ringraider
What a delight to read your fantastic review. Consultancy - now there is a good idea BUT we would have to travel out of our uniquely beautiful village, it may be too great a price to pay!!
We hope you find another opportunity to visit us in the not to distant future.
Many thanks for taking the time to do the review Ringraider.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Myself and a group of friends visited this restaurant after a dive.

I went for the Roast of the day.

It was a big let down. The food was tasteless. It would be best compared to the food you would get in a cafe. I didn't taste like a meal a chef had prepared. It was more like the standard a cook would make.

The presentation was awful. It was as if it was just threw on the plate.

It wasn't cheap in the slightest. They need to reduce their prices to match the standard of the place they are.

The staff were friendly though but thats not enough to make be return.

I won't return. Good food isn't difficult to make. The Cuan are very fortunate to be located where there is an abundance of fresh produce so they have it easy compared to other restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear RyanBelfast
The most recent posting on The Cuan's restaurant review page of Trip Advisor reads as follows:
“Delicious food and great atmosphere with moderate prices” 5 Stars
Reviewed 8 September 2012 NEW
Seafood is the speciality of this restaurant in a charming little fishing village on Strangford Lough. Food was fresh and delicious.Seafood chowder excellent.
Interior has lots of charm and atmosphere.Very relaxed and unpretentious.
Prices appropiate.

The roast of the day is consistently within our top 10 sellers!
Yours sincerely
Caroline & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself and my husband have just spent a very enjoyable overnight stay at the Cuan Hotel. We were given a warm welcome by Damien who showed us to a lovely, good sized room at the front of the hotel. The room had both a double and single beds and was spotless. It have a view of the green and was very quiet. We had booked for Bed, Breakfast and Dinner. The food at the Cuan is excellent and is further enhanced by the attentive staff. At Breakfast we met 'Coleman' who has been with the hotel for many years. He could not do enough for us and his cheerfulness was a great start to the day! The Cuan Hotel is great value for money and we have no hesitation in recommeding it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear heather w
Colman has printed this review and put it up on the staff notice board!!!
Many thanks for this fantastic review. It is such a delight to read this heartfelt endorsment of The Cuan. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Damian, Colman & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, UAE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family held a birthday weekend for my Grandmother's birthday in The Cuan during the summer. The hotel is absolutely lovely and the welcome we received was fantastic. The rooms are very well appointed with all modern amenities and a lovely, very large bathroom. The family room we stayed in had a double bed and a full size single bed (instead of the camp bed that some hotels try to provide you with. Breakfast the next morning was a full ulster fry and was delicious.

We were very impressed with all the staff, from the owners who were on hand, to the receptionist, night porter and the young bar staff. all were very friendly and accommodating to all our needs.

A big thank you to all the staff, and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Cuan for a nice relaxing weekend break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear minmaguire
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. I am particularly impressed that it was still so fresh in your mind with such fantastic detail to do the review at the begining of Sept!! IT REALLY must have been special. I hope your granny persuades you all to return for next years celebration.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.