We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Alla Corte del Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Alla Corte del Sole to your Saves list
Relais Alla Corte del Sole
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   loc. Giorgi, 06061 Petrignano, Castiglione del Lago, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petrignano
Winchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Garden paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

In the fall we were able to sample grapes, figs, pomegranate, dates and apples right off the trees. Beautiful setting. I would give this place all 5's if there was more attention to detail. Pool had been neglected and water was green, our hot water only worked at low flow and became cold at high flow. We had a wonderful meal at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    15
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
53
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Lovely inn but the shining star is the restaurant with a menu to die for that takes best advantage of fresh local ingredients and creates marvels! Not cheap but worth it in spades. They have the fab custome of offering free prossecco, pre appetizer appetizers and pre dessert desserts! Mmmm!
Great stay! A good base if you are traveling around the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The most romantic beautiful, storybook setting...
It is a little hard to find but that is part of what makes it so special. It is definitely a bucket list destination. My husband and I enjoyed our fifth anniversary in Italy and this was one of our stops. Definitely take the time to go explore the small village of Castiglione de Lago. It is about a 10 minute drive from the hotel. It is lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Il Mandorlo" The "almond" room... you open the door lock with a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is set in a beautiful, remote are of Tuscany. The grounds are outstanding and the rooms themselves were rustic and quaint. I have read that a lot of people thought the rooms were dark and dull...I think they are rustic as our room had large wooden beams across the roof-I thought this added character to the room. It is a shame that there was not a bath but everything else was perfect.

The reason why I did not give 5 stars is because of the food at the restaurant. Despite the food being tasty, it is very highly priced for the amount you actually get. This should not put you off though as on other nights we bought pizza nearby or bought food in the day.

The staff we more than helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The pool is brilliantly kept and breakfast is delicious. We visited the hotel on a living social voucher and were more than happy with the hotel and grounds and would definitely visit again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was just lovely. The renovated monastery keeps it old world charm while having all the modern conveniences. The room we had was large and beautiful and interesting. We had a little patio out back with a table overlooking the farmland in the distance and a beautiful sitting room, bedroom and bathroom.
The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and the grounds were beautiful. Although there is alot to see out and about in the car, make time to spend poolside - its a lovely restful area that needs to be enjoyed.
The breakfast was great - and just a note that apparently if you want hot food like eggs or bacon, you just have to ask and they'll make it for you even though its not "out" with the breakfast.
The dining room wasn't quite our scene - it was beautiful and the food was authentic and interesting, it was VERY quiet. I didn't even feel like I could speak in my regular voice. If you like a nice quiet romantic evening, its probably wonderful :)
All in all, a great experience and I would definitely stay there again (if I have the good fortune of getting back to Tuscany any time soon!)
One other thing - it is a little tricky to find. I thought I had it all mapped out only to find that where I thought there was a road, there wasn't. So be sure to listen to your GPS - its probably right!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic, beautiful hotel with gorgeous, tasteful rooms and fabulous orangery. Set in the Tuscan hills, this place has a real get away from it all feel. We used it as a stop off between Florence and Rome, having 4 nights there.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the on site restaurant was very good, we ate there on two of the evenings. The food was good but didn't sit as well alongside the lovely setting and great service, we found it was just trying too hard and that typical Italian food that was modernised a bit would have impressed us more than dishes which were rather hit and miss. The service was brilliant, very friendly, but the second night we would have just happily had a glass of wine with pasta but were presented with the full on aperitif, amuse bouche and palate cleansers. The wine list was far too huge to decide! It was more like a restaurant with rooms than a hotel as the only other food service aside from breakfast was a light lunch, leaving you no other choice during the evening than to have a proper meal unless you go off site. Perhaps serving something more relaxed in the breakfast room might work better as an alternative?
However the staff did bring us lovely cheese and ham to have with our bottle of wine we ordered to sit in the orangery with, and they did help us open another bottle we bought in from the supermarket!
The pool was great to relax by, but it did get very busy on our 3rd and 4th days when a touring cycling grop were based there - a bit too loud for us! The breakfast was amazing, so much choice and lively setting.
The setting is fantastic, the rooms are beautiful and the gardens are like a paradise but we felt the message between hotel and restaurant was a little mixed!

Room Tip: We got a fantastic corner room overlooking the lake, beautiful sunsets and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

When we pulled up the bouquet of the tremendous amount of flowers embraced us and immediately brought about a calming that stayed with us until after we left. This place was our favorite stay on a multi-week Italian trip. Meticulously maintained and a tremendous level of service keep this place on another level that is usually reserved for places out of my price point. This place my wife calls "a little slice of heaven" and often says, "I wish we were there right now..." The owner is a collector of antiques and uses this updated and remodeled old monastery as a place for safekeeping his treasures, while the immediately surrounding land is filled with fruits, vegetables, wheat an flower that the staff use, maintaining the truest sense of farm to table etiquette. Dinner was absolutely remarkable, probably the best meal that this foodie experienced. I say this as someone who has worked over a decade in fine dining with Beard level chefs, the cuisine is top notch and would go out of my way to eat there again. The service was top notch with a well knowledged server and great wine suggestions.
Basically I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Alla Corte del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Alla Corte del Sole

Address: loc. Giorgi, 06061 Petrignano, Castiglione del Lago, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castiglione del Lago > Petrignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petrignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Relais Alla Corte del Sole 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The relais alla corte del sole-at the sun's court- is located near lake trasimeno, facinf cortona, and at the border of the sienese territory of montepulciano.so you may enjoy the view of one of the most evocative lakes in italy, while at the same time being very cose to some of most important cities in tuscany for art, monuments, and landscapes: cortona , montepulciano, and siena. The relais, with its original conformation, can accomodate uo to 40 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Alla Corte del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Alla Corte Del Sole Hotel Petrignano
Relais Alla Corte Del Sole Italy/Petrignano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Alla Corte del Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.