We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location-Beautiful Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Malcontenta Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Malcontenta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Malcontenta Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platja Castell 12 | Paratge Torremirona, 17230 Palamos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nice Location-Beautiful Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

It wasn't easy to find; but, we finally did it after wandering for an hour. Tranquil location & very nice large clean swimming pool with upscale lounges & poolside service--exceptional for a small hotel. Rooms very spacious; but lack easy storage for lots of luggage. Also, a little sad on the seating, because you have to put suitcases on the available chairs. BIG walk in shower; but, poor lighting in the bathroom. No magnifying mirror-so, difficult to shave. Nice balcony with view; but, pesky wasps kept us inside most of the time. Free internet. Charming staff--the evening shift does not speak English. Absolutely superb breakfast. Castell beach is a 15 minute walk & one of the best in the area.But, that beach is absolutely jammed on the weekend. Adjacent restaurant best for lunch (great fixed menu value); the evening menu has very limited selections.

Room Tip: Grand room with balcony--all rooms expensive--so the big rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
España
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The house and decoration in this hotel are very sophisticated and beautiful, the high ceilings, big mirrors, marble in the bathroom... It is very comfortable, the beds and linens are wonderful, and there is no noise at night. The breakfast was huge and delicious. We loved the swimming pool. Everything is extremely clean, and luxurious. It is a big advantage to have a little stroll to go to a nice beach, not crowded at all.
We were doubting to give it a fifth star for "excellent" just because of some very minor details: the DVD did not work and we had to change it, the welcome at reception was not too great (no "welcome" word at all), and the room with the WC is a bit dark. Everything else was wonderful!
We hope we'll go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with terrace, you have good views to the surrounding nature, and the terrace wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Althought the setting is bucolic, has good services and the cottages are very confortable, in my opinion is an upgraded hotel not as a luxury understanding. A low note to the staff because a hotel of this category should be more profesionalized. A really bad experience at the restaurant. Even the waiter had attended my complain about one of the dishes, the maitre was unable to interest. And menu prices aren t really fair. In fact, you pay an overprice if you compare with other hotels in the area, i supose for its excellent marketing department and its press notes and good qualifications in specialized international travel magazines

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We live in Barcelona now and I love to go away for the week end. I have 14 y.o. and 2,5 y.o kids.The location of the hotel is very nice. We went in December, so we didnt "count" to swim obviously. Room (25) was ok but has rather long stairs up to get to the bedroom (again if you have little one). We took a nice long walk to the beach on Saturday and had very nice dinner the same night. Breakfast is nice and they serve it personalized. Would be nice for those with the kids if they either made a small playground or a small room/play area inside with some toys. Hotel is not cheap and to be honest when you pay this price and come in December or any other month in winter/autumn period with small kids, you are stuck with them. It doesnt cost a fortune to do that.

Room Tip: We had room 25. You have double room up the stairs and little "corridor" that serves nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

La Malcontenta is a great hotel. I had been concerned when booking that it was little out of the way -- outside of towns, away from the beach. But a secluded beach was a 10 minute bike ride away, down one of the many "Via Verdes" (a matrix of walking and biking paths). A car is a must, though. Begur and the beautiful beaches at places like Sa Tuna and 20 minutes away. Cadaqués is about 90 minutes away, but the coast road.

It's is not so easy to find, especially at night. Study a map before you actually get to the exit of route 31.

There are rooms in the main house, on both the ground and 1st floor, and in outer buildings. Ours was in an outer building with a little patio and a view of a field and trees. We'd select that again. The king sized bed was actually two doubles pushed together. I'm not fond of that, but perhaps one can ask for a single queen or king.

We were there around 1 October. A glorious time, and not too crowded. I'm guessing the Costa Brava is thick in August, but in September-October it is fantastic. La Malcontenta is on the expensive side, but we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

A great hotel, beautiful rooms a very good breakfast and a great restaurant. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is a gorgeous spot in a beautiful region of Spain...this is a perfect balance to a week in Barcelona...the hotel has bikes to ride down to the beach or tour the vineyards nearby on bike trails. The pool is set in a garden and is lovely. The food is delicious and so fresh...not to be missed are the breakfasts and fabulous lunches! We also had a car so it was fun to explore the neighboring towns for dinner...put this on your list!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Malcontenta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Malcontenta Hotel

Address: Platja Castell 12 | Paratge Torremirona, 17230 Palamos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Palamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Palamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Malcontenta Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Malcontenta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Malcontenta Hotel Palamos, Spain - Costa Brava

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Malcontenta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.