We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talardy Hotel, St Asaph” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talardy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Talardy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talardy Hotel
The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in St. Asaph
Abergele
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Talardy Hotel, St Asaph”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Decided to try the newly refurbished restaurant as we'd been a few times before. Lovely setting, staff very pleasant, and the food was good though was missing the onion rings. We're finding that items that are listed on the menu are missing when served.....not just here. I can't understand that the chef doesn't know the content of the meals on the menu. A very good selection of meals, though my steak was supposed to be rare and my partners...medium. We were served by a different person than the one who took our order...only when we started eating, did we realize that he hadn't asked who had ordered what......they were both same..somewhere in between. Regardless...we'd go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    22
    22
    23
See reviews for
41
45
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
On this Globe
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Newly refurbished by new owners Marstons, The Talardy is now primarily a Restaurant and an excellent one at that. I am unable to comment on the Hotel accommodation, in fact I am not too sure that it is still provided.
Only opened three weeks before our visit teething problems have been solved and a delightful experience can now be enjoyed. The Menu is varied and inviting, pricing pitched at the right level, catered by willing and friendly staff delivering good quality food, served hot and efficiently. With four of us selecting differing dishes there was no cause for complaint as each plate as requested and presented as it should be. The sauces were delicious and more would have been welcome. One member of our party alluded to having the best Scampi ever!!. Wine and drinks were not overpriced and of fair quality, more so than some establishments I know. Not a great variety of desserts, but quality was very apparent. The greatest omission for me was not having Cheese and Biscuits available on the menu or by request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

First visit 15th Aug, 6 of us went for a Brithday meal at 7.30pm to be told at 7.50pm that the kitchen had closed. I decided to return with another group of friends on the 20th Aug as not to be too critical and to give it a go as the Talardy has been a focal point in St Asaph for many years. Basically the food was terrible, the chicken was very dry, my 4!!! wedges were greasy, the corn on the cob watery and over cooked, I asked the waiter if the ribs had a glaze and was told yes, but they came with no glaze. A bad night as we noticed 3 other diners complaining and one couple left before their drinks arrived because of this. The refurbishment is stunning and I hope the Talardy improves as I would definitely return if the reviews improve.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Asaph hotels

Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Beautiful refurb.
We visited about 5pm on the Saturday before bank hol. One thing that annoyed me was i phoned to reserve a table, for 6, but was told 1st come 1st served. Upon arrival i found several tables had been reserved as a large party had pre booked. When i enquired the young lady was rather rude and told me that it was different for large parties. We tried to sit at table with padded benches as my husband has a back problem. All the comfy chairs were "pre booked". We left at 7.00 and this so called large party still hadn't arrived!
The service wasn't great but our food was lovely. I personally tried the speciality rotisserie chicken, cooked to perfection! I would say over all the food was fantastic, plenty to choose from on the menu. only let down was the lack of staff training. Give this restaurant 6months and i'm sure the kinks will be ironed out. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently went to stay at the Talardy since it has reopened. I regularly have to go to that area to visit family so I have stayed at various locations. Can I say what a lovely stay we had!! i find it hard to believe these reviews are of the same place. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and saw to our every need. The rooms are furnished well and were very comfortable. My husband particularly loved the breakfast in the morning. The food was of a high standard and we didn't have to wait to long to be served either. I would recommend The Talardy to any of my friends and will certainly be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were lovely big, spacious, airy and clean. Food was great-just what you expect in a good marstons, plentiful and a good choice! We had stayed previously just down the road, and realised that food elsewhere was double the price for half the quantity. Thanks to Amanda and the girls loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Today was quiet , being the day after the bank holiday, ordered at the bar , no problem , sat outside and my fish pie was delivered promptly. The pie , whilst being tasty was obviously microwaved and quite dry ( as well as being extremely hot) the veg looked fresh and appetising but were only tepid. No check backs by the staff (and there were plenty of them) let down what should have been a good lunch. Three stars only but this place has potential.

Room Tip: didn't stay but if the rooms have been refitted to the same standard as the downstairs then it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talardy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talardy Hotel

Address: The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talardy is a beautifully restored Georgian hotel. We are situated adjacent to the newly ordained City of St Asaph. We have 11 luxury en suite bedrooms including two family suites. All our room rates are inclusive of a freshly cooked breakfast the perfect way to end your stay. Downstairs in our family pub restaurant we serve our Chicken Rotisserie menu until 9pm every day.Outside we have a beautifully landscaped garden, family dining and children’s play area. The Talardy is perfect place for business, pleasure or any occasion. We can’t wait for you to join us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Talardy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talardy Hotel St. Asaph, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talardy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.