We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue, good food, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oriel Country Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Asaph
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice venue, good food, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Oriel for three nights from an offer through KGB Deals. We were offered the option of upgrading to a deluxe room for a small cost which we took. We were both very happy we did this. The room was large, well appointed and very comfortable.

The staff at the Oriel were nothing short of fantastic. They were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them, the reception and bar/waiting staff deserve particular praise.

On our first night, after a somewhat harrowing journey there, we elected to treat ourselves and ordered room service. We both had the burger and french fries from the room service menu. While £12.95 is perhaps a little steep for a burger, it was of excellent quality, cooked well, very well presented and just what the Dr ordered after our day.

The remaining two nights we ate in the hotel after taking up their two course meal offer, we were not disappointed. The food was delicious, and well prepared. While the menu was perhaps a little limited, the staff were very accommodating and any request to alter an item was fulfilled with a smile and presented in the same excellent manner. Effectively giving a "mix and match" feel to the menu which we were very thankful for as we are both particularly picky eaters. The breakfast selection is excellent with all the usual offerings on the continental side and a beautifully cooked breakfast of whatever we wanted. As a diabetic I was particularly impressed to see that they offered diabetic jam, this is not something I have seen offered in any hotel previously.

The leisure facilities were good, however the pool area in particular could do with some sprucing up. We were a little disappointed that the steam room now appears to be used as a store cupboard.

Overall we were extremely happy with our stay. The staff were excellent and the venue was perfect as a base to explore north Wales and Cheshire. The little touches are what turn this from a good hotel into a great hotel. We will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    96
    39
    22
    9
See reviews for
46
120
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gorgeous hotel slightly out of the way, very comfortable rooms and excellent staff who are very happy to help you. Only one slight bug bear was that the bathroom needed a little attention which to the hotels credit they did immediately ! Very impressed !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice Hotel but very overpriced, you would expect a lot more. The room was very basic the cold water in the bath didn't even work and we where told to use the cold water from the shower. This was a superior room!!

All this for £115 per night (we even received a discount as we where there for a wedding).

Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking the car park it can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had our wedding here on 25th Oct, we had the best day,nothing was too much trouble,the staff were amazing.. I also stayed the night before and had a pre wedding dinner with 16 other friends and family, which was also fabulous.. Indonesion Suite is just perfect, whether its for your wedding night or a romantic night, all facilities were used by most of the guests at the wedding, who also stayed at the hotel, and loved it all, breakfast was delicious too.. Would recommend to anyone for a wedding or a weekend away..

Room Tip: Indonesion Suite every time..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights and had a great time. All the staff are friendly and welcoming. The reception staff were efficient and made you feel nothing would be too much trouble.

We made full use of the sauna and indoor heated pool. Rooms were a good size with plenty storage space.

We had the Welsh breakfast both mornings - worth the extra cost

When we visit friends in Wales again we will definitely stay here. It's also in a great location for visiting Rhyll, Prestatyn and Chester.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here with my 8 year old daughter on a KGB deal ( as her school was shut for 2 days) & we had a lovely time-didn't want to come home !!
All the staff are lovely & friendly and go out of their way to help you , the Manager Sarah, was so helpful finding out what was open for an 8 year old child on our last day, we ended up at Green Forrest Park In Gwynedd which was great & went to the Welsh Mountain Zoo on the Monday,again helped with our choice by the staff.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough, food is fabulous too!
We will definately be coming back again in the very near future.
Suitable for everyone ...even my daughter commented on how spotless the hotel toilets were & how nice the staff were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Oriel for a two night stay the room was lovely spacious and very clean, the whole visit was very enjoyable we used the pool which was nice walm and clean. Breakfast was very nice served hot and on time.The staff where very polite and friendley. We would definatley go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriel Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriel Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Upper Denbigh Road, St. Asaph LL17 0LW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > St. Asaph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St. Asaph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Oriel Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriel Country Hotel St. Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel And Spa
Oriel Hotel St Asaph
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa St. Asaph, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriel Country Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.