We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Abbey of Cong

Royal Abbey of Cong
Cong, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Connemara Day Trip from Galway: Kylemore Abbey...
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Cong
Type: Historic Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There isn't much in Cong village, but this place is pretty cool. It's right when you come off the path from the Ashford Castle. Just ruins, but it's a nice piece of history.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Abbey of Cong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very well kept treasure, free to wander around. The whole town is well looked after and the donations to the wishing well are spent on improvements to the village. A very worthy cause.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just looking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We ran into the Abby by mistake on the way to town to get shaving cream. It is beautiful and well worth some time to visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“A nice stop along the road...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here en route from Donegal to Galway. It was relaxing. We didn't spend too much time, but to walk through the abbey and down through the forest paths to the stream was nice. We also walked to the old fishing house, which was fairly ingenious. There's a bridge to the other side of the water, where hiking trails are prevalent.

Beware, the map of Ireland we were using to navigate by placed Cong Abbey in between Cong and Cross. We discovered the hard way not to follow the star on the map. The abbey is IN Cong, so if you have the same map we did, don't be confused.

I'd stop here again. Not much to see or do, but just be quiet for a few minutes, and let nature speak.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quiet and Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Very easy walk from Ashford Castle, and a grand entrance to the village of Cong. Very interesting cemetery to peruse. We saw it while it served as the backdrop to the filming of a new TV series. The period costumes of the actors and actresses and 14th century props made it seem like we were glimpsing it's former glory. Wish I could have spent more time walking in the park and down along the river. A good place to go to unwind.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Abbey of Cong also viewed

 

Been to Royal Abbey of Cong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Abbey of Cong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.