We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabores D'Italia

Sabores D'Italia
Praca 5 de Outubro n040, Caldas da Rainha 2500-111, Portugal
+351 262 845 600
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, International, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

A true gem of a restaurant. Food is great, and I mean really great. I struggle to remember better italian food. Service is friendly and professional. Listen to the recommendations - they are well worth it! This restaurant should be packed every night all year!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and comfort words. We always try to give our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    35
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Caldas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

In my opinion one of the best restaurants in the region, I have been there on several ocasions since with friends, business or just with my wife and it is always a pleasure. Top of the line service and very good food and wine.
If you want to have a good meal and be well looked after this is the place for you to visit when you are in this region of Portugal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Nothing gives us more pleasure in life than to receive and serve customers who appreciate our work and leave them satisfied. Your comment is very important to us and makes us feel very happy, especially in this difficult moment we are living in Portugal. Thank you very much for your considered patronage!
Maria João and Norberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Caldas da Rainha for New Year's Eve on our honeymoon without reservations. Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we were extremely satisfied. Since we did not have a reservation, we went when they opened and they were able to fit us in. The service was wonderful and staff was helpful in making recommendations. The man who showed us our table also spoke perfect English, which was extremely helpful for us.

We had the lamb and chicken breast for our entrees, a caprese salad as an appetizer, and a bottle of wine (which staff recommended). All of it was absolutely delicious!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We thank you very much for your visit in our restaurant in a so special occasion (it remember us also our honeymoon 31 years ago), Like us, wish you much happiness in life and in the future. Congratulations!
Concerning your comment (your husband is a very expert man in Douro wines) we feel very proud. Best regards. Maria João and Norberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcobaca, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very nicely decorated restaurant, very friendly staff, excellent food. You are always very welcome, and they do everything to make you feel special. The last time we had dinner at Sabores d'Italia it was our wedding anniversary, and we had a great time. All dishes are mouthwatering, you can taste they are all made with love for good food.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen us to celebrate a date so special to you, which also made ​​us feel special. Secondly we want to thank the comment that made us very excited because it means that you are people who recognize our commitment. You'll be always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The restaurant was recommended to us by a friend and all the reviews on line seemed positive, so decided to check it out. First appearances -- very clean and the gentleman who showed us to our table was great. The restaurant has too much of white lights and could do with warmer yellow lighting, but we liked the clean cut style of it. Ordered the garlic bread which was very hard. Main course of duck (small portions, but tasted good) and crab risotto (found lots of shell and a sharp plastic bit in it) was a let down. I think the crab was tinned and not fresh, hence the packaging and shell. It did not taste like fresh crab anyway. The staff did say that the plastic was probably part of the crab packaging! Didn't care much for the dessert either. We did point out the "extras" in the risotto, but we still ended up paying full price. Only one of us had alcohol and ended up paying Euros. 75 (incl. tip). Pretty expensive and don't know if we'd go back... Hope it was just a one-off for the chef...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJoaoMarcelino, Proprietário at Sabores D'Italia, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We apologize again for that piece of plastic found in risotto. When we prepare the crabs we put it in using small gastronorm boxes, but they break up and we did not see at the time. It is an accident that happens sometimes without realizing it. When this rarely happens we take special attention to the client: prepare another dish or no charge. You told us that it was not necessary because you were happy and had eaten everything, so we charge thinking you had understood the accident. In Portugal the service is included. The client just leaves tipping if he wants and when he's satisfied. That's what we thought when you gave us € 15 tip. Anyway we invite you to visit us again to give us the opportunity to repair this accident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabores D'Italia also viewed

Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
 
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
Caldas da Rainha, Leiria District
 

Been to Sabores D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabores D'Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.