We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel In Zurich Greater Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorell Hotel Sonnental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sorell Hotel Sonnental to your Saves list
Sorell Hotel Sonnental
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zuerichstrasse 94, Dubendorf 8600, Switzerland (Formerly City and Wellness Swiss Hotel Sonnental )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Hotel In Zurich Greater Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel Sonnental is a very good hotel in Dubendorf Area, they have a very good restaurant with very good menu.
Located in Dubendorf, very easy to reach since the locations is very close to Stettbach Train Station, and Ringwiessen Tramp Station and they have a bus station too in front of the hotel. you can reach from the airport directly to the hotel and located only less than 10 mins from Zurich HB.

The room is quite simple with wood parquette floor and every room equipped with hairdryer 50 TV channel.

The hotel staff is very friendly and very helpful, the reception's is very nice and friendly.

This hotel also have a spa wellness for relaxing your stress days, it is a very good spa with very nice ambient inside.

i will recommend every person i know when they visit zurich.

Thank you for all the Reception....

Dankeschon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    68
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
18
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
groet, the netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we enjoyed our stay at the sonnental. the staff were very kind and helpful. the restaurant, for breakfast and dinner, was first class. the only "bad" thing we have to say is, that we both found the matresses very very soft.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. No complaints.
Free wi-fi was useful and you don't have to get sent the code by SMS, you can get a voucher from reception. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Restaurant food was good as was the breakfast buffet. Location was perfect from my business trip. But it is not downtown Zurich by a long way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked a "budget single room". It was very clean, spacious with everything I needed. Definitely great value! The personnel is also very nice and helpful, and the restaurant is convenient and good. The only thing is the location. If you want to be in Dübendorf for business (as I did), then it is perfect. If you are actually on vacation and interested in Zurich, then know that you are about 1/2 away from downtown using public transit (still not too bad) and that you will not find many shops, restaurants or other entertainment directly in the area. If you're looking for quiet, then it is still great. And they do have a spa in the hotel that I did not have the chance to try, which may justify the location on its own...
As for me, I plan to go back on my next business trip to Dübendorf!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here for couple of days. The first room was okay but I heard everything from the neighbors ...everything... It was nightmare. I reported to the GM who gave me a new room..the same situation and worse the quality of the room even worse! Odor like hell.. I definitely not returning here! Even the spa area is okay this hotel I do not go back..nightmare

Room Tip: Main building or not u hear everything from your neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in February en route to Bormio.
The welcome was excellent and parking was very easy although I would not have found the hotel easily without sat nav.
Plus points are that the place is exceptionally clean and well presented so 10 out of 10 to the housekeeping team, but this isn't a luxury hotel and fittings and furnishings are pretty basic but there again, it's not priced to be in that market.
Wi-fi was free and fast and there was no intrusive traffic noise.
My 'single' room was actually a double bed pushed into the corner of a room. The bedding was fine although the bed itself felt like a trampoline!
Breakfast was the usual fare and absolutely fine, so all in all, good value for money and no regrets about choosing this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed here once or twice a year for the past 5 years. For my business purposes, it has been very convenient, very close to ZRH airport with relatively easy access to Zurich and only steps away from the building where my meetings take place. The hotel is accessible by train/tram from the airport, otherwise it is an approximately 40-45 Euro taxi ride. The rooms are somewhat spartan, but clean and well-organized. The staff is friendly and efficient (and generally speak English very well, if that matters to you). Wifi is available (free for 48 hrs if you are willing to provide your cell phone number and are able to receive SMS messages - a problem with some American carriers - otherwise it's fairly expensive via Swisscom) and the connection is reliable and fast. The staff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant is very good and has Swiss/Austrian/French features with a very good selection of meat dishes in particular, but is expensive and the service is polite but otherwise nothing special and can be quite slow. They have a very good buffet-style breakfast which is included. The hotel contains a spa ("wellness center), though I have never had the time nor inclination to avail myself of this resource, and therefore can neither comment on its features nor its quality. For a town in such proximity to the airport, Dubendorf is quite charming and relatively pastoral, unlike the concrete jungles I am accustomed to in similar circumstances within the US. I enjoy being able to run while traveling, and Dubendorf has well-maintained pedestrian and bicycle paths along the river coursing through town, which can be accessed approximately 0.5 km away from the hotel by exiting the hotel and heading north on Ringstrasse. Once reaching the river, going right (east) will take you toward empty fields and then running trails in the hills, with thick woods and even waterfalls within 5-6 km. Although reaching the heart of Zurich is relatively easy from this hotel, a more central location within Zurich would probably be more desirable for tourist purposes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sorell Hotel Sonnental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Sonnental

Address: Zuerichstrasse 94, Dubendorf 8600, Switzerland (Formerly City and Wellness Swiss Hotel Sonnental )
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Dubendorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dubendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Sonnental 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Sorell Hotel Sonnental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnental Hotel Dubendorf
Sorell Hotel Sonnental Dubendorf, Canton Of Zurich, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorell Hotel Sonnental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.