We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Onion-Garlic Cafe (Sogan-Sarmisak)

Onion-Garlic Cafe (Sogan-Sarmisak)
| Beachfront, Gumusluk, Turkey
02523943087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Gumusluk
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

They promise home cooking and that is what you get. Different menu to the other restaurants on the beach - limited to a small number of dishes but all were quite delightful. Only complaint would be that the beach slopes a lot under the tables so it was a strain to stay upright unless you were facing the beach with the table in front.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Food is average and everything else is below average. We have eaten at more expensive places in Bodrum but this one felt the worst at it had nothing to deserve the price tags. Menu does not have many options but the worst part is the service: we had to feed ourselves with bread for an hour before the mezes showed up. Definitely not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent the afternoon in Gumusluk and were told to spend the evening there as the view of the sunset is beautiful. We decided to have dinner at the onion-garlic Cafe and we had a lovely time! We ate by the beach facing the beautiful sunset. We had a couple of lovely starters and a main. But the best of all is the chocolate cake! We first ordered a slice to share but ended up having one each as it was so delicious. We really enjoyed the "home-made" feel to the place. It was absolutely lovely!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sloppy restaurant with ordinary food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Sogan Sarimsak was recommended by a famous food critic in Turkey so I thought that it was a safe bet for dinner but I couldn't be more wrong. The house/restaurant concept is interesting for a first few minutes. To glance at the raggedy scrapbook menu is no fun either. We had our fingers crossed that we were going to have great food to compensate for this mess. Unfortunately, that didn't happen for us. If you are tourist and you never had Turkish dishes at home, the food may be good enough. Being a local, I have better olive oil dishes at home. The bream cooked in sage leaves was nice. We wanted to end our meal on a sweet note with their daily homecooked fruit pie. The base of the pie was literally burned so we couldn't even enjoy our desert. The service in general was friendly but slow. This is quite a given when you consider the size of the kitchen as you can see when you go inside to pay the bill. Also, don't be fooled by the overall sloppiness of the restaurant, at 15 TL for the slimmest slice of pie in the world, it is not the cheapest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is with a little regret that I write this review, I wanted to love it! We had booked for dinner prior to reading other reviews, then on the basis of its number 1 rating were really looking forward to it. I agree the food is very authentic, the starters being the stars though rather small. The menu was difficult to navigate and a couple of the mains not available. The food was good but the scale of the bill was rather shocking and we left feeling sadly " ripped off".

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onion-Garlic Cafe (Sogan-Sarmisak) also viewed

 

Been to Onion-Garlic Cafe (Sogan-Sarmisak)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onion-Garlic Cafe (Sogan-Sarmisak), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.