We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falconary at ashford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ireland's School of Falconry

Ireland's School of Falconry
c/o Ashford Castle, Cong, Ireland
087 297 6092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Cong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A chance for you to fly a hawk around the spectacular grounds of Ashford Castle in a private one hour Hawk Walk. No-one ever forgets the moment when their hawk first swoops down from a tree to land on their gloved fist - Flying a hawk is an experience of a lifetime!
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Falconary at ashford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a brilliant experience, and if you go to the Ashford Castle do this, it brigs you back to the days of yore, great sence of old world and historical activity.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    1
    0
    0
    0
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The staff were very knowledgeable and really seemed to enjoy their jobs. They let us take out 3 birds for the 5 of us so we each got a lot of flying time. The birds were giving quite the show and we had a large group following us. If you have the stomach for it, it is a neat experience to give them their dinner before they go to bed. The birds were great and very calm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Did the extended hour and half lesson. This was by far one of the most enjoyable experiences we had. Where else can you do falconry? Don't miss the chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Couldn't stop smiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family (myself, husband and 3 sons aged 22,20 and 18) recently visited beautiful Ireland and read about this adventure here on Trip Advisor. Since everyone raved about the experience and the School was directly on our route from Ballina to Adare, we decided to take the Extended Hawk Walk. Laura was our guide and we cannot praise her enough for her enthusiasm, knowledge and guidance. All five of us went together with 3 brother Harris Hawks (Ha! 3 brothers with 3 brothers) and took turns flying them through the woods. After that amazing sight (3 hawks zooming through tree branches with ease) we had the privilege of flying Dingle the owl. They don't always offer to fly Dingle depending on his mood and what other birds are flying about, but we were able to handle this amazing creature with his bright orange eyes! Unforgetable! Thank you so much, Laura!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff were fantastic, very informative and knowledgeable, i enjoy my hour walk and would highly recommend this activity at Ashford.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ireland's School of Falconry also viewed

 

Been to Ireland's School of Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ireland's School of Falconry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.