We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Ashford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Castle Estate | Co. Mayo, Cong, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gourmet Breaks
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is by far one of my favourite places on earth.
we have stayed at Ashford 3 times now and although my most recent visit was more disappointing due to lack of heat and hot water in our deluxe room I cannot wait to return when the castle re-opens.
The rooms are outstanding and food also, we have dined in all available options and would highly recommend each one.
The grounds are stunningly beautiful and within walking distance to the charming village of Cong.
This is one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in and I always feel welcomed by staff who generally go out of their way to help.
Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    204
    66
    42
    18
See reviews for
355
794
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent 2 days during Halloween, it was the best experience for the kids.
the staff were excellent. We ate in Cullens resturant on the grounds of the castle as the kids wouldn't appreciate the fine dining. The food was excellent & suited all ages.
beautiful walks on the estate & a 5 min walk into the town of cong. It was a great experience for all the family to spend Halloween in a Irish castle.
many thanks to all the staff for making it a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: A lake view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roquefort les pins france
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the Ashford castle for one night and really enjoyed it. The room and bathrooms were OK but a need refurbishing. The room was way too hot ( in January ) and on top of that we had quite a few fire alarms during the night because of a bad thunder storm so we did not really sleep.
When we checked in around 5pm, we were told that the Drawing room restaurant was full so we had no choice but eat at the George V restaurant. I was quite annoyed about it because we spend 265 euros for a dinner for 2 wich was good but really not worth the money. The service was excellent but the sommelier does not know wine at all !!! He suggested a French red from Pays d'Oc 2012 for 60 euros, I just knew it could not be nice, I would not even cook with it but we tried it, it was just awful, I selected something else, asked him to try it so he would know what a nice wine is, he sais that it had more flavour...
The George V restaurant is not big enough for all the guests in the morning for breakfast, people have to sit and wait in the drawing room. The breakfast buffet was very nice, very good selection.
The property is huge but because of the terrible storm, we could not go for a walk but I am sure it is very nice.
Except from that, the staff is very well trained, plaisant and helpfull.
The couches in the drawing room are so old and stained that we did not even sit there.

Room Tip: we had a standard room in the back, still pretty big considering it is only standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best we have ever been and I will most definitely be back. My husband and I stayed here as one of our many stops while traveling around Europe and this was by far our favorite! We travel a lot and are very picky and Ashord met EVERY need. While staying here we felt like absolute royalty. The castle is beautiful and the service was the best I have had. To top it all off the food was out of this world good. We are foodies and surprised it does not have a Michelin start food was so very good in the main dining room. There is so much to do for everyone in the family. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Being a special occasion ( Anniversary) we chose this wonderful hotel and it didn't disappoint, in fact from the moment we arrived we were treated to amazing friendly attention. Mulled wine greeted us , which was very welcome as it was a cold day, after booking in, which again was an enjoyable experience, we were treated to complementary tea or coffee in the comfortable drawing room. A member of staff brought our key to us and showed us to our room ,which was warm ,bright & airy and very comfortable. Dinner in the dining room again was exactly what one would expect from a 5* , with dinner jackets a must, the food was delicious. The waiting staff were attentive but not intrusive. Pop up stairs to the "Hall of Fame" where you can see all of the celebrities , Politicians etc who have had the privilege to stay within these wonderful walls. Music was provided by a harpist which added to the atmosphere, afterwards in the drawing room music was easy listening couple, wonderful end to the evening. Breakfast next morning was perfect , a mix of buffet , which had every conceivable type of food one could want, and cooked breakfast ordered from waiting staff. A must after breakfast is a walk in the grounds which even in winter looked amazing with the beds of ornamental cabbage dotted around, continue on to the Hawk area and there is a tennis court for the energetic ! Memories of this wonderful place will stay with us and remind us of a wonderful special Anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked a state room that was really nice. Furnishings were beautiful. We had dinner in the 'fine dining' room (guys...jackets are required and they have a couple that you can borrow). The food was great but I wasn't wild about the location of our table (right next to the wait station so lots of banging around).

We were there during Superstorm Christine which made for a very noisy night with the wind and rain. About 1:30 am I woke up to some loud noises and peeked out in the hallway. The fire alarm was going off. It finally stopped, but within the next hour it went off twice more. I called the desk and they said due to power outages and surges the alarm was triggering. About the time that all calmed down there began this loud thumping at random times. Could not figure out what it was but was too tired to call again. Finally gave up sleeping about 5 am and got ready for the day. Headed downstairs to find tea and visited with the front desk. They said they would check it out and sure enough a door to the roof had come unlocked and was banging. My bad for not going ahead and calling at 3 am.

The grounds are beautiful and I am sure that if you are there any time other than superstorms all the outside activities would be wonderful. If I ever have an opportunity to return, I will definitely try the falconry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I took my Grandmother and finance here for high tea, it was really something special! The drawing room it was served in was simply 'other worldly' and decked out with the most opulent and comfortable furniture! The tea itself was delicious and high tea for 2 was more than enough for the three of us, we didn't finish everything! The staff were amazing and to visit the gardens afterwards was beautiful. I can't wait to re-visit and next time for a stay at the castle!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Ashford Castle Estate | Co. Mayo, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW and Orbitz so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.