We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“manager questionable/property wonderful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Tamarix

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Tamarix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aparthotel Tamarix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Put Vinjerca 34, Vinjerac 23247, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vinjerac
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“manager questionable/property wonderful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We made reservations and had to change them several times. We were quoted 590 for 4 nights. I thought OK, good deal. Only two days before our arrival we were able to finalize our arrangements due to auto problems. I wrote 2 days out that we would be able to stay 3 nights only and we would have to leave our dog at home. You would think that our fee would have been adjusted? We e-mailed Milica about a possible rate adjustment two days before our arrival but as we were informed after our arrival, our mail was not answered because it was "too hot." and she was "with another customer." Well, we didn't want to miss out on our vacation so we set out on our 11 hour drive anyway. After spending a pleasant time there, the night before we left, Milica asked for payment in full. I handed over the 600 Euro and she gave me a 30 Euro break on the breakfast we ate on the first morning.

-I enden up paying 600.
-We left one night before high season which, on their site costs 195 Euro per unit per day.
-According to their site the most we should have paid was 125 Euro per unit per day.
-So, her initial quote was 590 for 4 days with a dog. Divided by 4 + 147.50 per day (442.50 + 40 for breakfast = 482.50). We took away the dog and only stayed for 3 days and she charged us 196.66 per day (minus 10 for breakfast)?

Doesn't it make sense that we would be charged 125 Euro per unit per night, as would be reasonable according to their own site, for a total of 375 Euro? (see link)

http://www.tamarix.hr/property_unit_description.php?lan=en&id_webshop=36&id_property=1338&id_unit=2495

Excuses that made me write this:
- "2 persons staying Versus 4 persons" (NOT ON HER WEBSITE OR CONTRACT, prices posted read "per unit per night")
-"cancelation and modifikation is possible 3 weeks before arriving, not after" (NOT ON WEBSITE OR CONTRACT)
-Finally, "It was too hot to think clearly/I was with another customer"

The place was great (new and clean) and the location was beautiful but remote.

I believe that Milica is a little overwhelmed and her behavior is possibly a bit erratic for the task of managing the property. Set your prices and policies. Follow your own marketed and publicized rules.

Milica offered me a refund when I let her know that I was going to give her a negative feedback. It is not about the money, but it kinda is. At this point all that I want is for potential customers to know how to protect themselves.

The other hotel employee "M....", sorry, can't remember her name was awesome and on the ball.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My Daughter and I stayed here for two nights as travelling through Croatia, the drive from Zadar to come over the hill to see this little fishing port was awe-inspring. Our host showed us to our apartment, we were amazed at the size of it, opened the windows, fabulous views all round and the water only a few feet away. Had a great afternoon wandering through the streets, and picked our resturant Pumpurela, who did the best green tagiatelle with prawns I have ever tasted. We loved the place so much cut short our trip in Split and had our last evening here. If ever either of us go to Croatia again would head straight for this gorgeous place, It was so clean comfortable and our host was a charming lady.

Room Tip: They all looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place, fishing little village with nice people. Great nearby restaurant Pumpurela with the best ever rissoto and green tagliatelle. Will come beck!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Primorsko-Goranska, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This Hotel is one of the Top Organized small Hotels I have ever been , it is Very Near to the City Zadar. I liked the location and sea view from my room is excellent. Staff are very polite and helpful, service is provided with excellent quality. I am coming back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
416 reviews 416 reviews
299 hotel reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

After reviewing feedback on this Aparthotel, we chose to stay there one night on route from Dubrovnik back to Dover. We exited the motorway and headed for the short detour to Vijnerac. We headed through the village of Slivnica and were wondering where we were headed then we did a few switchbacks before Vijnerac came into view and it was definitely a wow moment! The village was right on the water with incredible mountains and canyons in view what a beautiful spot, albeit a little off the beaten track. We found Tamarix and checked in and went to our room which was on the water side with great views. The room was large with a kingside bed, nice furnishings and was very comfortable. What an incredible spot! The owner told us that the Konoba Pece was a nice restaurant just a little back uphill from the apartments but they had a private function that evening so we ate at Niko's instead which you could easily access by walking around the water then across a little pebble beach then talking a low road (closer to the water than the main drag) for one block. We enjoyed dinner there and the staff were very friendly. There's also a caffe bar a couple of blocks from the apartment at the end of the harbour and there's a small market just a few steps from the hotel (the Karlvacko sign on the wall is the clue!) you just have to walk into the building and look for the open doors. Not sure what you would do here, other than completely chill, for more than one night but we're glad we made the stopover. They seemed to have wifi in the hotel but we didn't manage to connect although the owner offered to let us use their lan connection but we figured we could wait another night.

Room Tip: Request a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Outstanding location outside Zadar overlooking a small village harbor right over the water. Relaxing, beautiful atmosphere and friendly staff. Keep in mind there is no sign on the building so get instructions before driving. Free parking is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I spent 8 nights at this hotel which is located in a beautiful, tiny and peaceful fishing village, just at the water's edge. The view is absolutely breathtaking and there are no sounds other than that of the water and the occasional seagull. We had a large room + kitchenette (very well appointed) on the last floor and facing the sea. The hotel and rooms are spotless and very comfortable, rooms are cleaned everyday, towels changed daily and bed linen every other day. The owner is very pleasant and helpful and the staff welcoming and courteous. Private parking is free of charge and conveniently located right behind the hotel. We absolutely loved our stay and look forward to going back.

Breakfast is rather expensive for the area, 10 euros/person, but delicious and copious. We chose to make our breakfast after the first day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Tamarix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Tamarix

Address: Put Vinjerca 34, Vinjerac 23247, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Vinjerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Vinjerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Tamarix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aparthotel Tamarix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Tamarix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.