We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country cottage B+b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Staple Cross | Hockworthy, Wellington TA21 0NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Wellington B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely country cottage B+b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 via mobile

Lovely bed and breakfast in a beautiful area of rural Somerset. The owners were incredibly kind and helpful. The room was clean and well decorated / furnished. Only spent one night here but would have happily stayed for longer, and it would be a great place to base yourself to explore the local area.

Highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at Staplecross for a weekend break and it was perfect. Monica and Roy were first rate hosts and the cottage was beautifull. We had the double room which was decorated and furnished to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfy and an excellent shower.
Breakfast was perfect and my husband even had a kipper (rarely seen on a menu these days).The dining room looked out onto the garden and we could watch the birds as we ate.
The pub, conveniently right next door served an excellent home cooked meal and the surrounding area had plenty to visit.
We will definately return and would recommend to all who want a lovely peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithgow NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I have stayed at Staplecross Cottage on all of my annual visits to the UK from Australia and can state unreservedly that this is the finest B&B that I have found anywhere in the UK with the best of accommodation and facilities, and the most charming pair of hosts prepared to help their guests in any way possible. I cannot recommend this lovely home more highly tan to say that I shall return myself as often as possible.

Yours Randle WJ Walker randlewaker@dodo.com.au

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Being a regular visitor on business to Wellington, I have found a real gem of a top rate Bed and Breakfast in the lovely rural village of Hockworthy, just outside of Wellington ,Somerset. Monica and Roy are first rate hosts, with particular attention to detail, from very well fitted rooms to the first class breakfast.
I cannot speak highly enough of this lovely B + B, and always look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at this great b&b as a stop-over on our way down to Cornwall.Monica and Roy were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Staple Cross cottage itself has been beautifully renovated to a very high standard,maintaining many of the original features.Our bedroom was very comfortable with every possible need being catered for to include a mini fridge outside our door and a selection of dvd's to watch.
The breakfast was served in a delightful and spacious dining room where we had our deicious breakfast.
The big bonus was not having to drive our car for a really good meal as the pub close by.
We give this b&b 5stars and if you decide to stay you will NOT be disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Staple Cross | Hockworthy, Wellington TA21 0NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious West Country bed and breakfast located on the Devon-Somerset borders amidst beautiful countryside. Immaculate guest rooms full of character in this former 18th century coaching stables (1 twin & 1 double). There is also the added bonus of a great Inn right by for evening meals. The M5 motorway is only a short drive away making it easy to reach a multitude of destinations during your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast Wellington, Somerset, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.