We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cappuccino in BC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lac des Roches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lone Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lac des Roches
Save
You added Lac des Roches to your Saves list
C19 Cottonwood Site | RR #1, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Cappuccino in BC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were really tired and wanted to drink a coffee after we left Clearwater..... after about 100km we found this restaurant and were speechless. The view was amazing! The staff/owner is so friendly and we had the best Cappuccino in BC :)
Drinking a good Cappuccino on the patio overlooking the beautiful lake..... just beautiful.
If we're in BC again we definitely will stop at Lac des Roches for drinking another cup of coffee.
Grazie mille e a presto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comment.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cappuccino and maybe we'll see you again.
Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    7
    5
    20
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My average rating is of the units themselves only!!!!!! They are typical Cariboo fishing cabins. Nothing fancy, but at the price what are you really expecting?

Now to where I would give this place 6 out of 5. The owners are amazing! So friendly and always willing to help you out anyway that they can. We have stayed at this resort twice now ( And have already booked next year) with no illusions that this was going to be a 5 star tropical resort and loved it both times. The food is amazing and while it does cost more than a burger at your closest McDonalds, it is a far superior meal so don't try to compare the two.

If you are antisocial and are looking to not see other people or are not comfortable meeting new people, sharing stories around a fire while enjoying some drinks, I will say that this may not be your ideal place. But for us it is! We love coming here and have met some very interesting other guests and had very memorable times sharing stories and fires in the evening.

I highly recommend this resort if you know what a typical Cariboo style cabin is and that is what you expect. If you think you are going to be staying at the Ritz Carleton on Lac Des Roche, I would suggest you don't stay as you will not appreciate the resort, the lake, the owners or the food. I can not say enough how much we love staying here and the hospitality shown by the owners Laura and Luca as well as the people we have met and shared fires and conversation with.

In my opinion the negative comments left by unhappy travellers are from people that were expecting more than what the resort truly is. However if you have no illusions that you are not in a 5 star tropical resort and you enjoy hospitality of the owners and the friendly outgoing people that frequent this amazing location, you will have nothing but great memories.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Lyle,
it is really nice to read your comment and we appreciate that you took the time to write it.
Maybe this will help to show other people what they can expect when they come here.
We are looking forward to see you again.
Thanks a lot
Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had occasion in May to plan a small (12 people) family fishing trip to this resort. from the beginning making the reservations to the end "Paying the bill" we had nothing but good experiences! The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating and try to provide all that we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The facilities offer just enough of the more modern conveniences but also are a bit rustic so both sides are looked after.
The fishing was good and provided many challenges to land a larger one.
The last night we took advantage of the one site restaurant and totally enjoyed the service, food and atmosphere very much, and we didn't even have to do the dishes!
I have since booked another trip in the fall of this year and am already looking forward to it.

Room Tip: If you have a family of around 8, the chalet cabin is a Great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Terry,
thank you for your comment.
We appreciate it that you took the time to write it.
We are happy to read that you had a great time.
Thanks again,
Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in cabin #7 and it was great
It was very clean and well equipped
The hosts were friendly and helpful
The facilities were all awesome and the restaurant was fantastic
Cappuccino on the lodge patio overlooking the lake was wonderful
We will definitely return to resort

Cathy Shore

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Cathy,
thank you for taking the time to write this comment.
We are looking forward to see you in July.
Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Myself and two of my friends needed to book a place for one night's stay on our way to Kelowna from Alberta. My friend found this place and we were very excited to go. I'm very glad I didn't check for reviews before we left, as I normally do, because I may have needlessly worried, or even not booked, which would have been a shame. I appreciate everyone has their own experiences but I'm at a loss as to why some people even travel if expectations are too high.

First, this place is a fishing lodge and yes, the cabins are rustic but ours was comfortable and clean. The bathroom is small but I'm used to traveling in Europe where that is commonplace so it didn't phase me at all.

The views are simply second to none and we were constantly in awe of all the beautiful wildlife we saw while on our deck, in the restaurant or at the fire pit.

The restaurant is amazing and our dinner that night was the highlight of our trip. My friend and I shared a beautiful tomato salad with bocconcini cheese and also shared the gnocchi. I love Italian food but this meal outdid any other restaurant I've been, outside of Italy itself. It is appropriately priced for the quality and quantity they provide, I'm confused by people saying it's expensive. It isn't. It is homemade, authentic Italian and my knees buckled over how good the gnocchi was. It melts in your mouth and I highly recommend it.

Our dinner was made even better by the fact that the owners, Luca and Laura, visited with us after we ate and we had an amazing evening with really lovely people.

After dinner we grabbed a couple bundles of wood for the fire and Luca insisted on carrying them for us. Their warmth and hospitality was the icing on the cake and we will be back. In fact, Luca even refunded our money for the wood because we ended up not having a fire because in the dark we picked the wrong pit (it was very wet as it had rained the day before) and couldn't get it started. The next day Luca told us that we should have come and got him and he'd have started it for us. He took the wood off the bill and told us next time he'll get it going for us.

Thank you Luca and Laura for making us feel like part of your family and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Christine,
thank you for writing this comment.
It is really nice to read that you enjoyed our food so much and that we are not mistaken with our prices and the quality we offer. Reading your comment even made me hungry again.
We hope we can get your fire the next time.
Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked what we thought to be 2 "cabins" for our 15th annual girls getaway. We have stayed at resorts and campsites of all types throughout BC and this was bar far THE WORST experience. We arrived to 2 small "motel" style rooms. There was mould on the ceiling tiles above the bed, the sheets were stained, the fridge made a strange humming noise. We tried to make the best of it and attempted to rent boats, but were informed the motors were all broken. We went to play horseshoes and there were no spikes. We went to ask for paper towel to buy/borrow with no response. Finally on the last day, the sewer backed up and the toilet couldn't flush and the shower wouldn't drain. The owner was very nice and tried to help as much as he could, but this place needs some serious TLC. Be warned if you book, go with lowered expectations and bring your own kitchen supplies!

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Suzanne,
We just found out about all the reviews on tripadvisor and we are trying to reply to them a long time after the fact happened.
We are sorry that our cabins did not meet your expectations.
Usually you have an good overview on our website to see how our cabins and rooms are set up.
You stayed in our suites which are described as “One bedroom suite / Cabin style” and “One bedroom suite / Motel style”, so you can not expect a cabin. Maybe the Chalet would have been a better choice for your girls getaway.
We apologize for the inconvenience you had in your cabin and all in all it sounds like a lot of bad luck.
We do not deny that some equipment in our resort might be outdated (after all our business exists for 13 years), but we do our best to fix everything as fast as possible. We appreciate your review and we do care a lot to update and fix everything and it usually does not happen that so many things are broken at the same time. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay.
Thanks again, Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The web site for this place is a joke. It is so far from reality it is not funny. This would probably be the worst place we have stayed at. The "chalet" was a fisherman's cabin, the "en suite" consisted of a shower placed in the corner of the room which was not big enough to swing even a small sized cat in. The wash basin was actually in the room and had no place to put your soap or shaving gear. The curtains were previously used in the Ark. Need I go on...? Oh, yes, the Lake itself is gorgeous, no photo shopping needed there. The restaurant was a shambles service wise AND they charged us $20 to cork a bottle of $20 wine. The food is home cooked Italian and was quite good but this did not make up for the shambolic service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Boardie,
thank you giving us a review on our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor and we are trying to reply to them a long time after the fact happened.
Your comment sounds like you might have had expectations that were too high.
We are well aware of that fact that we are not a five star resort and we do not try to sell it like that.
If you check our website you can get a great overview on the cabins with pictures and virtual tours to ensure yourself if that is what you are looking for. We put pictures and descriptions on the website and we do not try to mislead anybody
The wine we serve is worth more than $20 and it is sad to hear that you couldn't appreciate that.
If you would let us know why our service was “shambolic” we could improve that, but unfortunately you didn't let us know what we did wrong. All in all we think that your expectations are higher than what you can get for this price in this area. And most people are happy to spend their vacation in a “fisherman's cabin” on a beautiful lake.
We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay. Thanks again, Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lac des Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac des Roches

Address: C19 Cottonwood Site | RR #1, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lone Butte
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is accessible year round directly off of "The Fishing Highway 24", nestled within the heart of our "Beautiful BC" wilderness. Lac Des Roches Resort hosts and boasts the most activities and adventures in the area, with a view of the most photographed lake in British Columbia. Choose from a variety of our fully modern accommodations; whether one of our suites or a cozy lakefront log cabin, there will be nothing between you and the lake except your personal picnic table and bonfire pit. All units come equipped with hot and cold running water, electricity, 3 piece washroom with shower, bedding , towels, kitchen and cooking utensils at no extra charge. We are Pet Friendly. Situated on 47 acres and surrounded by crown land's finest forests, we have 6 campsites and 12 accommodation units; ample enough room to accommodate both large and small groups while maintaining a relaxed and comfortable environment/atmophere/ experience. Ideal for a family vacation and reunions, activities include: sand volleyball; badminton; bocce ball court; swimming; hiking; horseback riding and much more inlcuding a childrens' playground. Lac Des Roches is well known for its trophy Gerrard Rainbows up to 19 pounds and for its big burbots ( freshwater cod ); ice-fishing enthusiats can easily catch in the winter. Anglers from all over the world come to Lac Des Roches to enjoy fly fishing : massive mayfly and caddice ( Sedge ) hatchings make Lac Des Roches a paradise for fly fishermen. With over 100 pristine lakes within an hour's drive of Lac Des Roches, our resort houses a multitude of fish: rainbow trout; brook trout; kokanee; lake trout; making Lac Des Roches Resort the ideal fly-fishing and ice fishing destination. Our true Italian restaurant combines southern European hospitality with our expert northern Italian chefs. All our entrees are prepared fresh daily on the premises(repetitious). Internet WIFI available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lac Des Roches Hotel Lone Butte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lac des Roches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.