We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value food. Superb service and nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skylark

Skylark
West Park, Wellington, England
01823 618979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value food. Superb service and nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Travelodge on the way to Cornwall. After reading the reviews of The Skylark we searched around elsewhere first but couldn't locate an alternative restaurant within walking distance. We needn't have worried. The Skylark was busy with a friendly atmosphere. The food was served quickly and was superb for the price you pay. No complaints and would return if passing again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    75
    48
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

didnt know weather they were running table service so had to order at the bar, food was average. took over half an hour to clear the table because the waitress was cleaning all the other tables around us. when we said were gonna think about puddings she said "I'll be back in a minute to take your order then", 5 minutes later she takes the food order for another table in the restaraunt so we just left

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spectacularly Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited on a rainy Saturday lunchtime, so it wasn't a surprise that it was busy.
At first look the meals look expensive, but as all meals are 2 for 1 it didn't work out too badly.
My Nan and son both had a gammon steak which was succulent and beautifully cooked, my Mum had Chicken and mushroom pie, it had far too much brandy in the sauce which overpowered the whole dish. Her seasonal vegetables were dreadfully undercooked. My enchiladas were quite tasty but there was little substance to them, and I was still hungry at the end.
Overall, it's not a bad family meal, but don't expect to be wowed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soup was cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just been there recently this month March and its my first time to go there. The lady in the bar was friendly. When we get there, still quiete, just few people around when we ordered the food. We sat near a window and the table was not clean and takes more than 1 hour waiting for the food, my soup was cold and sent it back to reheated and taste like tin soup. my main course was dry. My friends food was dried and cold too. Sorry i will not going back there again and cant recommend at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good service, chef presented well and every item cooked to perfection from a"fill up fast" menu, not a bad achievement to get a party of 12 diners orders right first time without a single moan from the group.
Would highly recommend as an alternative to a Hungry horse pub chain. The Skylark will be getting our return custom on a regular basis

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylark also viewed

Wellington, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 

Been to Skylark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.