We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ashford Castle to your Saves list
Ashford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just got home from the Ashford Castle. The room was so beautiful you felt like a princess. The bathroom was very large with 2 vanity sinks and a huge bathtub. We had 2 queen beds, a seating area, and we overlooked Corrib Lake. The staff is extremely professional and no question or want went without answer. The grounds are stunning and the activities available are never ending. I would highly recommend the Falconry School as it is really a once in a life time experience!

Room Tip: The upgrade to a Corrib Lake view room is worth it. Waking up to sunshine and a lake view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    197
    63
    42
    18
See reviews for
340
750
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful castle and grounds and the inside has been done up between manor house and palace. We received attentive and excellent service during our stay. The staff was more than helpful and there was so much to do. The kids did the falconry and we watched the Australian fill crew who were filming "Reign" for a tv series. Our room had a view of the lake and the turndown service was incomparable. We had the usual mints but also, mats beside the bed with houseshoes for each of us. I would have loved spending a week there but, alas, we only had time for two nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this property one week ago while in Ireland, and found it fascinating. Beautiful grounds, and property. Would have loved to have done the Falconrey walk, but we did find that expensive for one hour. We did the boat ride however around the surrounding lake, and it was well worth it. There is lots to do here, golf, walks, etc. The only thing is I thought is that they should have more seating outdoors. There is so much property to set out patio tables so you can sit outside, have a drink, and take in the beautiful scenery. Food is excellent as well. And the village of Cong is well worth the short walk. Beautiful town.

Room Tip: Bring walking shoes, and take in all the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we checked in at ashford the weather was great, the location breath taking, they kindly upgraded us so that all our heavy luggage could fit, then when the shower did not work they shifted us and for the inconvenience they gave us a complimentary dinner. When my mum fell down on the grounds, TJ took her to the doctor and Ashford took care of the bill...exceptional behaviour far surpasses any standards of hospitality anywhere in the world...people make a place and ashford is made by it's people...further as we were so very touched we wanted to offer the entire staff a tip and the response we got was even more exceptional we were told to give it to an irish charity...You cannot find a more nobler thought...We did do that in Dublin...Great stay!!!

Room Tip: pl take lake facing rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful castle and grounds. There was a mixup with our room and we were not given our deluxe room because they were already taken which was confusing since we were checking in early at noon. The room was spacious but the bedding and decor was dated. We stayed two nights and on the second day our room wasn't cleaned until after 4 PM which was very disappointing. Also the cleaning girls had personal hygiene problems and the entire floor reeked of body odor. This is uncalled for being a 5 star hotel. I would recommend this hotel for the grounds etc, but that would be all

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A great experience never to be forgotten. Our room was super with a great view of the lake. The walking Gardens and a short walk to town made everything nice. Take the boat tour of the Lake while there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my first visit and from the long and lovely drive in through the gates to the time we left it was all pitch perfect. The stay was booked well in advance and was for our anniversary and stated as such at time of booking. The staff were very professional yet warm at the same time. Although our room wasn't ready (as we arrived early) we were immediately provided with hotel and hotel grounds information and given suggestions on how to pass the time. At the appointed time--and after we'd enjoyed a walk and a drink by fireplace at the stunning bar--we were provided with a glass of champagne and led to our (upgraded) room, all the way provided with further useful information on the hotel restaurants and activities. The hotel room was beautiful, comfortable, and charming--do not, however, expect the latest in modern accommodation. Both room and bathroom were immaculate. Dinner in the George V was also an elegant yet relaxing affair, food was lovely. A walk (or several) through the gorgeous grounds is highly recommended. Do come prepared for the changeable Irish weather--that's the key to enjoying all the beautiful outdoor facilities and activities Ashford has to offer; wellies, a hat, and rain jackets will go a long way. If at all interested, the school of falconry's Hawk Walk, on Castle grounds, provides a fantastic (for some, once-in-a-lifetime) experience. You will need to book with the school and it is pricey, but it was simply wonderful! Our guide was very knowledgeable with an infectious love and respect for the birds. Dress appropriately and enjoy an awe-inspiring experience. We were there as a couple. I did see some families with children and they seemed to be enjoying it as well but I did not see anything set up specifically for children. If we were to go back as a family, I would probably do so on the hotel's special weekends/weeks geared towards families--Halloween, for example. All in all a wonderful experience: superb service; stunning grounds; lovely food, rather old-fashioned (and rightly so) beautiful facilities; fantastic activities. It is pricey but as a 'splurge' it is well worth it.

Room Tip: The suites are spacious and beautiful. Whichever room you choose, however, do ask for one with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Castle

Address: Ashford Castle Estate, Cong, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ashford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Castle Hotel Cong
Ashford Castle Ireland/Cong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.