We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place by far....ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ver-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Provence
Save
You added Castel Provence to your Saves list
7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ver-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
Harrogate, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favourite place by far....ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Previous reviews say it all. It's just the lovliest house, with the lovliest hosts. Wish we could have stayed longer. Six of us from B.C.. Canada and Harrogate.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

One of the best B&B that I have stayed at. The owners are wonderful, caring and very warm.
A must stay at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The proprietors Josette and Jean Pierre are in a class very few people achieve. From the very first minute we arrived, we were treated as family. The Inn and surrounding areas are rich in history, that is explained in detail by Jean Pierre. The breakfasts are delicious, especially Josset's home made jams.
The rooms are very well appointed, immaculate bathrooms, comfortable beds and very relaxing grounds. Anyone who does not stay at this Inn is missing out on a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Josette and Jean Pierre are the most perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived (wine and cheese and chocolates!) to our final breakfast of freshly baked casserole and homemade jams and marmalades, we felt as though we were visiting the home of friends. I highly recommend Castel Provence for a long weekend in Normandy. The location is perfect for visiting the Normandy beaches and museums and Mont St. Michel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Castel Provence while in Normandy during a two week tour of France. It was far and away the highlight of our trip. Josette and Jean-Pierre, the proprietors, were exceptionally warm and lovely people. They advised us on our day trips around Normandy, suggesting the best times to visit certain sites, directing us to the most interesting ones and the most convenient parking lots, and helping to ensure that we made the best of our time. They helped us with restaurant reservations, and made our inability to speak French far less of an obstacle than it otherwise would have been. Immediately on our arrival, they invited us to share an apertif and some local delicacies. We shared stories and learned much about the history and culture of Ver sur Mer, Provence, and all of France. Each morning they served us elaborate and delicious breakfasts with local specialties and Josette's own outstanding jams. Their home is beautiful and the guest rooms immaculate, with all modern conveniences. When we had an incident with our passports at the end of our stay, Josette and Jean-Pierre went far out of their way to help us. All in all, I cannot recommend Castel Provence more highly. It is a truly beautiful place.

Thank you Josette and Jean-Pierre. We hope to see you again soon.

Michael and Jessica (from New York)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were traveling with our 13 year old granddaughter, and had the garden suite. It was perfect for the three of us. The hosts made us feel part of their family. Both nights, we had picnic suppers out on their beautiful lawn. It's such a quiet, peaceful place. Thank you, Josette and Jean Pierre!
Grant, Louise & Vanessa
BC Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I agree with the previous "excellent" reviews to which I'll add my confirmation that:
1) Josette and Jean Pierre are wonderful hosts -- generous with their time, expertise and maps!
2) Josette's kitchen is a wonderful place -- full of good food and conversation.
3) The upstairs bedroom and bath are lovely. And the park with its gorgeous trees is heaven.
4) The area is a fascinating mixture of bucolic beauty and history.
Thank you Jean Pierre and Josette!
A bientot!

Room Tip: Garden room nice but upstairs room much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ver-sur-Mer
1.6 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
3.3 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
10.2 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Provence

Address: 7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ver-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ver-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century manorhouse, situated in a park full of trees and flowers.Pleasant and comfortable 2 rooms.Delicious breakfasts with more types of homemade jam to choose.Internet in the rooms.Private car park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Provence Ver-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.