We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ver-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Provence
Save
You added Castel Provence to your Saves list
7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ver-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
BC
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were traveling with our 13 year old granddaughter, and had the garden suite. It was perfect for the three of us. The hosts made us feel part of their family. Both nights, we had picnic suppers out on their beautiful lawn. It's such a quiet, peaceful place. Thank you, Josette and Jean Pierre!
Grant, Louise & Vanessa
BC Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I agree with the previous "excellent" reviews to which I'll add my confirmation that:
1) Josette and Jean Pierre are wonderful hosts -- generous with their time, expertise and maps!
2) Josette's kitchen is a wonderful place -- full of good food and conversation.
3) The upstairs bedroom and bath are lovely. And the park with its gorgeous trees is heaven.
4) The area is a fascinating mixture of bucolic beauty and history.
Thank you Jean Pierre and Josette!
A bientot!

Room Tip: Garden room nice but upstairs room much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A charming property in large well maintained grounds tucked away in a quiet location. The French owners were very hospitable and extremely helpful with tourist advice. We stayed in the Garden Room with an en-suite (containing large shower cubicle) and small kitchen area with tea/ coffee making facilities, cooker and fridge. Tin of lovely biscuits a nice touch and there were a few basic items in the fridge e.g. water. Small writing desk handy. Very enjoyable typical French breakfast including freshly squeezed oranges and fresh strawberries/ fruit salad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Castel Provence is one of the great discoveries of B&B accommodation. Josette and Jean Pierre gave us a very warm welcome to their home. We stayed in the upstairs room which was comfortable , clean and very quiet. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast with Josette and Jean Pierre in the delightful kitchen which overlooks the garden. We felt we sampled a little of french life. It was a perfect base for seeing the coast and all D-Day landings. Josette was completely dedicated to making our stay a very happy one. Jean Pierre treated us to some apple brandy ( Calvados) which is a local product. It proved to be a good night cap !! We strongly recommend this B&B. You will find no better.

Room Tip: Book early - it is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at Castel Provence. The home itself is so full of history and Josette & Jean-Pierre are wonderful hosts. Jean-Pierre has wonderful stories to tell about the home and Josette is a wonderful cook.

We had the had the upstairs bedroom which was very comfortable and large. The view from the windows are wonderful over the garden.

Would recommend this B&B to all my friends and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This bed and breakfast is not only beautiful, but it has a very unique, special story. The building itself is very old, and located in the small medieval village of Ver Sur Mer, which is pretty much right along Gold Beach in Normandy. During the war, it served as German headquarters and after the D-day invasions, became an important British headquarter. The property is huge and the building is beautiful. The owners Jean Pierre and Josette, are natives of the region and are very friendly. Josette makes thirty different types of jams and marmalades, which she serves with croissants at breakfast (along with many other delicious things).
The room we stayed in was HUGE- much bigger and nicer than most hotels we have stayed at, and we had a lot of space. It was really nice. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Castel Provence for three nights on our drive through Northern France in April, 2011. It is located in Ver-Sur-Mer, a small town near the Arromanches D-Day sight. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom of this two room B&B. The highlights of our stay were: 1) the beautifully decorated and remodeled room and 2) the warmth, hospitality, and friendliness of the owners, Josette and Jean Pierre Bourry (Jean Pierre speaks excellent English). We enjoyed our discussions with Josette and Jean Pierre over breakfast every morning. Jean Pierre went out of his way to give us a walking tour of his vegetable garden and orchard and a driving tour of the countryside near the B&B. Of the five places we stayed at during our trip, our room at Castel Provence was the most comfortable. If you enjoy and value interaction with your French B&B hosts, a stay at Castel Provence is a must. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Pros:

- very warm, friendly, hospitable and helpful owners, Josette and Jean Pierre
- beautifully remodeled and decorated third floor bedroom with modern bathroom
- very cosy, spacious room: high ceilings, large rugs, wood furnishings, comfortable chairs, fresh flowers
- internet access in room
- large lush back yard
- discussions of life with Josette and Jean Pierre over the freshest breakfast (freshly squeezed orange juice & variety of fresh baked goods from bakery every morning)
- close to D-Day sights, especially Arromanches

Cons:

- a bit hard to find as the town of Ver-Sur-Mer has winding and narrow streets; our Garmin GPS gave us directions to the wrong house

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ver-sur-Mer
1.6 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
3.3 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
10.2 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
4.2 mi away
Hotel de Normandie
Hotel de Normandie
#5 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Provence

Address: 7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ver-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ver-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century manorhouse, situated in a park full of trees and flowers.Pleasant and comfortable 2 rooms.Delicious breakfasts with more types of homemade jam to choose.Internet in the rooms.Private car park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Provence Ver-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.