We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Tour & Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cong the Quiet Man Museum

Cong the Quiet Man Museum
Main Street, Cong, Ireland
Improve this listing
Visit Cong the Quiet Man Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$28*
and up
Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey...
Ranked #8 of 14 things to do in Cong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Walking Tour & Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Traveling from Galway to Derry our coach tour bus stopped for a guided walking tour of Cong where the film “The Quiet Man” was filmed in the 1950s. Our tour guide was named Jerry and he was absolutley full of knowledge about both the film and the town of Cong having been born and raised there. The tour was interactive in which some of our tour members “re-enacted” parts of the film at locations where the filming was actually done. It was very much fun and we all had a good laugh.

After the walking tour, we went into the museum and took part in another skit. We dressed in period clothing and were "directed" by Jerry to perform minor bits. Many more laughs were had by our entire group. This was a very fun stop for all of us. We were probably in Cong for about and hour and a half.

There is a gift shop on the upper floor of the museum. A small, narrow staircase is required to access it. Once in the shop, the aisles are very narrow and the shop is small. There are some unique "The Quiet Man" movie souvenirs for purchase.

The town of Cong is small and quaint. The River Cong flows through town and has some beautiful settings for photos. We enjoyed our time in Cong a great deal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    9
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A small museum for a very big film”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Quiet Man museum is a must for fans of the film but of only passing interest to anyone else. Some of the original clothes worn in the film are on display. There are also several good re-creations of rooms from the cottage. Having said that it is a small museum and the entrance fee is a bit on the high side for whats on offer.
Its in the middle of Cong village which itself is worth a visit as there are some interesting historic ruins and an excellent forest park

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small, authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This museum is not large, but will interest those who have seen the film. It has both authentic pieces from film and similar items. Everything is clearly marked as to which it is. Fun to image the things in use and stand in what appears to be the house from the movie. Note that the museum is not the actual house as that no longer exists.Tickets are purchased upstairs in the shop and they open the door for you to enter. Take all the time you wish and leave when you are ready. There is also a walking tour available visiting sites from the film. We did not try that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad Tour-Drunk Tour Guide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Overpriced just doesn't quite express the feelings of being shilled. Our tour guide, Frank, was either drunk or under the influence of something. And not cute/funny Michaeleen drunk. When asked he said that he had grown up in the area but in reality, we probably new more about the movie and the town or at least were able to remember the details. He smelled so foul that we had to keep moving away from him and the most fun we had was in asking him simple questions (like - are there fish in that river) and watching him become very confused. The museum is kinda lame and you can buy a map for your own walking tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not too much to it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spent about an hour there. Kind of a waste. I think the gift shop was bigger than the museum full of movie props.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cong the Quiet Man Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cong the Quiet Man Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cong the Quiet Man Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.