We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Ashford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Romantic break away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Positives
Just went to Ashford Castle with my boyfriend and loved it. Was so romantic! The lovely drive in and walks around the beautiful surroundings really makes the place special. In addition to this the staff were all friendly and helpful, the food was superb and the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The live entertainment every evening is a nice touch too! We really couldn't have asked for more! Will be back!

Negatives
Would avoid the spa!!! It actually takes from the overall experience!! Seriously needs a refurb!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    197
    63
    42
    18
See reviews for
341
751
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent the last two days in Ashford Castle, Cong. I have stayed in some of the worlds premier hotels but this is in a class of its own. The hotel is a 12th century castle with the highest standards in beautiful surroundings.

On arrival we were upgraded to a suite that was tastefully decorated. The room was massive with flat screens in each room. The beds were so comfortable and we had sherry awaiting our arrival. The view from the room was overlooking the lake, so inspiring and romantic.

The food was excellent and our treat was the formal dinner in the George V restaurant. Martin and his team know how to treat a guest and we were made to feel like VIP's. The quality of the food was superb, among the best I have ever had.

My wife had booked me a days fishing with Frank the gillie. We departed on his boat, hand made by himself. He was knowledgable, skilled and very well informed about the history of the area. At lunch time he produced a picnic basket and stopped on the island where he made us tea. His company was superb, just a pity we didn't hold onto the fish we had hooked, but a great day regardless.

With all these reasons, this was not what made the venue so special. It could do with an improved spa for the entertainment of the wife. The staff were the key to the hotel. Within the grandeur of a beautiful castle and the immaculate surroundings, the history and the activities, the staff were exceptional. From booking through to check-in the staff, all of them, knew our names. Nothing was too difficult for them. The management were so helpful and thought nothing of offering you a drink or refreshments.

Aine and jennifer at reception were constantly seeking to make the experience special and they succeeded. Yvonne and Michael, two of the managers through to Killian a waiter, Nicholas with the wines and our waiter were superb at making us feel special. They were all exceptional.

I don't normally give such glowing reviews but on this occasion it is worth it. The hotel is not cheap but is worth every penny, as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for' but this place is much better than that. We had a wonderful experience to be treasured forever. I can't wait to get back!

Don't miss this spot and take away what I believe is Ireland's hospitality at it's very best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have just returned after spending three wonderful nights at the Lodge at Ashford castle. As a treat we booked Lady Ardilauns afternoon tea in the castle on Easter Monday. To put in mildly not a five star event. When we arrived we were pushed in the bar served cold tea average food and charged one hundred Euros. It was all very disappointing to be served in the bar when the menu and prices point very clearly to service in the drawing room. Never again !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here for our belated wedding anniversary, although reading some of the other recent reviews I'm a little disappointed we didn't get to stay in one of the recently refurbished rooms as some others have. I'm a little surprised, as I'm sure the hotel wasn't at capacity at the time we stayed, and one thing we did notice was that our lake view room was quite small (ie. smaller than the one shown in the picture on the website) and a bit shabby in places (slightly banged-up wallpaper etc) and could maybe do with a bit of an overhaul.

That said, it didn't really detract from our stay. The grounds and surroundings are lovely and we enjoyed nature walks, visiting Cong, wandering around the ruins of the abbey and spotting locations from the film 'The Quiet Man' (yes my husband is Irish and he grew up on that movie)....

Breakfast was really fantastic, with a highlight being the best smoked salmon I think I've ever tasted, and hot cooked-to-order options including the usual suspects such as (delicious) pancakes but also some other more unusual treats such as truffled scrambled eggs, mackerel, and mushrooms stuffed with goat's cheese (which my husband assures me were amazing).

We didn't eat dinner in the George V dining room, and neither did 99% of the other guests staying at the time. We went upstairs to have a look and saw one lone couple sitting rather forlornly in the huge George V dining space - instead the entire hotel seemed to be squashed down in Cullen's in the Dungeon which, as another reviewer has noted, is a bit ironic considering it's a quite tackily decorated basement room (replete with a suit of armour) which has absolutely no view whatsoever. Considering the beautiful location and outlook of the castle it seems a big waste and a little offensive that if you aren't prepared to pay totally outlandish dining prices (and in fact the prices in Cullen's were still hefty enough) you are literally relegated to the dungeon! Surely there is another space in the 'above ground' part of the castle with a nicer atmosphere and outlook that could be used as a more casual restaurant for dinner in the cooler months until Cullen's at the Cottage opens during summer?

On another note, my husband made use of the gym and jacuzzi one afternoon and mentioned that unfortunately some of the gym equipment seemed to be out of order and there was some mould growing under/around the non-slip mats around the jacuzzi - in fact this entire area of the hotel seemed a bit worse for wear and run-down.

On the other hand, things that were great about the hotel in no particular order; we loved the guy welcoming us at the castle gates when we first arrived. In fact all staff were very friendly and greeted us by name much of the time - in general we found everyone very professional and courteous. The atmosphere in the common areas was really lovely (including the drawing room and the library) - it was these common areas that really made the hotel feel special for us and we enjoyed relaxing with a cup of tea and spending time there. The twice-a-day housekeeping in the rooms was also great, with a turn down service in the evening and nice touches such as little chocolates left on the pillow and poems about Ashford Castle - all of which was very quaint and thoughtful.

Overall, except for a few things mentioned above which could have made the stay really special if they had been better, it was an agreeable anniversary stay in a picturesque location and there were many thoughtful touches and enjoyable moments throughout.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I Really enjoyed my trip, the food was lovely, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it is just fabulous both inside and out! I went with my mother and friend and they both thoroughly enjoyed it also. I would really recommend it and would definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our one week tour. It was so beautiful and a truly exceptional experience. The castle was breathtaking and the people were genuinely kind and helpful. We especially liked Michael, the young waiter in the Dungeon, the downstairs pub. He was fun to talk to and gave us a lot of information about the area. We walked into the city of Cong. Along the way, everyone who passed in a car beeped their horn and waived. We stopped for tea in The Hungry Monk where everyone was so friendly! If you need a table, people practically jump up from their table to give you a seat. A really good experience both at the castle and in the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend in ashford castle and we had a brilliant time. The building and grounds are visually stunning. The food was great and the general ambiance of the hotel is so relaxing. I went on two horse rides, one through the woods and one along the lake shore. They were both absolutely beautiful. There are so many activities to do here and the whole area is great to just wander around. We had a small issue during our stay and it was dealt with immediately and perfectly by one of the managers Catherine. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.