We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel at a bargain price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Bellavista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Bellavista to your Saves list
Albergo Bellavista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montalbano 61, 51030 San Baronto, Lamporecchio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Baronto
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel at a bargain price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

We spent a week in Bellavista in September 2008. The hotel, ran by very friendly Giuseppe, exceeded most expectations.

It is located in a village on a mountain (accessed by a windy road - great views, but drive carefully), with the hotel pool (small, clean) overlooking a pretty valley. Very good spot if you travel by car, because it is only an hour drive to either Pisa or Florence. No own hotel parking, but we always managed to find a space in the street.

At the time of our stay some of the hotel had already been freshly redecorated, with our room unfortunately still on the to do list. Although a bit used, it was very clean and quiet.

Giuseppe the owner is very friendly and helpful, being around at most times if you need anything.

Last, but not least - the food is spectacular. The included breakfast is an all you can eat buffet with delicious local breads, meats and cheeses and the restaurant serves rather nice dinners, too (there are some other restaurants in the village, with slightly better value for money).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
52
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We were very, very, VERY pleased with our choice of the BellaVista. We had read that Guiseppe, the proprietor, was well known for his hospitality. We were not disappointed. He was constantly in motion serving his guests, yet he always had time to give ear to our needs or questions and never made us feel like we were in any way an inconvenience. "One little thing that is not right bothers me," he said.

We arrived at the hotel just hours after our mom had sprained her ankle and, although we had reserved the spacious quad suite (sleeps 6), he suggested that we also take a smaller room for them for no extra fee because it was closer to the elevator. So, while his hotel was fully-booked, my sister and I slept in the massive suite quad all by ourselves while our parents had a room they needed close to the lift.

We found the Albergo Restaurant in the courtyard to have excellent food and service - and Guiseppe was there again - waiting on his guests and very efficient.

We loved our stay here because of the propietor, Guiseppe. He made us feel like we were visiting friends in Tuscany. If there is a man who was truly born for owning a hotel, it has to be he. The gift he has for true hospitality you find very rarely today.

The quad room suite was very spacious and comfortable, the pool was great - especially at night with an AMAZING VIEW, the terraced grounds held lovely surprises around every corner, and the hotel had the same - art and antiques tucked here and there than added to the home feel.

After his long, busy, exhausting day, Guiseppe sat down across the desk from us and spent an hour chatting with us until almost midnight - just simply because he was interested in his guests. We told him about ourselves and our business... and he was interested to hear about it!

We really were sorry to leave the next morning. We had only booked one night enroute through Tuscany, but we wished we had planned longer here. Guiseppe never said anything to us about a checkout time. In fact, he wanted us to stay longer to enjoy the pool.

Check our photos and movies posted to meet Guiseppe and to see the hotel. We paid 85 EUR for a night in the quad. A double is only 56 EUR.

I have a lot of photos and a movie posted; however, they are under Bella Vista under Lamporecchio (the actual little town BellaVista is in) which is very near San Baronto.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were very, very, VERY pleased with our choice of the BellaVista. We had read that Guiseppe, the proprietor, was well known for his hospitality. We were not disappointed. He was constantly in motion serving his guests, yet he always had time to give ear to our needs or questions and never made us feel like we were in any way an inconvenience. "One little thing that is not right bothers me," he said.

We arrived at the hotel just hours after our mom had sprained her ankle and, although we had reserved the spacious quad suite (sleeps 6), he suggested that we also take a smaller room for them for no extra fee because it was closer to the elevator. So, while his hotel was fully-booked, my sister and I slept in the massive suite quad all by ourselves while our parents had a room they needed close to the lift.

We found the Albergo Restaurant in the courtyard to have excellent food and service - and Guiseppe was there again - waiting on his guests and very efficient.

We loved our stay here because of the propietor, Guiseppe. He made us feel like we were visiting friends in Tuscany. If there is a man who was truly born for owning a hotel, it has to be he. The gift he has for true hospitality you find very rarely today.

The quad room suite was very spacious and comfortable, the pool was great - especially at night with an AMAZING VIEW, the terraced grounds held lovely surprises around every corner, and the hotel had the same - art and antiques tucked here and there than added to the home feel.

After his long, busy, exhausting day, Guiseppe sat down across the desk from us and spent an hour chatting with us until almost midnight - just simply because he was interested in his guests. We told him about ourselves and our business... and he was interested to hear about it!

We really were sorry to leave the next morning. We had only booked one night enroute through Tuscany, but we wished we had planned longer here. Guiseppe never said anything to us about a checkout time. In fact, he wanted us to stay longer to enjoy the pool.

Check our photos and movies posted to meet Guiseppe and to see the hotel. We paid 85 EUR for a night in the quad. A double is only 56 EUR. Their addie is [--].

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

I stayed at the Bella Vista for eight days in September of 2008 while on an extended tour of Europe. The beautiful hilltop location, between Pistoia and Vinci, the delicious food, both at the Bella Vista and in the neighborhood, and, most of all, the hotel staff, made this place the highlight of my tour. It was also the least expensive room of my trip! It's not without a reason that these Trip Advisor reviews all mention Giuseppi, the host at Albergo Bella Vista. He epitomizes Italian hospitality, cheerfulness and generousity.

I stayed in the front building so I had the modern glass elevator at my disposal, so my sister's disability was no problem. The breakfast buffet was the highlight of each day, fresh breads, fried eggs, wonderful proscuitto and cappucinos made to order by Giuseppi. Each morning we faced a decision, "Should we catch the early bus or eat the breakfast?" The breakfast always won!

The downside is transportation. We used the bus exclusively and the schedule is less than comprehensive, especially on Sunday. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel, which helps. We were still able to make day trips to Pistoia, Empoli, Siena, Firenze and Viareggio. We just had to be sure we got back in time to catch the last bus to San Baronto. I'll probably rent a car next time. I can't imagine returning to Toscana and not staying here. Thank You Giuseppe!!!

  • Liked — The staff, the view and the food, both at the hotel and in the neighborhood
  • Disliked — the public transportation schedule
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

I was on a vacation with my parents and my brother. We flew in from London to Rome. We hired a car there and drove to Pisa and then to San Baronto since we were keen on visiting Vinci.
We stayed at BellaVista for 2 days. We really loved the view, and most of all, the people and their hospitality, especially Guiseppe. He's such a friendly and pleasant person.
The rooms are spacious and well kept. The view from the terrace and the terrace pool is truly amazing. We ate dinner at the restaurant. The dinner was lovely with the prefect ambience and the dessert that night was crepe ( Guiseppe's own recipe of crepe ). Breakfast the next morning was continental with a large variety to choose from. Guiseppe gave us a bottle of wine before we left.
You should make it a point to visit the Vinci museum. San Baronto is a small town, a great place to go to if you want to get away from a busy city life. I would definitely go back to San Baronto.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I got a cheap flight to Pisa on Ryanair and looked for accomodation in Central Tuscany to visit Siena, Florence and Pisa.We hired a car and drove there where we stayed a week. From the very start we were treated like royalty in this inexpensive but wonderfully located hotel by Guiseppe who could not do more for us throughout our stay. The room was basic but clean and the view...... The pool and terrace were clean and to have the owner come up on a hot afternoon with a free ice cream 'because it is hot' .......Take the train to visit the cities from Empoli and do get a beer at the cafe next door where they are just as friendly...you get to use their shaded terrace with great views and nothing but locals discussing world events!!! A lift is being installed but may not solve the problem of the stairs entirely and the towels could be thicker!!
Just a little warning..there are clearly other hotels with the same name in the region and we met people who had gone to the wrong one.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Liverpool, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

We initially booked to go to Florence for a long weekend and decided it wasnt enough so we booked a week in the mountains of Tuscany. We honestly could not have picked a better place.
We stayed monday to saturday and it was one of the best weeks we ever had.
We were welcomed by Guiseppe, probably one of the kindest and most genuine people on the planet. He could not do enough for us. We even chose which room we wanted! How often does that happen?!
The room was big enough for the 2 of us, very clean and all we needed. The shower was hot and the bed was comfortable.
The views from the terrace were breathtaking and the view from the pool was equally as impressive. It is quite high on the mountain side and overlooks what seemed to be all of Tuscany. The views at night with all the lights in the distance were beautiful.
The hotel has its own restaurant which seems to be family-run. The prices for food and wine are extremely reasonable. We ate there every night. We were never disappointed (except for when we felt ill through eating too much!) One of the dishes, a mushroom & garlic pasta, was one of the best meals I have ever tasted. Even thinking about it makes my mouth water! The wine is all of local origin, as is the meat and vegetables.
Guiseppe, the manager/owner, was friendly and kind to all of his guests and was often seen giving presents to people such as bottles of wine or free drinks with their meal. We ourselves were given a bottle of wine on departure as well as a free bottle with our meal one evening!
You will definetly need a car if you are not going to laze around. The birth place of Leonardo da Vinci is just down the road, we visited there ourselves. And a drive to Maranello is well worth it but takes a couple of hours.
We will definetly be going back. It is the perfect place to laze around by the pool on a hot Italian day looking at the amazing view.

  • Liked — The views and the service
  • Disliked — nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Bellavista

Address: Via Montalbano 61, 51030 San Baronto, Lamporecchio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Lamporecchio > San Baronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Baronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Bellavista San Baronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.