We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Restaurant Hotel Merlet to your Saves list
Restaurant Hotel Merlet
Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a theme-room at Merlet: De Duinsuite (Dune-suite). The room was very spacious and it had high ceilings. It was nicely decorated, very light and fresh.

However there where some minor details that where not perfect. For example the 220V outlet was smaller then the hole behind it and the AC-panel was a bit tilted. These are no big issues off course, but in a hotel like this the finishing should be better.

The bed was BIG and very comfortable.

There where two chaise lounges from which you could enjoy the beautiful view.

We had a 5 course diner at the Merlet Restaurant located directly beneath our room. It has been awarded a Michelin Star, and lived up to every expectation. Service, food presentation and quality where excellent!

The only real downside to our stay was the poor sound isolation of the room. In the room next to us there was a small child which started crying for quite some time at 5 a.m. After we fell asleep again the child woke us again at 7 a.m, crying and shouting . We have children of our own, but this weekend was supposed to be without being awoken by them....

The parents off course could not have prevented the sounds coming from there child, but the hotel could have made more effort providing better sound isolation. This wing of the hotel was newly build only last year.

In the future we would definitely visit Merlet again for there excellent food, but perhaps stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: The Themakamers/ThemeRooms have beautiful views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was chosen for a business trip. In terms of value it was excellent. Great space in the room. The view over the landscape is nice. Pity about the bit of flat roof to look over, but not a big deal. Breakfasts is served which is a nice change from the standard buffet on offer in a lot of places. Room with breakfast was excellent value. The location is very much a holiday resort environment. Very small, but of good taste.
The supper was a bit of an endurance in terms of waiting. Lovely starter. Main meal was obviously not served on time and not optimum anymore. Salad and chips arrived halfway through the main meal. The approach to the service might be a bit too upmarket for the actual dining experience it offers in the brasserie.
Definitely a great value place and can be a good base. You will like the place if you like "to be served". .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A nice place to stay for several nights.
We got a room at the quiet side of the house.
Room was nice quite large with a balcony and view out to the fields.
On the ground floor there is one of teh restaurant which probably also
serves in Summer time. I don't know about the noise in the evening.
When we have been there, it was cold and rainy.
The bathrom was extremly tiny. The first thing my wife did, she move the
bathroom furniture out of the bathroom. But even then it was extremely small
even for only one person.
I ate in th brasserie, which has a very special atmosphere, excellent food,
nice wine selection and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building have open bathroom with very modern bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights for business/leisure. Staff is very friendly and take time with you. We had a superior room, very spacious, nicely decorated, with revolving fireplace. The pool is underground along the spa and small fitness room. Restaurant is upscale/pricey but delicious (count €50 for menu),with good wines. They had a Michelin star in 2007. Please try the bar, it's very cosy and modernly decorated. Breakfast is simple but complete.

You are walking distance to the dunes and village center where you can rent bikes, restaurants, shops, etc

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elvange
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a really nice stay there. The room was simply superb, food was amazing (we chose the culinary arrangement for our stay).
The village is also wonderful and there is a lot of activities to do outside.
The only small negative point is the really small spa.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoeterwoude
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here with my sister while she was visiting Holland. We had a wonderful stay, the service was excellent and the restaurant outstanding. One of the best meals that I have had in Holland, every course was a creative surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Merlet restaurant is certainly very good. Most guides refer to it. The Hotel belonging to the same owner is extremely nice. Thematic rooms and suites, art collection everywhere. Lounge bar with wide selection of drinks. And the nice environment of the dunes for walking around. Great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Restaurant Hotel Merlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel Merlet

Address: Duinweg 15 | Schoorl, 1871 AC Schoorl, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schoorl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schoorl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Restaurant Hotel Merlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hotel Merlet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;