We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G. Mazzini, 63, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Malpensa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Jefferson, GA, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would definitely stay at this hotel when in the Milan area. Service was excellent, Hotel was spotless. People were friendly. Shuttle bus to and from airport was very helpful. Typical Hilton experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Dana D,
fantastic comments on our property.
We hope to have you soon again.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    111
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
56
106
24
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice lobby and reception staff ok. I was allocated a Room right at the end of the building on the fourth floor around a corner. I felt like I was retiring in a chambermaid's cupboard. I had to switch on light to feel comfortable. Just an average room nothing spectacular for Hilton. Ok for a short stay near MXP Airport. I suppose $$$ is a good deal... ( my company picks up the bill) Cleanliness Ok beside a few ladie's hair in the bidet. Air condition rather on the weak side. I like to sleep in a cool room but aircond did not cool enough (~22c). Four bottles of mineral water in the fridge free of charge was highly appreciated
Nothing worth in the surroundings within walking distance.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Zebulon_B747,
thank you for your review on our property.
If you will be here next time you can reach with a walking distance the Visconti Castle beautiful to see or you can take free of charge our bycicles and reach beautiful tracks on the Ticino Park or nearby.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn near the Milan, Malpensa Airport is very new and a "Standard American" business grade hotel; it's a Hilton. You won't get a too much of a taste of Italy staying here, but the hotel is situated near enough to the airport that it offers a complimentary van to and from the airport and makes a great location for that last night in Italy before a morning flight out.

The rate I got, ~$95/nigh,t was a deal and the room was new, fresh and well furnished with comfy bed. Bar was standard American hotel bar and the on premises restaurant was just fine for a laid back evening after a long day's travel to get there.

Driving to the hotel is not hard, the directions however leave a lot to be desired, once you've done it, it seems simple, but road signage between the Autostrada and the hotel was not too great.

Definitely would recommend for a good, hassle free, quality place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear pcroft51,
thank you for your beautiful comments on your stay at our property.
You are right about the directional signages on the way from/to the highway that is not so good but unfortunately for them there are rules that can'be skip.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great hotel within a ten minute drive of Malpensa. Very helpful, English speaking staff. Clean room and bathroom. Great hairdryer in the bathroom which is something rarely seen in Italy. Dual voltage power outlets. The price/value was so good that were able to book two rooms instead of two beds in one room. It is about a 45 minute drive to Milano Centro so if you are spending a few days here I would recommend staying closer to the city and that is the only reason this hotel gets a 4 instead of a 5. However, if you are trying to be near the airport for an easy departure, you can't beat this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KeenaM3,
thank you for your positive review on our hotel and our services.
You are right to write that our hotel is not so near to Milan city centre but can be a good choice for a traveler who want to visit not only Milan but also the closest lakes Maggiore and Orta and the beautiful province of Varese.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We enjoyed a quiet surrounding near, but away from the Milan airport. The hotel is new and provided all of the amenities we needed. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. We would definitely recommend this hotel when looking for a hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Skyla12,
thank you very much for your positive review.
We hope to have you soon again at our property for another good experience!

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent value for Milan vacation; everything for family incl nice breakfast, super laundry and fitness facilities, and great staff. No compliants, everthing looked clean and brand new. Distance to Milan would be a concern if you don't have your car! It was perfect for us...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
thank you for your review on our hotel.
We hope to have you again at our property for your next stays here in Malpensa Area.

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Everything worked, and the atmosphere and service were pleasant. For an airport hotel, surely this equals success?

Our evening shuttle from the waiting area outside of Malpensa Terminal 2 (beware the crazed swarm of hungry mosquitoes) was prompt and comfortable. Our Hilton Garden Inn Suite - with an additional bathroom and beds in two connecting rooms - was ideal for two adults and two teenage sons. We hadn't anticipated watching BBC1 television on satellite whilst in Italy, but the in-room viewing choice was vast and impressive. We were all thirsty following our flights, and there was complimentary mineral water chilling in the fridge. We wanted to freshen up, and the modern bathroom and Neutrogena toiletries left us squeaky clean. Public areas in the hotel were smart and well-maintained, we ate very well in the bar after hours, and the breakfast was abundant, with options to suit global tastes. Our sons were particularly taken with the Hilton Garden Inn 'sleep system' beds, which allow you to turn a lever and adjust the firmness or softness of the mattress to achieve the perfect setting.

The hotel was no more than ten minutes drive from MXP, but the suburban setting added to the feeling of calm and lent more local character than airport hotels usually possess.

We paid 150 Euros, which included four breakfasts and all taxes and airport transfers. This felt reasonable for the quality of the services we received.

Room Tip: If you have older children, the suite rooms accommodate a family of four, whilst offering privacy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGI_Milan_Malpensa, Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear EdwaltonCavalier,
thank you for your positive review on our property.
We are very happy to have you offered a good service and a good experience.
See you next time!

Kind Regards,
Chiara Bonacina
Web Mkt.-Revenue-Booking & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa

Address: Via G. Mazzini, 63, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Malpensa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Somma Lombardo
#2 Business Hotel in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, thanks to its location near the Airport and the business and leisure attractions, is the best solution for a comfortable and pleasant stay. Many free facilities are at Guest disposal, such as the 24/7 Shuttle from/to the Airport, Internet Connection, Business Center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Somma Lombardo
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa Italy/Somma Lombardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.