We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea Hotel Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Save Saved
You added Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove (Va), 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Somma Lombardo
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Idea Hotel Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel and was beyond satisfied. I had a layover before leaving for Athens. This hotel is close to the Milan Milpensa airport, offered shuttle service free and included a great breakfast. The hotel was clean & modern, very comfortable with great staff. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    238
    159
    86
    64
See reviews for
163
169
39
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel because it was very close to Malpensa Airport and we just needed a place to sleep for a couple of hours. The experience wasn't very exciting. The rooms were a bit dated. Our first room had a broken window and a completely wrecked curtain rail - how did anyone not notice this?! The shower was filthy with mould all over the top part of the ceiling. This was also the longest check-in ever! It took the guy 20 minutes to check us in! We were also given the wrong information. When we landed again to Malpensa, we were told that the complimentary shuttle bus was going to be there - instead it started at 2pm! Oh ... I almost forgot; the shuttle bus was late in the morning so we almost missed our flight. It was not a good start and ending to a holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night due ot its proximity to the airport and the price of €58 a night.

I had a perfectly comfortable stay.

The free shuttle bus was most welcome, whilst being only 1.5Km form the airport there is NO chance to walk there and gettign a taxi to take you can be tricky

A very warm welcome and quickly in my room. Thereupon I found a few bits and pieces missing...
1) a lampshade missing, from the three globe cluster of lights, the main lights for the room.. no bulb in the broken globe, potentially electrically hazardous. `It also left the room a touch dark
2) missing bedside light next to the bed
3) only one pillow despite there being two double beds.. and no sign of another pillow anywhere.
4) the tv remote, whilst you could change chnnels, you had no control over volume or on/off.
5) the bathroom. Immaculate but... no shower curtain, which for an over the bath shower seemed mad, and as expected resulted in a very large puddle on the bathroom floor after each of my 2 showers.

Internet connect by wife is too weak, oh and note - mobile phone signals are not good in this building.

Breakfast was comprehensive is not particularly to my taste.. scrambled eggs being clearly from a packet...!

However you get what you pay for. I got good service and a good nights sleep despite the quirkiness of the room facillities, and though adjacent to the airport, I never heard a thing...
However the poor internet and phone signal made working in the room impossible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Idea Hotel is OK value; standard hotel new clean and close to major international airport.
Few experiences majorly detracted from our visit:

- Our room had no toilet paper or tissues upon arrival, and when we asked the tissues had run out!

- Similar to several airport hotels, part of the attraction is the free shuttle.
Our first experience left us very disappointed & frustrated and wishing we had not prepaid - I had emailed to confirm exactly where the bus comes & received a prompt reply (terminal 1, outside gate 7 arrivals). Upon arrival and given had wife and 2 young children (& luggage) in tow, I rang to reconfirm where and when - was glad to have confirmed location but had a 40 minute wait.

Upon waiting 50 mins and another 2 phone calls to reception, was advised pick up is terminal 1 departures gate 16!!! We rushed up only to miss the bus by 30 seconds and tried to wave it down... Another phone call to reception gave us a glimmer of hope - she would ask the driver to come back or we could wait for the next hourly pick up, now in 50 mins! Another 15 mins later, I rang to confirm if this had occurred, and was advised to wait on the phone

Shuttle only returned due to being full from the previous trip not because of receptions request. Very disappointing.

Almost 2 hour wait for a 1.5 km shuttle ride!! Exactly what you need after 24 hours of flying from Melbourne with 2 kids 6 & under and in the cold of november night.

For full disclosure, we did ask a taxi at the airport rank to bring us but they refused given the short ride...

Take away these incidents and I can see how this place be very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

It is a typical 4 star Hotel near the airport.
A little difficult to find from the airport.
The room is good but the air condition was working all the night and i dont find a way to stop.
Breakfast is typical.
For one night it's an ok Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room given on my first visit was perfect, everything worked....5 nights later, after checking in at 10.30pm, first room given to me had broken toilet roll holder, broken bed head lamps - just dangling, curtains not working, phone not working, so had to go down to reception. Was allocated another room...reception guy said there was not much choice left...so was given another room, tv didn't work, also broken bed head lamp.....i gave up!

Have concluded, check in earlier in the afternoon...

hotel is too busy....often had to wait at reception, even late at night...

prebook a seat on the free shuttle bus, which operates limited hours...often it is full esp the 6pm (first in pm) and 10am (last in morning)...boot of the minibus is too small for luggage of passengers, so on 2 occasions, I've had to lift my luggage (luckily small) into minibus with me.

Location is not that close to Malpensa airport - so the free shuttle bus is a good idea - but hotel should either get a bigger shuttle bus and/or increase hours of operation. Tell guests they should reserve seats on the shuttle bus.

Room Tip: Check in early in the afternoon, make sure everything in your room works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

First room we were given was warm and the air conditioner did not work. After several trips to the front desk (because he would not answer the phone) we were given another room. First room had broken lamps by the bed just dangling from the wall. Curtains were broken and would not keep light out. Carpets in hallway were filthy and walls were beat up. Second room had same exact issues (curtains and lamps broken) but at least the air conditioning worked. The hotel looks fairly new but also looks like there has never been any maintenance performed on it. Complaints to manager fell on deaf ears. He insists that the hotel is clean and sparkly. This was represented as a 4 star hotel on the booking site. It is clearly a 1 star hotel Beware.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove (Va), 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.