We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Tum - CLOSED

Thai Tum
Great Bow Wharf | Bow Street, Langport TA10 9PN, England
01458 251 678
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Thai Tum at The Wharf is housed in a Grade 2 listed building on the River Parrett. A large restored wharf-side building with seating for up to 80 and a beautiful lakeside terrace.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great food and service, excellent value for money. Really recommend the banquet, lots of different dishes to try!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Langport - exceptionally good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We've been waiting a while to try this place out after hearing a number of good reports. I never expected it to be this good! We only sampled from the pared down takeaway menu but for our first time there was plenty of choice. The dishes are authentic Thai cuisine and beautifully prepared with fresh flavoursome ingredients. Each of our dishes delivered on taste and in comparison to other Thai meals I've eaten, I'd say this is right up there. I'm seriously tempted to go back again tomorrow! Oh, and the service is great too - friendly and efficient.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cononley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We dined here twice in one week and both times the food was absolutely delicious- possibly the best I've ever had! The ambience was very friendly and comfortable. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. All in all very enjoyable evenings. Wish we lived closer!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, lovely atmosphere and very yummy food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After me and my husbands long cycle ride around the langport area today, we decided we wanted something filling for lunch and fell upon this place. We arrived at the restaurant at 2:15, lunch stops being served by 2:30, so we thought we might have just missed the last orders.

We were greeted by Marc, he showed us the menus and asked if we knew about Thai food. We both have never had Thai before so he gave us a very informative briefing about the food and we chose the meals that he recommended for us based on what we were wanting. He could see we were cold from our cycle ride so showed us to the lounge and sat us by the fire so we could get warm until our food was ready. When our order was ready, he then placed us next to the fire in the restaurant and served us very yummy looking food. I have never had Thai food before to compare, but it was so yummy and presented very well. Marc was always making sure we had drinks and making sure we were happy with the food and if there was anything else he could do.

The decor and ambience of the place is great and we both had a wonderful experience!! I am looking forward to visiting again and eating through more of their yummy menu!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great food and excellent service about sums it up really. My wife, daughter and I visited recently and were treated to a veritable feast of lovely food! We went on a Sunday when they offer a fixed menu, and all the dishes tasted excellent. Having visited Thailand a number of times, we now know what real Thai food should taste like.....and this is it.

Just a shame we live so far away, but cannot wait to visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Tum also viewed

Langport, Somerset
 
Langport, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Tum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.