We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ranch with Amazing People and Horses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Willow Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Willow Guest Ranch to your Saves list
Red Willow Guest Ranch
7511 Nasby Road, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ranch with Amazing People and Horses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent 3 days with the girls on the Red Willow Guest Ranch in August 2013. We were looking for somewhere to go riding in the wilds off the beaten track, and this place is just that. We found the ranch to be an amazing place. We were immediately made to feel welcome and the ranch had no touristy pretence about it. Its a real ranch and you can feel that straight away.

We got there later in the afternoon and enjoyed a hot shower and a few beers around the camp-fire with the friendly staff and planned our day ahead. We went for 2 short ride outs the next day through some stunning woodland. Having not ridden horses much the girls really looked after me and I was riding with confidence in no time. The following day we did a full days ride to green lake which was just wonderful.

On our ride we got to see all sorts of wildlife and wonderful views. Having spent very little time around horses I was eager to learn and that's what I got. I was taught to tack up the horse, groom brush and look after them while I was there. There was no hand holding, thrown right in at the deep end and I loved every minute of it.

The great thing I found about the ranch is that the girls really look after you, breakfast is served up at 8am which is simple but lovely. Lunch is at 12pm and again is served up for you in the guest house. Dinner is served at 6pm and again we had a lovely variety of food.

Our room was simple but very comfortable and the massage chair is magic after a hard day on horse back.

Red Willow ranch would suit all types of guests, families where there during our stay and had a wonderful time.

I cant recommend this place enough if your looking for adventure, fun, relaxation, horse riding and nights around the camp fire with some wonderfully crazy horse people!

Overall we had a simply wonderful time in our few short days there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you want to show your grand kids what ranching life is about, this is the place to go. They have it all mixed with in with a family atmosphere. Elke and her staff, demonstrated such patience with overwhelming spirit to help the kids to learn the art of riding. The horses are well trained and very gentle for the kids. The home cooked food, fresh baked bread each day and the ability to roll up your sleeves and become a cowboy, cowgirl for a week was great. The kids enjoyed the dogs, the chickens and all the other amenities that made their new experience a memorable one. They already want to return on 2012. Thanks to all for a wonderful time at the Red Willow Ranch. See you in 2012. Gord and Wendy Nicoletti

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We have come with our children, as a couple and have brought friends. I really like that guests take responsibilty for their horses - from grooming, to saddling to taking care of their horse after the ride. The food is good and plentiful. The scenery is beautiful. The staff are caring. What more could one ask for. My favourite memory is from our first trip. Our sons were young & the youngest one would rather help with the chores. We have a picture of him sitting on the dirt in the corral. A very young Gucci (the horse) laid beside our son and placed his head on our son's lap. How perfect.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

When my daughter Caroline was 12 (6 years ago) she was taking riding lessons in Vancouver. So, we decided to spend a part of our summer holidays on a horse ranch in the interior of British Columbia. Through the internet we found the Red Willow Ranch, where we spend an absolutely marvelous vacation. Caroline was assigned a horse named Moni always for the whole day and she especially enjoyed the freedom of the western stile riding in contrast to her lessons on the paddock in Vancouver.
Since then we have been on the ranch many times and have developed a real friendship with the owners, the always friendly staff and other guests who we have met again and again over the the years.
It is really a great experience that we can recommend even for non-riders who can enjoy the great food, the long walks in a beautiful nature or can drive to other very interesting view points in the South Cariboo region, and all that for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been going to RWR for 10 years now; have not missed a year and some years have visited twice. A horse is assigned to you for your entire visit and you get to groom and saddle that horse yourself. Help is available if you need it, but it is like having your own horse while you're there. The horses are very well taken care of and are happy animals. Hence they like being ridden. The site of the ranch is gorgeous and near some lovely lakes. The food is family style and all you can eat. We love the RWR, the horses and other animals and the people who run it. See for yourself. Plus it's a great deal; comparing it to other ranches for the price - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our family has been going there for 7 or 8 years, it is our favorite place. Great people, great horses, nice trails, a wonderful place
Felix, Jamie and Fran

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We wanted to experience a real life working ranch but still feel like we were on holiday. Red Willow Ranch lived up to all expectations, set in a beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Elke, Ulrike and Craig are great hosts who make you feel right at home. The accommodation is simple but very comfortable, our room looked straight out onto the paddock from where we could watch the horses. The home cooked food was delicious with the communal eating arrangements creating a great homely atmosphere. The log fire was the perfect setting to let your food go down and your mind relax.
The horse riding was great. My husband had ridden very little with little confidence around horses before our trip, but by the time we left he was both confident in the saddle and around the horses. We both had the opportunity to ride more than one horse but felt very lucky to spend most of our holiday on horses that suited us perfectly.
There is a great bar for in the evenings if you fancy a tipple or 2, again a great setting with comfortable seats and a wonderful log burner.
All in all a great trip. Highly recommended for anyone who wants the opportunity to explore Canada on horse back, on a homely and welcoming ranch.

  • Liked — Homely and comfortable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Willow Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Willow Guest Ranch

Address: 7511 Nasby Road, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Willow Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Willow Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.