We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camping l'Oree du Bois

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping l'Oree du Bois
Save
You added Camping l'Oree du Bois to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   225, route de la Bouverie, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
houghton regis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

a party of seven of us have just returned from this campsite and will not be going back. the only good part of the site is the pool area. (even though the floor tended to get very slippery). the entertainment was awful (always in french), the drinks and food were very expensive and the staff in the reception were very un-helpfull. we have camped in france many many times and have stayed in the area several times before but this was our worst experience. the site was extremely noisey with people screaming and shouting into the early hours of the morning !!!!!! there was noise from the site across the road and indeed lots of noise from the very busy roads that run along side the campsite. the pitch was on the small side and shower block nearest to us was new and very clean. thats all i have to say really !!! never again !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this campsite. We took our own tent and booked a large pitch with private sanitary facilities. The pitch was a bit of a squeeze for our 8x7m tent, trailer and car but just about fitted with a bit of careful manovering!
We hired a fridge which was great. Weren't sure what to expect but it was a proper sized fridge, brand new with a small freezer compartment. We only had a uk electric hook up and had over looked the fact that we would need a French/European one. Also, we needed more than one socket (one for the hook up and one for the fridge which had to be plugged into the main hook up socket), the campsite reception were very helpful and gave us both for free and we just had to leave a €20 deposit for each.
The private bathroom was great and well worth the money. The only improvement that can be made would be some towel hooks. I noticed that some people who had been previous years had actually brought hooks that hang over the door to hang their towels on - wish I'd have thought of that! Outside the bathroom is a washing up sink and draining board. Plenty of hot water but if we return again next year I will take one of those plastic drainers to stack the plates etc on!!
The pitch was sandy but wasn't a problem. We had sun and shade as did most pitches. The communal BBQ area was fine but you have to either buy a grill from the shop for €11 or bring your own. We never had to wait for a BBQ, there was always one free when we needed it.
Evening entertainment was loud and on our first night I was worried that the noise would go on all night but it all fell quiet at 11.30pm. Most nights there was decent music being played, one night was a hypnotist, karaoke, the usual really.
Facilities for kids were brilliant. A lovely play park, trampoline and plenty of table tennis tables. Well stocked shop, although quite pricey. The swimming pool was good however males including children are not allowed to wear beach shorts in the pool. Only tight trunks/shorts allowed which you can also purchase from the shop (but expensive). The "fast" slide was fun but I was a bit concerned that swimmers could remain so close to the end of the slide. I saw several people come down the slide and collided with swimmers at the bottom. The toilets at the pool are best avoided though as there's never any toilet roll or soap to wash your hands. No shoes are allowed in the pool area so the floor looked nice and clean, albeit a bit slippery.
We mainly used the beach as you turn left out of the site, about 1/2 mile after the lighthouse which was beautiful.
The market in La Palmyre is definitely worth a visit too.
All in all, a great campsite and a lovely holiday in my opinion. Would definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at l'oree du bois for 9 nights this summer. We had a touring caravan pitch with private sanitary facilities. We were very impressed with the private bathroom, it was nice and clean on arrival and it was heaven to have our own shower and loo. There was plenty of hot water at the sink and the bathrooms were well lit all night. The pitches were spacious and has a decent amount of shade at different times of the day. The ground is quite sandy due to the location but this didn't cause us any problems due to our own no shoes policy in the bathroom and caravan! The pool area was very nice, always clean and tidy and although the rules about no shoes and no food/ice creams are a little inconvenient, they do result in cleaner facilities. The pools were very nice and offered fun for the children with water slides and a lazy river. The on site restaurant and takeaway were decent although a little expensive. The main drawback with the site was the location. It's too far to walk to the resorts of les Mathes or la palmyre and only the Luna park is accessible on foot (via a path alongside the busy main road). If you don't mind getting the car out to go anywhere, or if you're big into cycling, the site is great. Would highly recommend a visit to la palmyre zoo and the pirate themed crazy golf at the Luna park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Arrived here for the last 2 weeks in August - drove from Manchester via Dover and the all the way. Booked through Venue Holidays excellent value for money and brilliant customer service both here and on the campsite.
This campsite is brilliant, the pool area kept both our children entertained (11 and 14) it was immaculately clean and tidy as was the whole campsite. There were english speaking staff in the shop, takeaway, bar, and reception but when in France trying out the language is all part of the fun. We hired bikes not from the campsite but down the road as they were cheaper never needed the car again for 2 weeks, great safe off road cycling to the beaches and local towns, the ice cream parlours are out of this world. As for the communal BBQ area my husband got loads of cooking tips and advice from the french grilling there, they are so much better at than we are. The entertainment is french but its still enjoyable and fun, there is a great amusement park just down the road, and also the The Hippodrome horse racing track a brilliant family afternoon entertainment very much a french family affair ( nothing like our english racetracks).
A quiet campsite with no noise after 11.30 and to be honest where we were we didnt encounter any. This is the fourth time we have done this now and for children who are active and like to be out and about you cant fault it.
If you want english food, drink and entertainment then...stay in England.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used aires as we travel round France, but wanted a week for the six year old to use a pool, this is lovely one, a usual swimming pool for serious people, and a lovely fun pool, with fountains, river etc. and a babies area. Alawys a sun bed avaialble. We had a tight squeeze to get out motohome under the large fir trees although we had booked a large pitch. still we did it and had a lovely pitch. The site like most inhe area is huge, and sandy. We just put a plastic sheet outside the door so could take shoes off. Their are ready erectedd tents and moblile home to rent. Many people seem to return each year. We were told there was a bus to the beach, but oly one at 10.04 in the morning, but three return in the afternoon, but then a good 20 minute walk to the lovely beach. I think there might be a tourist train to the beach from the town centre but we had already started walking. It did go from the campsite on Thursdays to the zoo, and the market on Sundays. Shame all the entertainment is in French, some English karoke! Always finished at 11pm and the site quiet then.A lovely childrens play area, with seating for the adults! We would go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have read some of the other reviews and am not sure if I have been to the same place.....
There are always negatives and positives and I do feel I have a slightly different view and a few suggestions.
We broke down on the very large blue bridge out side of the area. Green flag called car put on low loader and going to be taken to Range Rover dealership on Mon (this is Fri eve) we were towed to site by the low loader.... We were very tired and upset. On arrival the driver unloaded the van and left, we arrived on site at 19.30 reception closed...But all booking papers were in the bar area with staff.
The owner of the site was called, he came immediately from his home and towed us to our pitch with a tractor he could not speak English but his daughter could and she made every effort to help..Why do we always assume that the world should speak English I wish I had taken the trouble to learn as much French.
We had the pitch with the private shower/toilet + outside wash area.Absolutely BRILLIANT we had 11 other family members flying in over the 19 days we were there and this was a blessing.
Our guest ages were from 8 months to 86 so had a lot of different bathroom requirements, and for camping this was perfect.
Yes there was sand on the pitches some more than others we had two pitches one was very sandy so we covered that with plastic/groundsheets bought from the UK,problem gone, the other pitch was almost clear we pitched tents on this one and it was fine. We selected this site as it was coastal, the french do not concrete there world as we do. The roads in and out and around the site were very good.
Swimming pool....The bridges were high and yes if you were not careful you could come a cropper, the positive was that it stopped the kids from bombing around and knocking you out the way. We did find the floor area slippery when wet and you will need to be careful. Pool area was very clean and most people did not take food or drink in, there was a disabled access gate also. Pool area lovely, more than happy with it. Blue shuts can be quick but that is what you would want.
There is also a outside keep fit area for adults and a park for the children

The shop was better than expected the Man & Lady that ran it made every effort to speak English and were thrilled when you made an effort to speak French, the Guy was even saying See ya tomorrow to us when we left sounded cute but funny ... It was well stocked and Yes a little dearer than the local superU but corner shops over here are very expensive. It is a very good one stop until you do your big shop.

We arrived mid June and Left July 1, It was perfect, we did notice a much livelier atmosphere from June 28, The park was lovely with plenty of chatter on an eve from family's around there camp. late june arrived so did the noise not to much but we were told that Luna Park and the fair ground all open early july and the area is very good for teenagers..............

Food in the bar area. We did not think it was over priced for a holiday resort chicken and mango taco 7.5 euros!! Happy hour 18.30 - 19.30 2.5 euros for a half kar of wine. 8 of us ate (we not big drinkers ) a few had starters and a few had sweet and it came to 90 euro's.
July they open up a take away bar which looked good but it was a little expensive 9.5 euro for a cooked chicken I do not know if this included anything with it, I also don't know how much it would of cost in the super market, I do know that 2 small pieces of cooked chicken pre packed cost 6.95 euro's in the supermarket..

Reception staff - Laura was the most amazing helpful receptionist we have ever met, Her English was very very good and she accommodated everything we asked for even making phone calls on our behalf. There were 2 other girls who spoke good English and apologised if they pronounced anything wrong nothing was to much trouble and all was very very friendly.

As you enter the park there is a caravan on the left Maurice and his lovely Wife own this, they have caravans to rent on the site but they also help with organising arrivers.
I do not believe they are employed by the site but make every effort to help with a smooth holiday. As we had so much trouble with transport they even organised for collection of our family from the airport in La Rochelle as we had not yet received the hire car.
One little issue No BBQ on pitches, this was a pain for us as we had had ours pinched from the van with everything else we owned (brand new delux Cadac) the police new who did it but they had moved on, we spent a few days and hours on the internet to source one as my hubby was cheesed off at the loss of ours, I did laugh when we found he couldn't use it, as sorting the gas was another story I will not share. We did see families bbq'ing in the designated area with the pre built site BBQ"s and it seemed quite social we didn't miss it, but if thats your thing then it will be a problem.

We were treated very well and will be going back next year.

Hope this helps. Happy Holidaying

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here in a ready tent booked through Venue holidays. The campsite is attractive, but the pitches are small and very sandy, not nice yellow sand, black dirty sand which gets everywhere.
The pool complex is first rate, clean, lots of sun beds, good slides and nice and warm. The life guards are a bit bulshy, but i think that is ok, at least you know they are life guarding!
The park area for children is nice, but just a bit too nice, doesnt have a nice sort of feel to it. The toilet facilities are hideous and this in my mind is what lets this site down. The loos are really filthy, excrement on the walls, tiny cubicles, no loo roll and no soap. Even in the pool next to the swimming pool there is no soap or loo roll, so it does make you wonder what germs may have been in the pool!
The entertainment was very French, which of course it should be, but my god was it loud. Every night at 9pm the noise would start, you can hear it all around the campsite and it was very very noisy. There is also quite a busy road near the site as well so you hear a fair bit of traffic. Infact the noise is something that put a bit of a downer on the holiday.
This campsite has the potential to be really good, but i wont go back.

Room Tip: Family campsite, bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping l'Oree du Bois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping l'Oree du Bois

Address: 225, route de la Bouverie, 17570 La Palmyre-Les Mathes, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in La Palmyre-Les Mathes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping l'Oree du Bois 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping l'Oree du Bois in la Palmyre - les Mathes, offers 7 ha of pine trees with 429 pitches at the heart of the forest of la Coubre, making it the ideal destination for a holiday in Charente - Maritime. At only 4 kilometres from the beaches of the Atlantic Ocean, this family site has an extraordinary setting, half way between Royan and the Ile d'Oleron, at only 60 kilometres from la Rochelle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping l`Oree Du Bois Hotel La Palmyre-Les Mathes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping l'Oree du Bois, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.