We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique airport Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Mazzini, 63, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Malpensa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Boutique airport Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was expecting the normal airport hotel experience, but this hotel looks and feels like a boutique hotel. The rooms were very nice and the beds and pillows are incredible.The staff was over the top, great to us. This hotel made our last night in Italy very smooth and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Brunobobb,
thank you for your positive comments about our hotel.
We hope to have you here again very soon for future occasions.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    112
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
56
107
24
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel during Milan furniture fair. I chose it because it had much better price than hotels in the city (during this week), there is shuttle bus from the hotel to the airport and there is shuttle bus (€10 one way) from the airport to the RHO Fiera.
The biggest weakness I found was shuttle bus. From the hotel it goes every hour only. When you are at the airport, you call reception for it. The way takes 20 minutes, so generally it is 40 minutes to get to your room from the airport. Sometimes happened that there was not enough seats in the bus from the airport, so we had to wait long, long time!
I made reservation of twin room, but get double room. Because I went with a friend I didn´t changed it. Beds are big and comfy.
I was confused about room cleaning. Housekeeper threw my pyjamas on the bed side table every day. I´ve not seen that in any hotel.
In the morning, before I left room, I assembled business cards on the table. When I came back in the evening it was put aside in horrible mess.
Last thing was about my face cream. Despite it was gone, I left it closed in the bathroom. When I came back, it was opened! I asked my friend if he saw it closed. He ensured me, that I left it closed.
Rooms are ok, internet connection works well.
For breakfast you can choose: ham, cheese, cereals, eggs, sausages, mushroom, cakes, yoghurts...
Dinners in the restaurant were ok and the staff is really nice and friendly.
Despite the staff at the reception. They didn´t give a smile all four days we stayed in.
This might be good hotel to stay overnight, but no longer (if you don´t have your car).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jina V,
thank you for your review about our hotel.
We have a free shuttle service on call at the arrival at the airport 24/7, the waiting time depends on where is exactly the shuttle when the Guests call. It can be immediately there if the shuttle is on the way to the airport or it can take more time if it has just left the airport so it has to arrive at the hotel, leave other Guests on the shuttle and come back to the airport. For this reason we suggest to our Guests to call the shuttle at the luggages claim to reduce the waiting time of the shuttle.
During the furniture fair, as you have seen, there was a very high occupancy so this has extended the waiting time at the airport. We have added in this special occasion external shuttle service at our expenses but the request was very high so the Guests waiting time have been longer than usual.
About the housekeeping matters this is the first time that happens so we are investigating on this to have major details.

Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel last weekend as a stop over for Malpensa Airport. We made use of the free shuttle, rang them when we picked up our luggage and the driver arrived in about 10 minutes (It was 9pm on a Saturday evening). Drive to the hotel was exactly 7 minutes (we timed it to plan our transfer time back!) To dial the hotel from a UK mobile you need to hold the '0' button on your phone to get the '+' at the beginning of the number. The kind man at the taxi place showed me! On arrival we were greeted by name by a really lovely helpful man on reception (did not catch his name but he mentioned he was Argentinian!). The room was small but comfy and the bed was massive. There was a flat screen TV which showed BBC1 plus English films. My husband was dissappointed as the bathroom only had a shower and no bath. But it had this fab sensor night light which was blue and green and didn't hurt your eyes when you went to the bathroom in the night. Breakfast was good and you can order eggs or omelettes plus there is a hot and cold buffet. There is a Gym with new equipment and a 'laundry room' with washing machines, dryers and Irons. There is also a 'Kitchen' with a microwave. You can purchase food from the vending machines to cook or for your room which is handy (although to be honest the microwave food didn't look very appertizing!). We will definitely be staying here again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Higham1,
thank you for your review about Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa hotel.
To reply about the shower or bath preference we have also rooms with bath available but this has to be requested (on availability).

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

sometimes (rarely nowadays) you find these hotels that you really like. This hotel is not perfect but I'll give my pro:s and cons:

Pro:s
Friendly Staff
Nice and renovated/new-ish hotel
Excellent breakfast (really lovely)
Nice Italian food for dinner

Cons:s
Location, a bit too far from Malpensa and too far from Milano

Will I stay here again? Possibly, but most likely only for a night before flying from MXP

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jonas W,
thank you for your review about the property.
The hotel is 7 km. from the airport but is also not far from the Lake Maggiore, for this reason we suggest our Guests to stay one night more... to visit beautiful places on the lake, Varese city or also Milan city that is about 40 minutes by car but easily reacheable through Malpensa Express, the train from Malpensa airport to Milan city center.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very helpful staff. Very polite and professional. Spoke English very well. Breakfast service was great. Front desk very helpful as well as the bar service. Very convenient for drives to the airport and to the Lakes. Right off the main road and easy parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear James L,
thank you for the time to write positive comments about us.
We hope to see you here again for future occasions.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A very nice end to a wonderful European vacation. Stayed at this hotel due to price and location to the airport. Room was clean and comfortable. Very quiet. Check in service was excellent and felt very welcomed, however checkout was not as friendly and not very helpful. Would definitely stay at this property again should the need arise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear jillt602,
thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We hope to have you here again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at this Hilton for one night before a very early flight at MXP. While the room was very clean, albeit a bit on the small side, it was just an overnight, so it worked out great. The problems began, however, at check in. There were several ladies at the desk, and to be honest, they were the nastiest people we had encountered during three weeks of Italy! They spoke English fluently, however, maybe it would have been better if they didn't, as we wouldn't know how unfriendly they were. Honestly, they were so condescending it was a huge turnoff. Just an example, the room info said they sold stamps at the desk. When I went down and asked, the lady looked at me and said, "We don't have any." and walked away! I am happy to report that the next morning, I asked a gentleman at the front desk again for stamps and he nicely told me they were out, but he would be happy to see my postcards were mailed later that day. HUGE difference!
We had returned our rental car, only to find the hotel was not close to any other restaurant, so we ate there and the service was good and prices reasonable for a captive audience. The shuttle also ran just fine the next morning. Warning: the shuttle only runs on the hour and only has 8 spots. Book it upon check in, we are glad we did! We left too early to have breakfast, which was not included anyway. All in all, this could have been a five rating, but honestly, the rudeness and unfriendliness of ALL the ladies at the front desk ruined it from the minute we walked in. Who did they think they were???????

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear DFWMOM,
thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are very disappointed to read that you have found this kind of problems because the staff courtesy is one the most important things for us.
We are investigating to see what happens to understand in a detailed way if there is something we can do to avoid this kind of inconvenients.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa

Address: Via G. Mazzini, 63, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Malpensa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Somma Lombardo
#2 Business Hotel in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, thanks to its location near the Airport and the business and leisure attractions, is the best solution for a comfortable and pleasant stay. Many free facilities are at Guest disposal, such as the 24/7 Shuttle from/to the Airport, Internet Connection, Business Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Somma Lombardo
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa Italy/Somma Lombardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.