We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious smoked food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown and Forrest Restaurant

Brown and Forrest Restaurant
Bowdens Farm, Hambridge,, Langport TA10 0BP, England
+44 (0)458 250875
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 restaurants in Langport
Price range: $43 - $43
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Eastleigh
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Delicious smoked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Travelled here on the recommendation of the owners of our holiday cottage and I was not disappointed. There was a great selection of smoked foods in the little shop e.g. sausage, salmon, black pudding, chicken, etc.

My wife had smoked salmon and I tried the smoked chicken and it was delicious. My daughter had the tomato and basil soup as she was reluctant to try anything 'smoked'. She did try the smoked eel on the way out and thought it was lovely - praise indeed.

It is a small cafe with about 15 tables and a couple outside. The majority of the food is served cold with a salad, though I would have liked a few more hot options. Overall a pleasant experience with helpful staff, a nice well stocked shop and a simple menu incorporating the main selling point - the smokery food. The only downside is that is has very limited opening times - check before you set off.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    13
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I've had lunch here on a number of occasions and have always had a good lunch. The menu is simple and unchanging but, if like me, you enjoy smoked eel, pork, chicken, sausages or fish followed by good homemade puds, all served in pleasant surrounding, then this is the place for you. There is also a shop to buy lots of goodies.
Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Food is excellent but portions are small and perhaps designed for the more mature customer (OAP portions by default) .

Its a good place for lunch and a great atmosphere. You can also purchase local produce from the shop - its pricey but good quality.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Nice restaurant, great food, I would book a table in advance if I were you.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you like smoked food you will love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

The restaurant is in an old stable, it is lovely. The food is tasty and simple. It was fully booked so do phone in advance
Starters were £4.25 we had one smoked eel on rye, mains for £8.25 We had one eel on rye, one smoked chicken and goose and plum sausages all served with salad and delicious garlic potatoes.
Wine was by the glass or bottle.
The puddings were not so good chocalate judy a little dry and bannoffee crunch very sweet.
Service was good
Nearby are little outbuildings with antiques and upholstery, good for a browse.
I loved this place and would like to go again. The drive out to it is beautiful

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown and Forrest Restaurant also viewed

Langport, Somerset
Langport, Somerset
 
Langport, Somerset
Langport, Somerset
 

Been to Brown and Forrest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown and Forrest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.