We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Josep Pla 43 | Platja de la Fosca, 17230 Palamos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Aulnay, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“away from the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in 2011. A nice quiet hotel , as noted by a pervoius reviewer. Lovely restaurant. Clean and tidy family hotel.
Very friendly. They have a dog that walks around the ground floor area.
Nice views from the top floor rooms over Fosca beach.
Wonderful countryside . Parking on site or across a quiet road.
Too far way from Palamos to walk into town. Large choice of restaurants in Palamos.

Room Tip: get one with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oppdal Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Like last autumn we hiked on Costa Brava. On the hotel list from our norwegian tour operator was Hotel Ancora in La Fosca. The hotel was like last year clean, and the staff, most likely from the owner family, was kind and helpful.

But not so for the dinner. The menu was not expensive, but the hotel could have charged a few euros more and served a better meal. The waiter demonstrated with headshake and body language, when we left food uneaten on the plates. Next morning, the breakfast was scarce, and the lady resposible did not bother to refill the empty trays.

Last year dining and breakfast was quite different from this, and I wrote a very positive evaluation on tripadvisor.

For the hotels own sake I hope they have not lost the grip, and that this experience was a result of a bad day. It was monday, but still -

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Like many others reviewing this hotel, we went as part of a walking holiday.

I won't dwell on the room - it was perfectly fine with a nice balcony with a couple if sun loungers. The pool at the back of the hotel was nice. The staff were very friendly. However the 'wow' was the food. Simply amongst the best we have eaten in Spain.

We tried sea cucumbers as a starter (with one of us having the clams). Wonderful! (a bit like grilled squid). And the arroz negra was amazingly good, as was the paella. The staff recommended some great Spanish wine which went with the food perfectly. Unfortunately we were too full for desert.

Do eat here. It is a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were here for one night on a walking holiday. It is an older style hotel, right on a road but with other facilities to the side. Our room at the back was well refurbished and clean. Dinner was very good, courses being much hotter on arrival than many meals in Spain and the service was very pleasant. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front because although the road looks empty it is a through road leading to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Like some other reviewers we stopped over as part of a walking holiday. Our bedroom with small but adequate bathroom, balcony and sea view (over a quiet road in front of the hotel) was simply and attractively furnished with a comfortable bed and a small TV though we could not find an English Language programme. It is a five minute stroll from the hotel down to La Fosca's sandy beach. At the four course half board dinner we decided to avoid the unappetisingly described "cabbage heart mit anchovy." " You MUST have them" said the waiter. "My 91 year old grandmother salts them herself and goes to the market every week to buy the ingredients." It was a good recommendation as what arrived was a salad of crisp little gem lettuce hearts with strips of mild anchovy and garnish. This was followed by a huge chunk of fresh turbot. Super home cooked food at its best.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppdal Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed one night in Hotel Ancora on our week of hiking on Costa Brava.Situated in a quiet part of Fosca, the hotel was a positive surprise for its three stars. The room had a balcony, it was big enough for us, and it was clean.
After a hot day of walking from Platja d'Aro we were served a couple of cold beers outside the hotel.
We had diner in the hotel restaurant instead of looking for a restaurant elsewhere. And we did not regret that. The food was superb, and the waiters had good knowledge of the Emporda wines. The restaurant deserves an additional star!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for one night as part of a walking holiday and came back for another night at the end of our stay in Catalonia. The hotel is well run, clean and comfortable and the amenities are excellent for a small hotel: tennis courts and a heated swimming pool. It is close to a charming beach resort and there is some excellent walking in the area.

Not only did we have a lovely stay there but they are also incredibly honest: I left a fairly expensive small camera behind in Spain, I was not sure where and they found it and kept it until I contacted them and then sent it safe and sound to my home address!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Carrer de Josep Pla 43 | Platja de la Fosca, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancora 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.