We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel and Charming Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Joan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sant Joan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sant Joan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de la Llibertat, 79, 17230 Palamos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel and Charming Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is truly deserving of its 5 star rating. So much has already been said about the quality of the hotel and the friendliness of the owners and staff but they truly go the extra mile. Such a fabulous place that we can't wait to go back and we never usually go back anywhere !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor of the new construction benefit from the late evening sun and seating is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a same-day reservation for two couples as a a result of a last-minute change of travel plans. What luck to find such a nice place! The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and helpful. The inn was lovely. The rooms were spacious, spotless, and well appointed. Breakfast was superb. We could not have been happier - a great discovery!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This gorgeously renovated Mas has now been open 6 months. We stayed end-April, in an economy double from (99€ with breakfast). The breakfast was delicious, we'd recommend the scrambled eggs with asparagus. home made jams, Iberian ham and cheese set you up for the day. Set on a hill, it's a short 5-10min walk to the seafront, and another 10 into Palamos.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

It 's a family run hotel not far from the city centre (10 min walk) which males it really quiet and relaxing. Staff is very kind and helpful. Our room was big and clean. Breakfast is delicious with all sorts of food: cheese meats egg fresh fruit. 6-7sorts of bread..... We really enjiyed our stay in palamos

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is homely rather than hotelly. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful and the room we had was comfortable, but quite basic. There is a nice garden with sun loungers but no sunshades except those over the tables and chairs - a bit of an oversight I think as it really restricts where you can sit in the garden. Breakfast is served until midday, but, as I discovered, if you are quite late down and there is hardly anything of the hot food left they do not offer to replenish it for you. It seemed that when it was gone, that was your lot! I would not have thought that this was the number one hotel in this town, but it is nice enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have to admit I was a tad disappointed when we first got to Hotel Sant Joan. Neither the hotel and nor the town of Palamos look like much when you first arrive. But the place quickly grew on me and ended up one of my favorites stops in our trip to Spain. The hotel itself has a lovely garden with a fountain, a big lawn, a hot tub and a small but refreshing pool. The public rooms are lovely and breakfast is terrific -- fresh breads, fruits, cheeses, meats and a hot dish each morning. Our room was small but comfortable. The front desk is very helpful. Palamos is a delightful town -- much less touristy than some of the towns on the Costa Brava. Walk the few blocks to the commercial district and you'll see families out in the streets. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We found this hotel on the net. The owners are very kind and welcoming. Breakfast is delicious (different sorts of bread, bacon, egg, fruit..) and till midday . They advised on restaurant, places to go... It was a wonderful and relaxing stay. To be recommended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Joan

Address: Av de la Llibertat, 79, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Joan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sant Joan is the ideal place for those who are looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with a personal touch. It is a family run hotel situated in the heart of the Costa Brava, 40km from Girona airport and 100 km from the French border.The Hotel is a XVIII century restored masía (Catalan Cottage), located in the old quarter of Sant Joan de Palamós (900mts from the beach), with a large garden (550m2) with an outdoor swimming pool (heated from June to October) and a hot water Jacuzzi that, due to its singular location, offers the guests quietness and privacy. The Hotel has 22 air conditioned (cold/hot) rooms with en suite bathroom (bathtub or shower), hairdryer , television, telephone, safe and mini bar in the Junior Suite and the superior rooms.Our aim is to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. In order to have a good rest and to get up in no rush, our buffet breakfast is served from 8.30 to 12.00 and from 9.00 to 12.00 during the low season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sant Joan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sant Joan Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Joan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.