We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sebay Mill Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tankerness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments
Save
You added Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments to your Saves list
Quoyburray Road, Tankerness KW17 2QU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sebay Mill Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed at Sebay Mill every year since 2005. It is without doubt the best self-catering accommodation we have ever stayed at, and it feels like a 'home from home' each time we go. It's got everything we need (as well as great style) for our annual stay in beautiful Orkney. The owners (Sheena and Billy) are always welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: The small one (Peedie Kiln) is perfectly big enough for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Orkney in May 2012 and stayed at Sebay Mill. The accommodation is wonderful and everthing that could possibly need for a holiday, is provided. The area was central to all of the many places we wanted to visit and it was a joy to come back to The Mill after a day sightseeing around Orkney. We are planning another visit in May 2013 and I think that we are looking forward to another magical holiday at Sebay Mill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

These modern, well equipped apartments are a perfect base for exploring Orkney. Near the airport and St Margaret's Hope ferry and a short distance from Kirkwall. We were warmly welcomed by the owners who couldn't have been more helpful. We stayed in The Kiln for a week in August and were delighted with the layout of the apartment and all it had to offer. The corner bath was so nice to relax in and the double bed we slept in was very comfortable. The kitchen had everything we required and there was lots of room. We will definitely be booking in here again next time we visit Orkney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at Sebay Mill 3 times - last time in the Burnside apartment.
This is without any doubt the best accommodation in Orkney. It is first class and we will certainly stay again. In fact this is *the* best accommodation we have ever stayed in.
We fully recommend these apartments made from an old Mill. The are designed very well with excellent quality fittings from the kitchen through to the bathroom.
The Orkney sunset light is beautiful and warming and looking out of Burnside windows makes you feel wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for burnside - with the big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have just returned home having spent a week staying in the "Peedie Kiln" at Sebay Mill, it was lovely. A cosy little place, ideal for 2, well planned, furnished and equipped with everything one could need for a relaxing break. The towelling robes, slippers and Orkney products were much appreciated. Definitely worthy of a 5 star!

The weather wasn't great but that's a chance you take with any holiday.
We got out and about every day and saw some amazing things, The Tomb of the Eagles, the Ring of Brodgar, Skara Brae, Highland Park Distillery,Scapa Flow Visitors Centre on Hoy, my list goes on. We really enjoyed some cliff top walks, with amazing scenery, birds and the most beautiful wildflowers.
(A little tip, if you visit Hoy and are intending visiting the Old Man of Hoy, as we were hoping to. It is approx a walk of 3.5 miles from where you leave your car just to get there so make sure you give yourself plenty of time! We didn't make it unfortunately.)
The Orkney Islands have a rare quality, they have managed to remain unspoilt and it was a delight to stay there for a week and be part of Orkney life!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the Kiln apartment at Sebay Mill from the 16th to the 23rd of July 2011. My party consisted of two adults and two children.

Sebay Mill is an easy drive from Kirkwall, especially the airport which you pass en route. It is conveniently located next to the main road and I had no issue with traffic noise or volume of traffic (very light by city standards). When you do exit the property, take heed of oncoming vehicles as they may be travelling faster than you think.

Sebay Mill has been tastefully renovated into apartments, which are finished to a high standard. Even the grounds have been landscaped. The attention to detail is impressive. If I could have one additional feature it would be WiFi. Even on holiday I do like to have internet access.

Upon arrival we were met by the owners and given a warm welcome. There is a welcome pack for visitors, oatcakes, biscuits, milk, cheese etc. Sebay Mill was an excellent base from which to explore Mainland Orkney and some of the islands, such as Hoy, Rousay and South Ronaldsay. We also took a sightseeing flight from the airport to Papa Westray and Westray (very good value).

I have no hesitation in recommending Sebay Mill and hope to return in the future.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Set on a quiet road into Kirkwall, these apartments are first class. This is a converted mill, which has been completed to a very superior standard. Sheena and Billy should be proud of what they have achieved with Sebay Mill. We hired the smallest apartment, the Peedie Kiln, which is fine for a couple - we did get a tour of the Burnside apartment which is stunning. Billy told us it is what he would like to get when he has a holiday let - a good way to set your standards. When we return to the Orkneys, no other place will even be considered. It's only 4 or 5 miles to Kirkwall and 3 to the airport so close enough to the main facilities yet far enough away to ensure total peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments

Address: Quoyburray Road, Tankerness KW17 2QU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Tankerness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tankerness
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebay Mill Holiday Apartments. World class award-winning luxurious four and five star self-catering apartments. Located six miles from Kirkwall in the beautiful east mainland of Orkney. Each one to two bedroom apartments boast luxurious modern living spaces. We are a short distance from the spectacular beaches and cliff walks of Deerness. A local Orkney welcome pack with some wonderful jams, oatcakes, cheese & a miniature of local whiskey! awaits you on your arrival so you can relax right away. Sebay Mill has undergone a complete restoration to provide you with a very special experience!• Rural location • Local welcome pack • Linen/Towels provided• Private garden area • Cots available • Private parking• Near heritage sites • Free WiFi • Bus route nearby• Restaurant/Pub nearby • Airport 3 miles. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sebay Mill Self Catering Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.