We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel would highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Federico II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Federico II to your Saves list
Hotel Federico II
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via M.Baracca, 2, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
SHROPSHIRE
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We have nothing but praise for this hotel. The owner was very friendly and helpful (even led us by car to the hotel!) The room was very clean and well serviced. The room and bathroom were large and had a balcony. Good central location in this fairly quiet village with magnificent views of Mount Etna. Parking was in the local square.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
STATEN ISLAND,NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The minute I saw The Hotel Federico II on Expedia I knew that was the place to stay...This was my first time to Italy and I wanted to capture the authenticity and culture and lifestyle. My fiancé and I were extremely pleased at the warm and cozy appearance of the hotel....the hosts & hostess' made us feel like we were family a home away from home, with their friendly service and helpful hints to make our dream vacation a memory that will last a lifetime. I highly recommend The Hotel Federico II - we have traveled often and this hotel had to be one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. I also believe that the star rating should be higher. The food, amazing. The rooms spotless. The service impeccable, all this in a hotel nestled in the quaint town of Castileone, with its cobblestone streets and historic sites. It is centrally located in the mountains with spectacular scenery of Sicily. The hotel is close to many attractions including, Mt. Etna and Taormina which we visited often during our 8 day stay...Can't wait to go back

Andrew & Carmela Abbadessa

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

Completely new, 60 Eur per night, rooms are big and clean as well as the bathrooms. Unfortunately the hot water was not really hot...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

The hotel is situated in a small and very scenic village which has a fantastiv view over the Alcantara area. You can get there by bus but in general it's better to have a car to experience the area. The hotel has been restored very tastfully maintaining it's original features. The rooms are spacious and aestetic.
The staff is very helpful an friendly and makes you feel welcome every second.
In the affiliated restaurant "Sine tempore" the typical sicilian food and regional products were excellent and the prices good value for money.
If you are looking for a restful place to stay and like the experience of Sicilian life and hospitality I just could recommend this lovingly run hotel!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Bristol, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay in the Hotel Federico II.
The hotel has only recently been re-stored and so all the interior and fittings are brand new, it has been restored very tastfully with solid oak windows and doors, maintaining it's original features. The room was very spacious with a double bed and a bed settee and still plenty of space to spare. A TV was included with nearly 300 channels, a very reasonably priced mini-bar and also a lockable safe.
There was a balcony enjoying views to the Pelori mountains, whilst another window had views to Mount Etna.
We were the only people in the hotel and the owners and staff made us very welcome and were very friendly, we had to leave at 5 o'clock in the morning and the owner insisted on getting up to see us off and helping us carry our luggage to the car. They even gave us a little gift on our departure.
Food was very good and very reasonably priced.
A very quiet and restful place to stay and you get a good flavour of the Sicilian hospitality, we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Federico II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federico II

Address: Via M.Baracca, 2, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federico II 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between the extraordinary territory of the Etna Park and uncontaminated Alcantara Valley, on a sandstone hill , is located the medieval town of Castiglione di Sicilia. Here in the heart of its historic centre, in an ancient palace of 14th century, completely renovated was born Hotel Frederick II. The hotel offers 9 rooms, all elegantly furnished and equipped with every comfort and is the ideal place to spend a holiday in relax for discover the natural beauties ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Federico II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federico Ii Hotel
Hotel Federico II Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Federico II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.