We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel run on the cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport to your Saves list
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove (Va), 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Airport hotel run on the cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Tempted to say it is a cheap hotel but at E70 plus mini bar at E10 it is not low cost. Wifi Is an extra E7 plus a daily fee for parking. Free Shuttle bus to/from Malpensa works as promised. Breakfast is included and is adequate but it is one of those where you need to keep your eyes peeled on the serving lady as some trays are empty which she eventually refills and then are promptly emptied. Rooms are clean but beat up. Bed ok. Noise not a problem. Bathroom fine and large flat screen tv in front of bed works once you figure out how to turn it on. Has English channels. There must be something better at Maplensa but this hotel is ok for an over nite at airport. But do not look forward to going back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    290
    219
    117
    94
See reviews for
215
235
58
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is rubbish. Service is horrid it's expensive the food tastes like paper the staff is rude. If I burned what I paid for the room to keep me warm as I slept on the street id be much happier. Do not stay here stay anywhere else

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Hotel Idea was a good idea which suffers from execution. The grounds are unkempt, the fountain is full of algae, the staff appears to do you a favor by allowing you to stay overnight, the walls in the rooms are scuffed and the veneer on the furnishings is pulling away. The shuttle from the terminal runs on a schedule, and if you arrive midday (between 11 am and 6 pm), you have to take a cab. The room is clean and so is the bathroom (but we had to ask for soap). The included breakfast is very good. Internet is free only in the lobby, where they offer keyboards on which the letters have been mostly worn off and computers with seriously outdated programs. One of the best things about this hotel is that is close to a very nice local restaurant (Sanmarcanda, rated separately) where you can enjoy a nice meal and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is really good… They deserve very high marks. Rooms, breakfast, service – all is good. Nice people at the front desk ( you are lucky if you meet there Michele or Ennio!).But…
You must be prepared for some unusual trick. The hotel is good – it's one story, but to be sure I am right on that you must get to the hotel from the airport Malpensa. When you read info on the hotel's (or all the others) site you see very comforting words : they have got an airport shuttle. One more BUT: when you book your flight check the time you land at Malpensa, because actually the hotel's airport shuttle works ONLY till 10:30 in the morning and after 6 PM in the evening. It was my experience in May 2014 (room 201).
Try your best to be in Malpensa in the morning or after 6 PM. If you can't make it there is one more problem. The only transportation to the hotel is a taxi cab. The distance is about 3 miles (or 5 km), but sly local taxi drivers know «the shuttle trick» and they will be happy to bring you to the Idea Hotel just for… 60 or 70 euros. Which is more than a rip off.
So, if you want to stay at the decent and very good Idea Hotel, please make a good home work and get there when their shuutle is in service.
alftul

Room Tip: as for me all the rooms are good because of a nice aura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I read some comments about the hotel being within a walking distance to Malpensa! well it's not the case.It stated that you have free internet access but that is only in the lobby and only on the 3desktops they have.The wifi is very costly,especially that I booked that hotel to get some sleep before my next tiring flight. Not worth to pay 7euro for 2hours use! no free water available and every thing in the minibar is overpriced.The room walls were stained.I enjoyed the shower though and had a quiet few hours sleep.My advice is to book this hotel just to get some rest don't expect anything else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is probably the closest hotel you can find nearby to both Terminals of Malpensa Airport, except the expensive one located just in front of the hub.
You'll get 7 minutes sharp by car from the hotel to the Terminal 1; they offer also a cheap and convenient "airport taxi service" to go to the airport in case you don't have your car or decide to leave it there.
It is ideal for those who need to stay overnight not far from the hub.
Booking service, checkout and reception desk were excellent and the room was clean and fine.
According to my experience, everything but the noise was ok.
My room was located in fact on the front side of the hotel and every hour the bell of the next-to-the-hotel church woke me up.
What is more, the street ground was not firm and loud every time one car was passing.
My personal advise is asking for one room located on the back side to the reception and not to forget to carry ear caps with you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A client booked my into a suite at this dump. He actually told me he stayed here and it was "nice". Upon arrival, there had to be 20 people ahead of me in line, with one besieged desk clerk on duty.

When I got to the front of the line, it took him at least 7 minutes to find my prepaid reservation. I headed up to my "suite" only to find a minuscule room with two double beds. I went back downstairs- he said, "oh, sorry". Went back up to the same type of room this time with a king bed. Oh well, I said, it's only for the night. Went to log onto the internet-, had to go back down for the password, and a 7 Euro charge PER DEVICE for 24 hours. Came back upstairs to work a little and was sweating. Each time I put the A/C on, it shut off. Back down to the front desk I went, only to find out the A/C is controlled wholly by them, NOT by the controller in your room.

The bed and pillows are rock hard, and the walls are totally stained and dirty. The room though was clean enough, except maybe for the large cockroach that greeted me upon my return from dinner. Oh, about dinner, don't eat in the overpriced restaurant in the hotel. Right outside the hotel is a very decent local pizzeria, frequented by locals..it was fine..but much better than the hotel.

When I came back to my room, (and the cockroach greeting), it was freezing. I had to go back down to the front desk, wait ten minutes for their next line to clear, to tell them to make it warmer in there.

There has to be a reason this hotel is rated #7 of 7 in this town. If I were you, pay 10Euro more and stay elsewhere. Next time, I will for sure.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the airport side where I am- Church bells ring every hour and you hear the planes tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove (Va), 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.