We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ver-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Provence
7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ver-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it and we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I agree with the previous "excellent" reviews to which I'll add my confirmation that:
1) Josette and Jean Pierre are wonderful hosts -- generous with their time, expertise and maps!
2) Josette's kitchen is a wonderful place -- full of good food and conversation.
3) The upstairs bedroom and bath are lovely. And the park with its gorgeous trees is heaven.
4) The area is a fascinating mixture of bucolic beauty and history.
Thank you Jean Pierre and Josette!
A bientot!

Room Tip: Garden room nice but upstairs room much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A charming property in large well maintained grounds tucked away in a quiet location. The French owners were very hospitable and extremely helpful with tourist advice. We stayed in the Garden Room with an en-suite (containing large shower cubicle) and small kitchen area with tea/ coffee making facilities, cooker and fridge. Tin of lovely biscuits a nice touch and there were a few basic items in the fridge e.g. water. Small writing desk handy. Very enjoyable typical French breakfast including freshly squeezed oranges and fresh strawberries/ fruit salad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Castel Provence is one of the great discoveries of B&B accommodation. Josette and Jean Pierre gave us a very warm welcome to their home. We stayed in the upstairs room which was comfortable , clean and very quiet. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast with Josette and Jean Pierre in the delightful kitchen which overlooks the garden. We felt we sampled a little of french life. It was a perfect base for seeing the coast and all D-Day landings. Josette was completely dedicated to making our stay a very happy one. Jean Pierre treated us to some apple brandy ( Calvados) which is a local product. It proved to be a good night cap !! We strongly recommend this B&B. You will find no better.

Room Tip: Book early - it is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at Castel Provence. The home itself is so full of history and Josette & Jean-Pierre are wonderful hosts. Jean-Pierre has wonderful stories to tell about the home and Josette is a wonderful cook.

We had the had the upstairs bedroom which was very comfortable and large. The view from the windows are wonderful over the garden.

Would recommend this B&B to all my friends and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This bed and breakfast is not only beautiful, but it has a very unique, special story. The building itself is very old, and located in the small medieval village of Ver Sur Mer, which is pretty much right along Gold Beach in Normandy. During the war, it served as German headquarters and after the D-day invasions, became an important British headquarter. The property is huge and the building is beautiful. The owners Jean Pierre and Josette, are natives of the region and are very friendly. Josette makes thirty different types of jams and marmalades, which she serves with croissants at breakfast (along with many other delicious things).
The room we stayed in was HUGE- much bigger and nicer than most hotels we have stayed at, and we had a lot of space. It was really nice. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Castel Provence for three nights on our drive through Northern France in April, 2011. It is located in Ver-Sur-Mer, a small town near the Arromanches D-Day sight. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom of this two room B&B. The highlights of our stay were: 1) the beautifully decorated and remodeled room and 2) the warmth, hospitality, and friendliness of the owners, Josette and Jean Pierre Bourry (Jean Pierre speaks excellent English). We enjoyed our discussions with Josette and Jean Pierre over breakfast every morning. Jean Pierre went out of his way to give us a walking tour of his vegetable garden and orchard and a driving tour of the countryside near the B&B. Of the five places we stayed at during our trip, our room at Castel Provence was the most comfortable. If you enjoy and value interaction with your French B&B hosts, a stay at Castel Provence is a must. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip.

Pros:

- very warm, friendly, hospitable and helpful owners, Josette and Jean Pierre
- beautifully remodeled and decorated third floor bedroom with modern bathroom
- very cosy, spacious room: high ceilings, large rugs, wood furnishings, comfortable chairs, fresh flowers
- internet access in room
- large lush back yard
- discussions of life with Josette and Jean Pierre over the freshest breakfast (freshly squeezed orange juice & variety of fresh baked goods from bakery every morning)
- close to D-Day sights, especially Arromanches

Cons:

- a bit hard to find as the town of Ver-Sur-Mer has winding and narrow streets; our Garmin GPS gave us directions to the wrong house

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We loved Castel Provence and we loved Normandy! Truly, Josette and Jean Pierre could not have been more happy, thoughtful hosts. I cannot express enough how wonderful the house was, how beautiful the grounds were, and how the hosts made us feel welcome and comfortable. It was hands down the best place we stayed during our long honeymoon in France. We highly recommend Castel Provence to anyone in the area. The price was more than reasonable for the personal touches and attention to detail. Thank you Josette & Jean Pierre!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castel Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Provence

Address: 7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ver-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ver-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century manorhouse, situated in a park full of trees and flowers.Pleasant and comfortable 2 rooms.Delicious breakfasts with more types of homemade jam to choose.Internet in the rooms.Private car park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Provence Ver-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castel Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castel Provence to your Saves list