We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina

Save Saved
You added Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Sotto Tenente Mazza 10, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Lidingo, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If you want to make a small journey towards Etna, i suggest you stay at this B & B. It is located in a small nice village where you can enjoy a good Sicilian dinner in accomplishment with nice locally produced wine. The tips provided from the B & B are really nice. The rooms are nice and clean, and our beds where good. The five stars come from the really price worthy stay that we had, one of my best during forty years of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
52
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We've just returned from a 14-day stay at the Santa Caterina (17th June to 1st July 2012). We received a very warm welcome to this quietly situated B&B with views up to the castle and out towards ever-smoking Etna. Rooms are distributed over several floors and neighbouring buildings. Our room was comfortable, with a large double bed and single bed, wardrobe and dressing table, a table and three chairs, an en-suite shower room and a large balcony with table and chairs and sun from dawn to dusk. Breakfast al fresco on the terrace among the ancient pots and jars, flowering and foliage plants was a daily pleasure with cappuccino served and re-filled by Enza, freshly-made local delicacies such as cannoli and bigni, cereals, fresh orange juice, bread rolls, sliced ham and cheese. Valentino and crew were always ready with recommendations of places to visit and eat out. We left with hugs and kisses and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in May. We arrived quite late and had no problem checking in at around 8pm. We parked on the street where there are a couple of places for maybe 4 or 5 cars. Our room was big and rather dark but I personally did not mind the dark wood as it gave a nice summer house feel to the experience. En-suite bathroom, Internet (although did not reach our room too well), balcony with nice view of the castle and with sunshine in the mornings as well as great (! - but really) coffee - were all very positive features of this B&B. The town of Castiglione di Sicilia above this B&B is only 5 minutes away and offers a great base for those who want to travel to both the coast and Etna. We had great time there and staff were very helpful, even when we asked them whether they had a bottle-opener, they managed to get one for us from their own house. Needless to say, I highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My stay at this B&B was excellent. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very pleasant indeed. My room was quirky and very cool during the day and warm at night. The ONLY criticism I had was that my TV was a bit flickery as if it was about to die on me, but I didn't travel to Sicily to watch the box!! I thoroughly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: If you are asthmatic, rheumatoid, or just damned lazy, this is NOT the place for you as there are ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Valentino and his staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed 4 days here, and they were very accommodating with directions, breakfast, and even shown how to make cannoli from Enza!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Perched on the top of the hill, Castiglione di Sicilia is a stunning medieval location. Go back in time and stay at this beautiful B&B and soak up the true Sicilian atmosphere. Watch the Etna smokes everyday, you are quite safe to stay here and perfectly located to tour all eastern end of Sicily. You must have a car. Palemo and the west end is just too far. Valentino (an Italian waiter from Wigan) and his team provide excellent personalised service. Nothing is too much trouble. They even home-made my husband's 60's birthday cake! Rooms are very spacious, comfortable and cool, with a balcony to soak up the view. Never mind the rating - this is a five-star B&B. We stayed for two weeks and would go back to meet the lovely villagers again and again. Try the Restaurant President for dinner, but pizza only on Saturdays. Local market, shops, bakeries, ice creams, cheeses and salami are all recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Greetings to peppe, nice b&b with air condition and breakfast, the village is very quiet and only a couple restaurants but beautiful and medieval, friendly people, negative: buss connection only triple on then morning and back 3 pm and 7pm

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina

Address: Via Sotto Tenente Mazza 10, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Castiglione di Sicilia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglione di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina Sicily/Castiglione Di Sicilia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Diffuso Santa Caterina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.