We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ancora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Josep Pla 43 | Platja de la Fosca, 17230 Palamos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Palamos
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go for the food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Like many others reviewing this hotel, we went as part of a walking holiday.

I won't dwell on the room - it was perfectly fine with a nice balcony with a couple if sun loungers. The pool at the back of the hotel was nice. The staff were very friendly. However the 'wow' was the food. Simply amongst the best we have eaten in Spain.

We tried sea cucumbers as a starter (with one of us having the clams). Wonderful! (a bit like grilled squid). And the arroz negra was amazingly good, as was the paella. The staff recommended some great Spanish wine which went with the food perfectly. Unfortunately we were too full for desert.

Do eat here. It is a lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were here for one night on a walking holiday. It is an older style hotel, right on a road but with other facilities to the side. Our room at the back was well refurbished and clean. Dinner was very good, courses being much hotter on arrival than many meals in Spain and the service was very pleasant. We enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front because although the road looks empty it is a through road leading to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Like some other reviewers we stopped over as part of a walking holiday. Our bedroom with small but adequate bathroom, balcony and sea view (over a quiet road in front of the hotel) was simply and attractively furnished with a comfortable bed and a small TV though we could not find an English Language programme. It is a five minute stroll from the hotel down to La Fosca's sandy beach. At the four course half board dinner we decided to avoid the unappetisingly described "cabbage heart mit anchovy." " You MUST have them" said the waiter. "My 91 year old grandmother salts them herself and goes to the market every week to buy the ingredients." It was a good recommendation as what arrived was a salad of crisp little gem lettuce hearts with strips of mild anchovy and garnish. This was followed by a huge chunk of fresh turbot. Super home cooked food at its best.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppdal Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed one night in Hotel Ancora on our week of hiking on Costa Brava.Situated in a quiet part of Fosca, the hotel was a positive surprise for its three stars. The room had a balcony, it was big enough for us, and it was clean.
After a hot day of walking from Platja d'Aro we were served a couple of cold beers outside the hotel.
We had diner in the hotel restaurant instead of looking for a restaurant elsewhere. And we did not regret that. The food was superb, and the waiters had good knowledge of the Emporda wines. The restaurant deserves an additional star!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for one night as part of a walking holiday and came back for another night at the end of our stay in Catalonia. The hotel is well run, clean and comfortable and the amenities are excellent for a small hotel: tennis courts and a heated swimming pool. It is close to a charming beach resort and there is some excellent walking in the area.

Not only did we have a lovely stay there but they are also incredibly honest: I left a fairly expensive small camera behind in Spain, I was not sure where and they found it and kept it until I contacted them and then sent it safe and sound to my home address!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Nicely situated hotel, quite close to excellent beach. Lovely quiet spacious bedrooms with good bathroom, plenty of storage. Dogs very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Positives - the hotel is reasonably clean and the location is good for the beach.

Negatives - noise insulation - there isn't any. Beds - remember the last time you went camping, well the beds were less comfortable than that. Breakfast - not worth getting up for (although the noise will force you up).

We have visited Palamos before and will return again, but not to this Hotel. If you are visiting Palamos, it has some fantastic restaurants - feel free to ask.

Unfortunately the negatives far outweigh the positives. We are frequent travellers, not fussy people and have realistic expectations regarding quality v price. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Address: Carrer de Josep Pla 43 | Platja de la Fosca, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancora 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ancora Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.