We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "home from home" for us - everytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vatera Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Vatera Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Vatera Beach
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vatera Lesvos, Vatera 81300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vatera
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A "home from home" for us - everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We discovered Vatera Beach Hotel in the days of the Drachma and it still gives us a thrill to know we will be returning yet again for that personal touch that we have come to love and cherish - as delivered by hosts Takis and Jennie. They have taken over the reigns (from their parents) with a passion and it is still by far our favourite holiday retreat anywhere in the world. You could book somewhere else cheaper, or you could book somewhere else far more expensive and glamorous. Either way you would still be missing out on a remarkable stay. The cuisine (local and Greek specialities) is worth coming for alone. The friendships we have formed here over the years (with staff and guests alike) will last a lifetime - what more could we say? Highly recommended!
John, Dawn and Tommy R

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice - but not essential for a great holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A jewel of a find and fabulous getaway for couples and families on the southern coast of Lesbos. Hotel owners Takis and Jenny cater to your every need from the moment you arrive - from hiking tips to car rides into nearby Polichnitos. We stayed for a week and ate all our meals at the hotel. The food was terrific - fresh, tasty, and very Greek. Don't expect to lose weight here! Good beach for sunning and swimming (bring beach shoes for the rocky slabs underwater) and lovely short hikes in the area through olive groves and along the long curving shore. And one thing that is important to us, and a sign of character, is the genuine kindness that Jenny and Takis showed to animals. All in all, an excellent experience in a wonderfully isolated and scenic part of Lesbos. John and Gayl

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a rare island gem this Vatera hotel on Lesbos is, family owned and run. It is managed by a wonderful young brother & sister team Takis & Tzeni (Jennie), having been built by their parents who had an eye for detail and charm. Takis & Jennie are amazing hosts, making you feel right at home, and that is the feeling you get from when they first greet you at the top of the steps at the entrance, to the time you leave. My first stay was in August 2010 with family & friends. My second in August 2012 with family & my best friend. My third visit was August 2013 with my older sister. I'm currently saving to return again this year 2014 on my own (I always meet some awesome people) The hotel is full of memorabilia, and is very well maintained, the rooms are large, clean and air conditioned for those beautiful warm summer Aegean sea breezes. The authentic Greek fare is superb and a must try from their own restaurant. The hotel has 2 verandahs, an upper and the lower is located directly across the road from the hotel just a few steps down to the beach. Rest & relaxation is assured if you want it and you can travel to & from the hotel to anywhere on the island for a day trip. (Being Aussie helps, cause we're used to driving to towns 3 or 4 hours away and back in one day). I would highly recommend a stay here, soak up the sun, enjoy the Aegean Sea and it's breezes and most of all the company of your hosts Takis & Jennie. Can't wait to be back there again soon! :)

Room Tip: The rooms have Great views, either a side room or front room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What more to add than to be in complete agreement with the previous reviews concerning this lovely, warm, comfortable and cozy hotel.

We had the intention to spend just one night at Vatera but were so delighted by our very knowledgeable hosts and the place that ended up spending 3. The food was excellent, the service outstanding, kind and friendly.
There is no swimming pool but a lovely clean beach right in front of the hotel and nobody needs a fitness center there. Just cross the quiet road and have a good swim!
We really felt at home and pampered like nowhere else in the island.

Room Tip: Rooms by the seaside. They have a perfect size and a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my best friend were looking for a 'Greek' place to stay. We wanted to see a beach that isn't covered with sun loungers and a location that isn't packed with foreign tourists. We've found this gem of a place were most of the tourists are Greek, Vatera is just perfect. The hotel was very comfortable, food to die for and staff extremely helpful even giving us lifts and lots of advice. Highly recommended.
we travelled in end of May 2011

Room Tip: you want a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We haven't stayed a full fortnight in just one hotel in our lives nor written a Trip Advisor review but then we have never been treated quite as well as we were at this hotel. Brother & sister Takis & Jenny (Jenni? Tzeni?) go out of their way to be friendly & generous hosts, Takis coming out of the hotel as we arrived to greet us by name & help with bags. They also do their upmost to try to anticipate the guests needs, Jenny quickly noting the first thing I need when I arrive for breakfast is to have a cup of tea thrust into my hand. If you ask for advice on any matter regarding the Island they are a font of knowledge having spent most of their lives there & as they had an American mother their English is impeccable. Above all they genuinely seem to want you to have a great stay at their hotel.

We have travelled to a number of Greek Islands over a number of years many with their own individual customs & a particular one on Lesbos seems to be of providing super size portions of food! The Vatera Beach Hotel preserves this tradition & ups the anti by making it all delicious with a mixture of lesser known traditional dishes, old favourites, with their chefs (whose name I have forgotten,shame on me) new take on them & new recipes. A short talk with Jenny & you soon realise that in her opinion the basis of a good meal starts with the best ingredients. Who am I to argue with that.

I could say more but the best way to experience Vatera & the Vatera Beach Hotel is to go

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lesvos is a real paradise and I believe we were very lucky to choose Vatera Beach for our holiday, and especially Hotel Vatera Beach took a special place in our hearth and memories.

As I read very good comments before, my expectations were quite high when we first arrived to the hotel. Takis and Jennie are both elevated and tasteful people so even though their hotel is a simple boutique hotel, I found it elegant as well.

The room, service, ambiance, location are all perfect enough to have relaxing and happy moments with your family. Especially their cuisine is really beyond special. Our one year old son quickly became a fun of their plates. We all enjoyed our stay at Hotel Vatera Beach and for sure we would like to go back there again.

I sincerely advise this place to the people who are not looking for luxurious but wants to enjoy a relaxing ambiance, nice beach, wonderful sea, best food and genuinely service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vatera Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vatera Beach

Address: Vatera Lesvos, Vatera 81300, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Vatera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vatera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vatera Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vatera Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Vatera
Hotel Vatera Beach Lesbos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vatera Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.