We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to all superlatives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan-yr-Onnen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tan-yr-Onnen to your Saves list
Tan-yr-Onnen
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Waen, St. Asaph LL17 0DU, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Asaph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Lives up to all superlatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Only a quick review because this guest house lives up to all the nice things that have been written about it previously. The house itself is gracious and well located just off the main East West expressway along the N Wales coast (but not within earshot of it). The accommodation is of 4/5 star hotel standard and the breakfast is excellent, but the key contributor to the place's elevated rating on Trip Advisor and other sites is the warmth of the genuine welcome offered by the proprietors and their charming children. Truly excellent and worth all the plaudits received. Thanks, we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
60
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in 'Daisy' room. Beautifully furnished room with excellent bathroom(wet room) catering for someone who can't easily access step in showers. Everything was fresh and spotlessly clean. All you need in a room plus many extras such as bathrobes, towels,toiletries, iron and board, hairdryer, flat screen, free wi-fi, well stocked and replenished tea tray and also a small fridge. Lovely hosts who are knowledgeable about the area and able to recommend local restaurants and excursions. The breakfasts are superbly cooked by Sarah and Patrick. The dining room is lovely with crisply laundered tablecloths. I decided to book this after reading all the trip advisor reviews and I would add my recommendation to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: The high quality wet room provided in Daisy is excellent for anyone who struggles stepping in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room was excellent, very clean and comfortable with many nice touches such as bath robes and fresh milk in fridge. Hosts were very friendly with useful local advice. Breakfast was delicious with many items sourced locally giving a perfect start to the day. Would recommend Tan-yr-Onnen to anyone looking to stay in North Wales. Well deserved 5* rating

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSWINFORD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights so we could catch up with family and friends nearby. We can no longer stay with any of them as my husband can't manage stairs. Sara and Patrick are perfect hosts. Daisy room is probably the best disabled room we have stayed in. Perfectly thought through with everything you need without being 'in your face' I could just as easily stayed in Daisy when my husband was well. a few disabled rooms we have encountered are depressing this one is fabulous. No expense spared on the most amazing wet room The breakfast is faultless!!! Fresh locally sourced ingredients superbly cooked.. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a lovely aspect. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two weeks in one of the apartments which were very roomy with lounge bedroom and bathroom all of good size.the location is handy for sightseeing and having the apartment to relax in afterwards was very good.Pat and Sara were excellent hosts always with a welcoming smile and offering good advice. the breakfasts were very good with lots of choice,try the black pudding!!!!.the standard of fittings were of a high standard

Room Tip: Although the bedrooms were also roomy and of good quality, try the apartment for the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

What a stunning place to stay, in the country side for a relaxing weekend. Sara has a very friendly welcome with a fresh coffee, the room is amazingly beautiful, really deserves its 5 star rating. Highly recommend anyone to stay here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lovely guest house with very welcoming hosts. The rooms are mostly purpose built, so, have great facilities including access for wheelchairs. Staying in guest houses is much more personal than in hotels and the extra touches are lovely (which you would get in expensive hotels). I would return, and would absolutely recommend it to others who are passing through or planning to explore north Wales. The breakfast was very good...everything you would expect in a British guest house but so well cooked and very importantly, good coffee.
The directions provided here were really easy to follow. The place would be best for road trip travellers as it is a rural location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan-yr-Onnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-yr-Onnen

Address: Waen, St. Asaph LL17 0DU, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan-yr-Onnen 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a 5 Star luxury Bed and Breakfast Service in beautiful North Wales. Our rooms are luxuriously appointed and our Guest house is a great location to explore all that North Wales has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan-yr-Onnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Yr-Onnen St. Asaph, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan-yr-Onnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.